Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Lakewood, CO
Students enrolled: 1,100
Before care: No
After care: No

3 stars
Based on 35 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Green Mountain High School 1

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
GMHS is good at putting on a "dog and pony show" for parents. Be aware; this is a horrible High School. Do not send your child here, especially if they have an IEP. They do not have any Autism programs, they do not implement the IEP's properly, and do not keep parents informed. In order to protect the Administration, GMHS will give the appearance of providing services but it is the bare minimum (if that). They do not properly address parent's and teacher's concerns and do not give any support in general classrooms even when required to do so by an IEP. Be prepared for unanswered emails of questions you may have or very vague, general answers. If you are looking for a decent education for your child that is from a kind, caring, and honest Administration, you won't find it from GMHS.

Green Mountain High School 5

Posted August 19, 2014
- a community member
Green Mountain is in my opinion the best school anyone could go to as a public school, not only dose it have a strong community base but the relashionships you can build with teachers us out standing Green Mountain has the reputation of the druggie school but what school doesn't have a drug problem? Our student body couldn't be any better we have a great family feel to it. Honestly it comes down to how hard you try to become apart of this school all my teachers were great to me and helped me when I need trouble those same teachers were the ones everyone said was mean. Green Mountain is no D'Evelen but to succeed here youre going to have to try just as hard as anyone else.


Green Mountain High School 5

Posted November 12, 2013
- a student
GREEN MOUNTAIN IS AWESOME! It is community based, with tons of parent and community involvement from everything such as its annual Ram Run to the parent run After-Prom Committee! Many of the teachers are GM graduates themselves and genuinely care about their students. They are open to meet with before school,, especially on Wednesdays (starts 8:30) and Thursdays (starts 8:00,) as well as after school. Though the facilities are older, the new Beautification Club has been busy planting greenery, painting, and sprucing things up! There are tons of clubs/activities students can take advantage of, with new ones popping up each year, such as POMS, FBLA, and BIONIC (and MANY more)! With the Academy Program (the only one in Jeffco), students can focus on their interests/future by taking classes in their pathway(s) and then graduate with special recognition for completion. AP and Honors classes are available for numerous classes, providing the student the option as to which classes they would like to pursue with more vigor. Students are very accepting of one another, and there are no specific cliques or exclusions. GM has become my home away from home--I love it here! GO RAMS!

Green Mountain High School 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
Love Green Mountain High School!! I have a graduate and a current sophomore. The pride and passion for education in this school amazes me everyday, I can't imagine sending my children anywhere else. A fabulous neighborhood high school that has found a solution for all level of students in the Academy Program...this program allows for the high achieving students to excel and for those students who struggle with motivation to find the relevance they need. If you are looking for a quality well-rounded high school education for your student you need to visit Green Mountain!

Green Mountain High School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Green Mountain is by far the best school around. It is Jefferson County's well kept secret. Great close community of teachers, parents, students and unbelievable caring and dedicated principal. The academy program offers a range of classes that no other school in Colorado offers. Kids have the opportunity to take AP and Honors courses, earn college credit and have a weighted GPA. The atmosphere is positive, everyone supports each other and there is a strong parent community. Green Mountain is like a small town nestled in between the city and mountains - great diversity and great kids.


Green Mountain High School 5

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
I would not send my children anywhere else and highly recommend Green Mountain to any family looking for a well-rounded quality education for their student. The passion for teaching is amazing. The administration has created a collaboration of community businesses and parents that has become a model for other Jeffco Schools. The school pride and caring student environment is one of their best assets. Green Mountain offers a mix of rigor and relevance that provides the opportunity for students to be successful in whatever they choose to pursue following graduation.

Green Mountain High School 1

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
I am one of the many parents that has moved my student to another Jeffco school. Gr Mt is our neighborhood school, but it is horrible. Just as others have stated. The staff are rude or don't care. Parent involvement is only wanted when the school needs money. We tranferred to another Jeffco school. There are many of the same problems, but not as severe.

Green Mountain High School 1

Posted July 17, 2012
- a student
Honestly I think that Green Mountain is not the best school. The staff are rude and disrespectful.and most of the teachers aren't that great. The school is a dump and really trashy and not very clean. The students aren't that great ethier. Because of bullying issues and beyond. The staff doesn't take care of things like they should. So everyone that goes there is a stoner or higher than their own grades. And staff doesn't take good responsibility and are harsh and rude.


Green Mountain High School 1

Posted July 10, 2012
- a parent
The teachers, most of them are great and caring. The new administration is lacking guidance both for the students and the teachers. The schools enrollment was down 400 in 11/12 school year. This upcoming school year 12/13 many parents are opting not to send their kids back. This school needs a strong principal to get this school back on track.

Green Mountain High School 3

Posted June 06, 2011
- a parent
Overall, this school is good. It has all the same problems that every other public school has (chilches, bullying) just as much as any other school. I have to say though. the comments about cliches are true but bullying is a little less than ordinary. cliches, in my mind , are based totally off economic class or popularity 9sports clubs, going to proir schools w/people before.) There are many opportunities like clubs, AP/Honors classes, but like it everyother school I have seen, the student have to motivate themselves. What parents don't realize also that parents have to play a role and kind-of restrain their chidren, aka parent. Though there have been many changes to the county budget . this school has taken them in stride and hasdone the best with what they have.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Green Mountain High School
13175 West Green Mountain Dr, Lakewood, CO  80228
(303) 982-9500
Last modified Green Mountain High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Green Mountain High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top