Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Westridge Elementary School 5

Posted November 29, 2015
- a parent
We transferred from Denver Public, and found this school to be refreshingly competent. The curriculum is challenging, and the teachers are caring and helpful. Our child is in the Gifted Program, and when she started to fall behind, they gave her extra help. She is doing so well now! I love that there is room to spread out in the various parking lots, preventing any traffic problems. Overall, I have had no complaints!

Westridge Elementary School 5

Posted March 11, 2015
- a parent
We ve had a great year at Westridge! We looked at GT programs and visited numerous schools in DPS, LPS, Englewood, and Jeffco finding it difficult to get information and compare GT programs offered in districts around Denver. I hope this post might help others searching for public school GT programs. Of all the districts we spoke with and visited, we felt Jeffco offered the most proactive, accommodating, and most welcoming GT program. We visited many of the Jeffco GT center schools and found Westridge to be a friendly, welcoming, rigorous yet not high pressure school, with experienced GT teachers more than happy to talk with us and let us observe their classrooms. Our daughter is not highly gifted but she is really benefiting from the less repetitive more advanced nature of the GT classroom. She is learning new things every day, her teacher is phenomenal and really knows how to juggle the different levels of ability in the classroom. GT classes don t have access to any more resources than regular classes do, not sure why a previous post said opposite. Many after school activities are offered and our daughter has made many friends inside and outside of GT at Westridge.


Westridge Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
We moved our son to Westridge after finding out that the elementary school he was in was not meeting state standards. What a difference a year made! The school has high standards and the teachers work really hard to make sure the kids meet (or get caught up to) the standards. Teachers in this school tend to function as a group rather than individuals and complement each other in their teaching. This means that all teachers in a grade teach mostly the same things. Rigorous education even if your kid is not in the gifted and talented group. Not sure where the parent below is from, but my son has full access to everything GT kids do. Many kids move up to the GT class for math or reading because they are above grade level. Love that they openly welcome parent volunteers here, too. My son is not a GT kid and I volunteer. Many non GT parents volunteers. The school is full of new technology. I am so happy we moved schools.

Westridge Elementary School 2

Posted February 07, 2012
- a parent
I chose Westridge my daughter's kindergarten year-our neighborhood school was rapidly "going downhill." Westridge was "highly rated" in the district. What I didn't understand, is that the GT program is where all the high scores are coming from! The GT center boasts extraordinary resources (tech &other) that the "average kids" do not have access to. The previous principal quit long before leaving. The new principal is sweet, but has no concrete plan to increase the educational rigor. All resources and attention continue toward GT. Parent involvement is good, but again, it is GT parents! My daughter's education is suffering! She entered kindergarten reading at a 2nd grade level.... and left first grade saying things like, "I don't have to TRY mom! It doesn't matter." Now in the 2nd grade (barely testing at 3rd level), after I have expressed my concerns, she is challenged more by my supplements than she EVER is in the classroom. I volunteer weekly and see it firsthand. Several teachers are preparing to retire in the next couple/few years...and it shows. My son will enter kindergarten in the fall. Both children will begin at a new school...one with rigor for education... not apathy.

Westridge Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
Westridge Elementary ,it's entire staff rock! Anyone who has a negative comment about Westridge has never been to a school that really has problems! Our principal does know the parents and the kids! We came from a school three years ago that had a really lousy principal and a staff more inclined to climbing the ladder than helping and looking out for its kids. Barb Biolets old fashioned, no nonsense approach to having the kids show respect and honor the rules in unmatched. She is the first to lend a hand in times of trouble and the last to take credit for it. The entire staff at Westridge really cares about each individual child. We have had to work with two seperate issues that required extra encouragement and I am proud to say we were never let down.You get back from your relationship to your school what you put in.


Westridge Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
We've had children in the school for more than 5 years. A very small minority of mediocre teachers is handily offset by an otherwise outstanding staff and a caring, knowledgeable and professional principal. There is also a GT Center on site.

Westridge Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2009
- a parent
This is our first year at Westridge and I can not say enough good things about every aspect of the school. I have observed the principal in the school and she not only knows the parents, she knows the children. They conduct their staff as professionals and lead by example. The children are expected to do their best and with the GT program are given the opportunity to do so. PE, art and Music are exceptional programs and the kids love them.

Westridge Elementary School 3

Posted February 24, 2009
- a parent
We are new to this school. The secretary have been a great helper. We are here since August, the principal never say HI to me or even a smile, I don't even know who's the principal or vice principal until three months later. Ok school, but if you are new, you have to work your way to find out all the info you needed. Needed a new leader!


Westridge Elementary School 3

Posted October 28, 2008
- a parent
I have two kids at Westridge. I agree with the comments that a new principal is needed! As for the teachers, out of the 8 teachers we have had, several were fantastic teachers and two need to be replaced ASAP! Overall, this is an ok school.

Westridge Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
I do not understand any negative comments about Westridge. My student transferred there in the middle of the school year after losing a parent, and had serious personal problems as a result of this loss. All of the staff, Principal and Teachers, were concerned and helpful in getting her over this period. She was ready when shemoved on to Middle School. A GREAT PLACE!! while keeping her on the learning track.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westridge Elementary School
10785 West Alamo Place, Littleton, CO  80127
(303) 982-3975
Last modified Westridge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westridge Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top