Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Collegiate Academy of Colorado

Charter | K-12 | 480 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

58 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 6, 2014

This school do a great disservice in giving children a solid educations. If you are not among the popular group your child will be ignored and suffer. They boost about how great the community is. The only community they have is the school community and all the fund raising money comes from you. You may as well investing in putting your child in a private school. They'll get a much better education. If your child has an IEP, they will do as little as necessary to follow the IEP, just to get the government money. I placed my daughter into a regular school and she excelled leaps and bounds. She even learned how to use a computer, which Collegiate doesn't even have a lab or library. What a disservice you are doing to your child by having them attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2014

My daughter was in kindergarten last year and we loved the school. It is a great place where parent involvement is strongly encouraged. I feel she gained so much knowledge and social skills with her class and teacher. We absolutely loved her teacher and other staff. They are very interested in our daughter's well-being. One of the things that brought us to this school is the small class size and the fact that they don't just teach to the State tests. There is so much more to learning than what is on those tests. While researching kindergartens we found so many of them just showed us a power point and said "this is what the state requires and this is what we teach". This school has seen some rough times prior to our joining them. The teachers are still here because they love the children. It is not just a job to them. If you want your children to be cared for in a great learning environment, please join us at Collegiate Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2014

As a parent of three children at Collegiate I have to say that the rest of the education community can learn something from their K-12 model. As a school they care about the community they are building. Events are held for all students and families alike. Inside the classroom the teachers are caring and teach in a variety of different ways. I really appreciate that they do not place STATE TESTING at the center of how they judge success. My kids are so much more than test scores and Collegiate understands this. The leadership in the building is new, but I have found them to be approachable and easy to engage. They took over the school in a tough situation and have done a good job at taking steps to build for the future. They are young, and not perfect, but their commitment to my students education and the education of the community is obvious. Come to this school if you want to be apart of a true community. Go somewhere else if you just want to drop you kids off and then go about your day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2014

Send your child here at your own risk. This school is awful. The leadership is unstable. There has been constant turn over of leadership and staff over the past several years (see the number of job openings they have posted right now on their web site). The principal and vice principal are non-responsive, unfriendly and inexperienced. The first is the brains while the second is the brawn. Neither are effective leaders in their own right and, together, they re a hot mess. There are no clear policies and procedures for families to reference for clarification of any practice. This leaves everything open to interpretation and allows for most decisions to be made arbitrarily by the two heads (which in this case is not better than one). Children cannot thrive in an environment like this. Again, send them at your own risk.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2014

Great caring teachers - awful leadership. Care more about bottom line than students well being. Last week students were wearing gloves and coats in class because the heating system was not repaired last year when they were notified of a problem. Student fell and injured herself on an uncleared sidewalk because the administration did not want to pay the company that plows the lots to shovel as well. Technology is pathetic with 15 to 20 year old computers, obscure software and no tech teacher. We willnot be returning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

I am a parent of an elementary and junior high student and have been at Collegiate for 4 years now. This school has meet and or exceeded our goals for each of our students. Our students each learn differently and the small class size and amazing teachers have helped both to succeed and thrive in their education. They are getting the best possible education that our county offers and they will be so prepared for their future in higher education where ever that takes them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2014

We have kids in 2nd and 9th grade at CAC. Administration has been very impressive in all their duties. Very "hands-on" and "in-the-know" with everything going on in the school. Small class sizes, caring and professional teachers, challenging and relevant curriculum, involved community of staff, parents, and students - isn't this what we're all looking for in a school in today's world
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2013

The teaches at Collegiate are all fantastic. My son is in first grade and loves to go to school, he is learning so fast and making great friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Collegiate Academy of Colorado has been a great school for my boys. My son went for 1/2 of his first year and begged to go back when he was starting third grade. We have been there since. He is now in 7th grade, and thanks to the fantastic teachers he has had, and the Saxon Math curriculum, he is now in 9th grade Algebra 1 math and advanced in many other subjects. He knows he wants to go to Colorado School of Mines, and I feel confident Collegiate Academy will help him achieve success for the next chapter in his schooling as well as building a solid foundation for his career. What I love about Collegiate Academy is the focus on character and whole-person development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

I like this school all teacher so nice and kind and quality. Also principal of school and other all staff are really good people. I feel peace to be here and my children love this school we feel in home. And all thing work for my children success here, I am so glad for we found Collegiate Academy School. May God Bless this School with all staff and students and parents. sincerely
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

This school is great, and yes like many schools it has its challenges. Parents have had a tough time dealing with change, when the administration was shaken up but change can also lead to many great things. Like all charter schools this school needs support with funding and volunteerism, but I have faith that in time we will get there. I moved my daughter to this school for many reasons and I am not about to give up on it just because things got off track for a bit. Or just because administration changed. It had to change! I want nothing but the best for this school and while they may not have the luxuries the traditional public schools have, I know my daughter feels at home and loves all the teachers and staff. In 7th and 8th grade in all Jeffco schools there is roughly 500 to 700 children. I am not about to send my child to that environment. She will still deal with peer pressures here but on a much smaller scale. That is important to me and should be for ALL parents. Collegiate Academy is not an alternative school for troubled youth either and parents with kids that have serious behavior issues and or use drugs and alcohol should be not bring their kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2013

In one respect this tool is very useful but in another there is no control for incorrect posts by mean & vindictive people. The previous board members were removed and replaced by teachers & parents with nothing but the best interests of the students in mind. Both my children attend and love this school. The class sizes are small and students are group by ability not arbitrarily by age. This community is very tight knit and it is thriving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2012

I was a student here for my high school career and after attending a large high school for a almost a year (thunder ridge) I felt CAC was a little slice of heaven. Yes not every aspect of it is perfect but what school is? The teachers here treated me with respect and integrity and allowed me to flourish in subjects I had struggled in for years. The technology was the only area that needed improvement but they have an incredible new president of the Board who is actually thinking about the community coming together. The biggest point that I want to hit home is that there will always be kids who hate this school or that school or what not but for the first time in my life I made friends who I still keep in touch with (even after graduation) as well as some teachers who are aiding me in my pursuits of happiness now that I am in the real world. I felt part of a family there we fought, we cried, we laughed, we grew together, and most importantly we stuck together. CAC an incredible school with a passionate staff (mr. P knudson conradt,) all of those teachers not only love there job but they LIVE their passion and get paid very little to do it. That there is what dedication looks like.


Posted September 27, 2012

I am a high school student at Collegiate Academy and I really like how far the school has come. A couple years ago the staff was unfriendly and did not treat the students as well as they should. I used to never see the principals during the day because they would always hide in their offices. This year the administration has changed and everyone is really friendly. Throughout the day they will always say hi to me and sometimes we'll have a friendly chat. I will never look up to and respect any other teachers as much as the teachers at Collegiate. The teachers are always focused on how they can help the students and be great examples. I will miss all of the teachers and everything they did for me when I graduate.


Posted September 26, 2012

I have a couple of kids at Collegiate - one is extremely gifted and the other has a learning challenge. What impresses me is how the teachers and staff have been able to meet the needs of kids at both ends of the spectrum. My kids know that the teachers truly care about them, give them the attention they need and always keep them challenged. My kids love the small class sizes and have a lot of great friends here. They would not want to attend any other school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2012

I have had children at Collegiate Academy for the last 12 years and currently still have 2 enrolled. I am a very involved parent who has been in the classroom on a regular basis each year. The reason my kids attend this school are the excellent teachers and the small class sizes. You will not find better teachers anywhere. The high school offers a variety of AP classes where the teachers are able to offer their students individual attention. The only downside is the size of the school makes it difficult to offer many sports programs, but students are able to participate in sports at the school of their choice. My kids are thriving in this school, academically and socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2012

Clueless Academy of Colorado is what this place should be renamed. Last year we received an email that the school board had decided on a new focus for the school to become a college prep school. Considering the name of the school, one would have thought that to be a given. The fact that they felt they had to actually point it out is telling evidence of how clueless, unorganized and untrained the people in charge are. Bullying is so unchecked that the administration actually relied on it last year to try to keep students in line and the teachers joined in. I would go into detail but I have limited space. Suffice it to say many wonderful students have fled due to rampant bullying. Each time my son had any problem, we were always told something about having to keep up the image of the school. Come to find out that Jefferson County had programs and funding available to help him but the teachers and administration preferred to threaten holding him back rather than follow Jefferson County policies. This school can barely keep the lights on because so many people are leaving. The PTO is fundraising just to pay teachers. It should be allowed to die if they can't turn it around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2012

This school is awful! The new administration was supposed to be so great. They made the new Dean sound like the second coming. It seems impossible but the school is actually worse now. My daughters new third grade teacher was extremely rude. The kindergarten teacher is very unenthusiastic. We took our girls out after the first day of school. They are now happy and at a school that is actually teaching at grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

I wanted to like Collegiate: small classes, consistent teachers for 7th and 8th graders, ability level classes and teachers who really did seem to care about the students who learn a little differently. But administration is so poor that the good gets overshadowed. One of my son's middle school teachers abruptly quit two weeks before Christmas. No information was given to the school community. My son's bully was never addressed adequately and he endured two years of harassment from the same kid. My son dis-enrolled properly at the end of the year to transfer to a new school. And his transcripts were still not received at his new school by the beginning of the next school year. In fact the staffer said she was drowning in 75 students with the same need the first week of school. Sounds like a mass exodus has occurred. Sadly, I'm not surprised.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2011

This school was a unsatisfactory toward my child's learning. There was poor communication with the teachers. Had to put my child in Powderhorn just to get her caught up to her grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Reading

All Students60%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%

Writing

All Students32%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)36%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch25%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities33%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English33%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female61%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Reading

All Students61%
Female61%
Male60%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%

Writing

All Students45%
Female61%
Male30%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch45%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English45%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
Femalen/a
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English55%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Reading

All Students69%
Femalen/a
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Science

All Students54%
Femalen/a
Male42%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)48%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Writing

All Students60%
Femalen/a
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female79%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%

Reading

All Students81%
Female84%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%

Writing

All Students62%
Female69%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English64%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Femalen/a
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%

Reading

All Students52%
Femalen/a
Male37%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)40%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch54%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English48%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant52%

Writing

All Students48%
Femalen/a
Male32%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)40%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities52%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English45%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female72%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%

Reading

All Students74%
Female94%
Male60%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%

Science

All Students49%
Female67%
Male36%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English49%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant49%

Writing

All Students44%
Female61%
Male32%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch47%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English44%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students37%
Female39%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)39%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch38%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities42%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English37%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant35%

Reading

All Students77%
Female83%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%

Writing

All Students50%
Female50%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch54%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
Female39%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch51%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English50%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%

Reading

All Students88%
Female96%
Male79%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Science

All Students57%
Female57%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%

Writing

All Students64%
Female70%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

92%

Average ACT score

22

Graduation rate

86%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 56%
Hispanic 14% 32%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 2%N/A41%
Male 55%N/A51%
Female 45%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • High Overall Academic Performance in the Elem. School (2008)
  • High Overall Academic Performance in the MIddle School (2008)
  • High Overall Academic Performance in the High School (2008)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:40 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Christian Becker, Principal, Gus Johnson, Vice-Principal
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Extended/longer school day
Fax number
  • (303) 932-0695

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • We require 40 hours of volunteer time per family per school year.
More from this school
  • High school seniors are required to complete 24 hours of community service for graduation.
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8420 South Sangre De Cristo Rd
Littleton, CO 80127
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 972-7433

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT