Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westridge Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 581 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2013

We moved our son to Westridge after finding out that the elementary school he was in was not meeting state standards. What a difference a year made! The school has high standards and the teachers work really hard to make sure the kids meet (or get caught up to) the standards. Teachers in this school tend to function as a group rather than individuals and complement each other in their teaching. This means that all teachers in a grade teach mostly the same things. Rigorous education even if your kid is not in the gifted and talented group. Not sure where the parent below is from, but my son has full access to everything GT kids do. Many kids move up to the GT class for math or reading because they are above grade level. Love that they openly welcome parent volunteers here, too. My son is not a GT kid and I volunteer. Many non GT parents volunteers. The school is full of new technology. I am so happy we moved schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2012

I chose Westridge my daughter's kindergarten year-our neighborhood school was rapidly "going downhill." Westridge was "highly rated" in the district. What I didn't understand, is that the GT program is where all the high scores are coming from! The GT center boasts extraordinary resources (tech &other) that the "average kids" do not have access to. The previous principal quit long before leaving. The new principal is sweet, but has no concrete plan to increase the educational rigor. All resources and attention continue toward GT. Parent involvement is good, but again, it is GT parents! My daughter's education is suffering! She entered kindergarten reading at a 2nd grade level.... and left first grade saying things like, "I don't have to TRY mom! It doesn't matter." Now in the 2nd grade (barely testing at 3rd level), after I have expressed my concerns, she is challenged more by my supplements than she EVER is in the classroom. I volunteer weekly and see it firsthand. Several teachers are preparing to retire in the next couple/few years...and it shows. My son will enter kindergarten in the fall. Both children will begin at a new school...one with rigor for education... not apathy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Westridge Elementary ,it's entire staff rock! Anyone who has a negative comment about Westridge has never been to a school that really has problems! Our principal does know the parents and the kids! We came from a school three years ago that had a really lousy principal and a staff more inclined to climbing the ladder than helping and looking out for its kids. Barb Biolets old fashioned, no nonsense approach to having the kids show respect and honor the rules in unmatched. She is the first to lend a hand in times of trouble and the last to take credit for it. The entire staff at Westridge really cares about each individual child. We have had to work with two seperate issues that required extra encouragement and I am proud to say we were never let down.You get back from your relationship to your school what you put in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

We've had children in the school for more than 5 years. A very small minority of mediocre teachers is handily offset by an otherwise outstanding staff and a caring, knowledgeable and professional principal. There is also a GT Center on site.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

This is our first year at Westridge and I can not say enough good things about every aspect of the school. I have observed the principal in the school and she not only knows the parents, she knows the children. They conduct their staff as professionals and lead by example. The children are expected to do their best and with the GT program are given the opportunity to do so. PE, art and Music are exceptional programs and the kids love them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

We are new to this school. The secretary have been a great helper. We are here since August, the principal never say HI to me or even a smile, I don't even know who's the principal or vice principal until three months later. Ok school, but if you are new, you have to work your way to find out all the info you needed. Needed a new leader!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2008

I have two kids at Westridge. I agree with the comments that a new principal is needed! As for the teachers, out of the 8 teachers we have had, several were fantastic teachers and two need to be replaced ASAP! Overall, this is an ok school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

I do not understand any negative comments about Westridge. My student transferred there in the middle of the school year after losing a parent, and had serious personal problems as a result of this loss. All of the staff, Principal and Teachers, were concerned and helpful in getting her over this period. She was ready when shemoved on to Middle School. A GREAT PLACE!! while keeping her on the learning track.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

We have two children attending Westridge. Our second oldest is in the GT program and doing very well. He is a year and a half ahead of the typical 6th grader. My oldest attended two Jeffco elementary schools and my second oldest attended three. Westridge is the best overall of the different schools. My youngest (3rd grade) has had three great teachers in a row and is very happy at Westridge. I find the 'leadership' references a little confusing--of course, none of the remarks are specific. I guess that parents base their experience on their child's experience alone. I have had three children (eight years difference between the youngest and the oldest) attend four different Jeffco schools and I believe that Westridge is the best of the four.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

My daughter is in their GT programme and I cannot reccommend it enough. Great teachers, wonderful learning environment, friendly office staff, a principle with the right balance between fun and education. A truly exceptional school for any child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

The principle is verry friendly and they are very serious about their learning there.


Posted August 4, 2006

We have been very disappointed in this school, most notably the principal. I agree with the claim that there is no strong leadership -- in fact I would question there being ANY leadership here. We have opted in to another Jeffco school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

Westridge Elementary School located within the Jefferson County School District is an average school. It used to be a blue ribbon school, but now is lacking a quality principal to lead the school. If your child is the perfect student then it would be fine, but if you have a child in special ed, you will have problems. This will be the last year here for my son. I feel that the teachers take advantage of having tenure. This is a peyton place school. Although, my son had a great 3rd grade teacher, 4th grade has proved tramatic for him. No child should be crying in between classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2005

They have a great preschool program, very involved teachers and lots of fun skill building activities. My son loves preschool and is now in his second year at Westridge preschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female82%
Male80%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%

Reading

All Students88%
Female91%
Male85%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Writing

All Students65%
Female71%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female85%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Reading

All Students80%
Female73%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%

Writing

All Students69%
Female73%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female67%
Male66%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant66%

Reading

All Students85%
Female88%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Science

All Students63%
Female67%
Male60%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant63%

Writing

All Students59%
Female67%
Male54%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female74%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%

Reading

All Students91%
Female88%
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant91%

Writing

All Students81%
Female91%
Male69%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 56%
Hispanic 19% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10785 West Alamo Place
Littleton, CO 80127
Phone: (303) 982-3975

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT