Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shaffer Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 542 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 21, 2009

We did a lot of research and chose our neighborhood based upon the school ratings. We really appreciate the loving care our children have gotten since we moved here. The school feels safe, the teachers are wonderful. The con is that I think they let too many kids in from outside the district. The means more classes per grade, needing to use the outbuildings, shorter lunches (which is a HUGE issue with me -- I hate the idea of my kids gulping down lunch and not even finishing it) and less one-on-one. I also wish the school would be more green (recycling better and serving organic healthy lunches)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

Having come from a substandard school system in another state, where I had to resort to home schooling, I cannot say how happy we are with Shaffer Elementary. The principal, Mrs. Sterrett, knows each of my children and has even commented to me about her interaction with them and their teachers. She has also given me valuable counsel for their integration into middle school. I feel that the school is safe, provides a positive learning environment and each wonderful teacher has been attentive to the individual needs of each of my children. I had my doubts when we first entered the school, but was soon given reassurance by the performance of the teachers. My presence and involvement is known and appreciated by all the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

I am a teacher at Shaffer Elementary. I have worked in several other schools in the metro area and I feel Shaffer has the best caring school culture, parent involvement, devoted and talented teachers, teamwork, leadership and administration. All of these factors contribute to high student achievement and character development among students, in my opinion. I think Shaffer is a fulfilling and rewarding place to work.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 16, 2009

It is a good school with great results where it counts. Caring teachers, staff and principal. Undermining the principal's authority because you dislike her personality or management style seems hurtful to the school & our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

Shaffer is a great school! The teachers are great! My daughter started shaffer in 1st grade and is now in 3rd. The only thing is the principle. Does she even know the parent volunteers and how much they do? At my daughters old school the principle had come up to me on several occasions and thanked me for volunteering at the school. Ms. Sterit does not even seem to care or realize how much the parents at Shaffer do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

I have experienced Shaffer through four different children. I MUST compliment the teachers and staff. We have had great experiences here; minus the interaction with the principal. I find her inappropriate, and very overbearing to a point that I feel it is just a power struggle with her. She is more concerned about her amount of authority than the well being of the school staff and the children. I understand the school is rated with excellence awards and high test scores but I do not believe it has to be under her jurisdiction to continue this. We have lost many amazing and remarkable teachers due to her and I think it needs to be addressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

Shaffer has great teachers, staff and amazing parents. I feel the administration lacks in it's ability to be supportive and appreciative of it's teachers, while at the same time being hot and cold to the parents depending on the issues up for discussion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2009

Shaffer has been a tremendous experience for my children. I credit that to the teachers, PTA, and parent involvement. The assistant principal, Mr. Christy, has been a fantastic addition this year, he is thought highly of in our household.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2009

I have 2 children that have attended since Kindergarten and they are now in 2nd & 4th grade. We have been fairly happy with the school for the past several years. The office staff is awsome and always remembers who you are when you call or come in. There are a couple of teachers that have left Shaffer due to pressure from Mrs. Sterret, one I know left unhappy and she was an awsome teacher, not sure what that was about? Also I have some concerns about the continual turn over of teachers these past couple of years and the continual adding of so many classes per grade. Why do we need 6 Kindergarten classes? In addition I don't like having my older daughter in the temps as it has isolated her from the rest of the school! The special teachers are great and for the most part we are happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2009

We have two children in Shaffer Elementary and have loved the experiences we have had. The focus on education as well as growing well balanced, responsible children has been impressive. We have enjoyed the teachers and the office ladies. While the principal doesn't have the best reputation, her job is complex and she manages to run the school well. PTA does a great job making Shaffer a welcoming community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

My daughter has gone to this school for 2.5 years and is very happy. I have been fairly impressed with the teachers. She has loved them all. Some reviewers state the principal (Mrs Stearett) is not to their liking for one reason or another. The facts are this is one of Jeffco's top 3 elem. schools. It was not this way before she joined this school. She is not afraid of the teachers. Underperforming teachers seem to understand this and move on. She is not the touchy feely kind of principal. If you want that, you may find yourself at an underperforming school. I personally want whats best for my children educationally. This principal is working the best way she knows for the kids, not the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

Caring teachers, skilled principal leadership, and a fabulous PTA make this a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2008

My children have enjoyed school this year. It is apparent the teachers and staff care very much about the children. Overall, this is a great school even if the principal is all about herself. There are times she is flamboyant and other times she is unapproachable and scary. I wonder what the teachers think of her leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

Shaffer is a wonderful school. My son attended Kindergarten through second grade. He had great teachers and learned a lot in a fun environment. The Art/Music/P.E. programs are excellent! The teachers and staff really care for each child. We recently moved away and we miss the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

My child is about to start 1st grade and attended Shaffer for Kindergarten. We thought the K program was wonderful and were amazed at how much our child learned. Our child also loved going to school and we hope that attitude continues this year. But I will say, if your child is going to miss much school because of vacation or sickness, they will contact you about the absences. They are very concerned with their rating and don't want you taking your child out of school. I have been very happy with this school and feel fortunate that I get such quality from a public school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2007

We just moved from Bear Creek elementary, we did some homework before selecting a new home (and the school district it fell into). So far we have not been disappointed, starting with the office staff and their helpfulness at move of our 2nd grade daughter over Spring Break. Grenay and the rest of the team were fantastic and they are always so welcoming. We were told at Bear Creek that our daughter would be ahead of the Shaffer kids, for math and reading she was in the top 2 or 3 kids in her class at Bear Creek, she's now above average (but not top 2 or 3) for her new class at Shaffer, but is a much happier child. So far Shaffer seems to be giving my daughter a good education while still allowing her to enjoy being a child, a very important but difficult mix to achieve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2007

Kindergarten was exceptional. 1st grade has been disturbing. The 'specials' teachers are wonderful, especially Mrs. Chaves(PE). The Principal is the worst I've seen in 20 years in education. I'm disappointed in my neighborhood school. The test scores are great but students are not in a caring environment. The principal needs to focus on the school and not her own aspirations!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Great School! Teachers are wonderful and so is the Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2006

School is great, clean, modern. My daughter had a wonderful teacher. Very bad experience with the principal however. My impresson was of an arrogant person who felt she should not be bothered by mere parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2005

We have both positive and not so positive experience with this school. We enjoy the various activities provided by the PTA such as the Monster Mash Bash and International Night and several teachers have been ideal. On the other hand, we regret that they do not participate in any Science Fairs and don't have any kind of school carnival (Spring or Fall). I felt like my 6th grader was ill-equiped to deal with middle school due to an easy but 'popular' teacher. The parent involment is pretty good. The kindergarten program we found to be exceptional. We also liked the way they divide the kids for 'specials' like art, music, and P.E. Overall, we have had a very positive experience there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female93%
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant94%

Reading

All Students93%
Female95%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant93%

Writing

All Students76%
Female85%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female88%
Male92%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant90%

Reading

All Students88%
Female90%
Male85%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Writing

All Students69%
Female76%
Male60%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female87%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Reading

All Students89%
Female93%
Male87%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Science

All Students70%
Female68%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%

Writing

All Students79%
Female81%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 56%
Hispanic 7% 32%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (303) 982-3899

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7961 South Sangre De Cristo Rd
Littleton, CO 80127
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 982-3901

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT