Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Creighton Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 670 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 24, 2014

This school pales in comparison to one of its feeder elementary schools, South Lakewood and then the High School it feeds, Lakewood High. Its an unfortunate detour for students in 7th and 8th grade between 2 good schools. All of my children went to S. Lakewood, Creighton and Lakewood High School. I feel the principal at Creighton needs to shoulder a lot of the blame. She sets the tone from the top and I feel she is not a good leader as she seems more interested in herself than the students there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2013

I can't understand if is school has a gifted and talented program that the overall school scores can be so low? Can anyone explain these scores? If this represent the overall scores then a significant number of kids are failing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

Luckily for me, I am out of that school and I am of to a better place which it high school... This school is the worse middle school and for eight grade lunch they ran out of food for a lot of students. The faculty who was in charge always let us out late and we were always late for class. This school is just a disgrace to education and students have smoked on school grounds! The teachers were terrible and I disagreed with how the teachers treated the students.... But, then again all of the students disrespected faculty. Not to mention, there were sooo many fights in Creighton and there was a lot of "graffiti" in the girls bathrooms! Plus, that school is very disorganized. So to sum up this school, it is just not worth anyone's time and is a disgrace to education! Also, I have a friend who got suspended because he was afraid about a rumor of either a school shooting or a bomb.... He was just telling the principal and I think that someone like the superintendent or something suspended him which was wrong because he was just telling what he heard. Anyways, I regret ever going to that school and I am sorry for any future students and parents that have to deal with this school...


Posted December 19, 2011

The school was...pretty bad. I was on the accelerated program, luckily, so i wasn't involved in all the nonsense going on, but honestly, most of the kids are very misbehaved. We had to change the PEA (point, evidence, analysis) system because the kids didn't know what analysis meant. That's honestly just sad. The purple team is really the only good side to Creighton. The teachers try, but it's definatley weighed down by the other administrative staff. I'm so glad to be out of there. There were LOTS of drugs and sex going on there. a lot more than most people think.


Posted May 8, 2011

Creighton middle school is amazing! its like one big family all of the teachers & staff are fantastic. there are several programs also. the sports programs are excellent. creighton's volleyball team was undefeated all season and took first place at championships. Also the principals do a great job of keeping creighton at its best. it is a very welcoming enviroment and everyone is very helpful and nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

there was lots of drugs going out through the school an the an the teachers there are not the best
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 26, 2010

This is a great school. My daughter goes here and we feel she is now challanged more than she ever was in grade school. She also has more friends due to the fact of more students not needing bi-lingual attention. Great staff and student body! Go Cougars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

I went here last year and its a really good school. The teachers were really nice and glad to help with any problems. I had a fun time learning and i really liked it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2009

The teachers are nice and they are easy to talk with. The GT program was great, becaue I could be with other kids like me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2009

I'm a student in the G/T program at Creighton, and I love it! There are so many kids who you can actually talk to without them going, 'Huh?! What the heck are you saying?!' It's a great environment for really creative kids who could care less about the classic, stupid, obnoxious fads of normal middle school. The teachers are sometimes not very encouraging, and they expect a lot, which is not so great since most of us aren't all that mature or calm, anyway. In fact a lot of purple teamers are quite um, bounce-off-the-walls-ish? Even though we love to learn (usually), we're pretty much like hyperactive, crazy, humorous, creative over achievers, and Creighton is a great environment for our branch of the human species. hahaha! Homework is really harsh too. I procrastinate a lot, and it usually takes around 5 hours... Overall, I recomend it to Gited/Talented people.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2009

WE think the purple team is great. My third child is finishing the program and all three have benefitted significantly from the fine instruction and rigorous expectations of the teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

this school is a great invironment for focused kids because there are no gang members
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2007

In many ways, Creighton's 'Gifted and Talented' program has been good for our daughter. She's around other kids who are interested in learning and not too interested in more typical 'cool' peer pressures which detract from learning. However we find that several of her teachers are not helpful or not really interested in helping the kids learn.They simply go through the motions, and let the kids sink or swim on their own. They're not excited about what they teach and therefore the kids miss the opportunity to become excited about what they are learning. These few teachers should not be teaching gifted children. The principals in the school seem to be much more interested in discipline than in creating an exciting, healthy learning environment. They are not in touch with these kids at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

I think this school is great especially for children with disabilities. I had 2 children go here before and now that we have moved back I am sending my other child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

368 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

368 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

368 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female46%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Free lunch eligible31%
Reduced lunch eligible43%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)5%
Proficient in English51%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%

Reading

All Students62%
Female64%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligible47%
Reduced lunch eligible51%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)5%
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant63%

Writing

All Students55%
Female59%
Male51%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligible43%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)5%
Proficient in English57%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students51%
Female49%
Male53%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian84%
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligible36%
Reduced lunch eligible43%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)8%
Proficient in English52%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant51%

Reading

All Students65%
Female69%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian84%
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligible53%
Reduced lunch eligible66%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)22%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)4%
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%

Science

All Students52%
Female50%
Male54%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian74%
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligible49%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)0%
Proficient in English55%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant52%

Writing

All Students51%
Female55%
Male48%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian68%
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligible36%
Reduced lunch eligible54%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)0%
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 57%
Hispanic 38% 32%
Asian 5% 3%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

75 Independence St
Lakewood, CO 80226
Phone: (303) 982-6282

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Field Academy
Lakewood, CO






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT