Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public district
Lakewood, CO
Students enrolled: 548
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


O'connell Middle School 2

Posted March 04, 2014
- a community member
I attend O'Connell Middle School. This school isn't all that good or bad its right in the middle. I don't recommend sending your child here. First, the student here do not respect the teachers in class. They talk back to the teachers, they use inappropriate language in class. Second, many students do not complete/do their work. Many students don't care about the work we do in class and would rather talk or play on their phones.Lastly, bullying is a huge problem in this school. A lot of people start fights in this school. Some boys pick on other people and bug them. However, there is a good side to this school. The teachers are very caring, they try very hard to teach us what is right and they never give up on you. Unfortunately, that is all i can say about the positive side. Again, i don't recommend sending your child here but it is your choice weather or not you want to send you child here .

O'connell Middle School 1

Posted May 16, 2013
- a teacher
This is one of the worst schools in all of Jefferson County. I say this as someone who has worked education in west Denver for the past four years. Bullying is outrageous, teachers choose to ignore countless discipline issues, and the principal takes the cake for self-absorption and negligence. This school almost shut down three years ago due to related issues like these, but a decision was made to put a Boys & Girls Club inside the facility, which is hands down one of the only redeeming factors of this troubled middle school. Don't send your kid here,


O'connell Middle School 2

Posted April 11, 2013
- a community member
I know the principal is trying, but seriously? They shouldn't be focusing on giving hour long after school detentions to students for being tardy. Instead, focus on the bullying, drugs, or so called gangs some students are trying to form. There are some great teachers who deserve recognition. The principal just needs to redirect their focus and look for the problem elsewhere. It does not lie within those who have been trying but make mistakes every once in a while, but those who don't care about their education and have no respect for the staff or school whatsoever.

O'connell Middle School 1

Posted February 20, 2012
- a parent
Bullying is out of control, I know of three students this year that were forced to leave because of safety issues. One was attacked and the staff was warned of the pending attack and failed to respond. The new principal is trying very hard to put a stop to all of it but it seems as if he is the only one. My child has been bullied in class while teachers were watched and did nothing.

O'connell Middle School 1

Posted December 28, 2011
- a parent
I did not feel that my daughter was safe at this school. There were problems with the students pushing each other infront of cars and throwing rocks at each other after school. There was a great deal of theft that happend in the classrooms. I liked the teachers and felt that they were making an effort, but not enough was done.


O'connell Middle School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
There is a very diverse population there, and a super strong focus on moving struggling students forward to success and happiness.

O'connell Middle School
no rating

Posted July 24, 2009
- a student
I love this school it helped me learn a lot and it was a wonderful place to be in for my middle school years. great school anyone will be lucky to be here. Awesome!!!!

O'connell Middle School 4

Posted September 10, 2005
- a parent
My daughter has done very well at this school. The teachers are fair and the academics are strong. They have a new teacher this yeat so I don't know any thing about her.


O'connell Middle School 5

Posted April 20, 2005
- a student
O'connell middle school is not a bad school. It is very efficient and the teachers there are very respectful. The dress code is kind of nonsence. I agree that it should just have uniforms theres no use of pulling out the book of 'dress codes' when they can just wear uniforms overall O'connell middle school is a wonderful learning enviorment.

O'connell Middle School 4

Posted April 01, 2004
- a parent
Most of my son's teachers at O'Connell would send progress reports via email, and the school's website was a great help in checking his assignments. I also liked being able to access his grades, attendance, etc online. His teachers seemed very interested in his success.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

O'connell Middle School
1275 South Teller St, Lakewood, CO  80232
(303) 982-8383
Last modified O'connell Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
O'connell Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top