Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dakota Ridge Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 1518 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 25, 2014

Not very diverse. Poor administration. Teachers are poor at motivating students. It has a terrible environment. Too much busy work and not enough analytic work.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2012

I wanted to comment on whoever said Dakota has mainly 4A sports. Actually the only sport at the school that is 4A is football. Every other sport is 5A. But none the less, it is still easier to get onto a team at Dakota compared to other schools. And Cross Country, Tennis and Track are no-cut sports meaning anyone can join!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2012

Dakota Ridge is a wonderful high school. I am senior this year at Dakota and these last four years here have been amazing! I cannot rave enough about the teachers here (they are wonderful), the faculty and the extracurricular activities. The teachers at Dakota take the time to personally get to know you, and understand who you are as a person and what they can do to help you strive in their class. They also make it a point to support you. I had several teachers who went to my cross country meets to cheer me on. It was nice to know that they do really care about you. I also really enjoyed the many ways to get involved at the school. There are several sports, with tennis, cross country and track being no-cut sports, several clubs and music groups. I have many friends who participated in choirs and instrumental music groups and loved it so much. They also put a lot of emphasis at the school on community outreach. Every year they choose an organization to work with that year to raise money for. They participate in Relay for Life a cancer race. They also hold an annual Trick or Treat Street and an Easter Egg hunt. I loved Dakota Ridge and would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2011

I am the parent of 2 Dakota Ridge students, and I think it is a great school! I love the newer building, eager staff, and nice kids. I have one honors student who will thrive wherever she goes. She is very challenged in her classes, and has many options at Dakota, including the new IB program they offer. My other child struggled with grades as a Freshman, but luckily the counselors stepped in, made some adjustments with his classes, and he has been getting a 3.0 average for the last 2 years. Both kids have always had to earn their grades: Dakota does not slide anyone through. And I disagree about the sports comments: since most of Dakota's sports are 4A, my kids have been able to get onto the Varsity teams easier than, say, larger 5A high schools. So that part has been very good for them as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2011

We have one student at Dakota and one following in the near future. We couldn't be happier with the classes offered, the teachers, faculty support system, and incredible community involvement. The counselors are there to help each and every student with college planning and encourage parental involvement in all aspects. There is not a negative word we could say about Dakota Ridge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

Jeffco School district is in charge of all field upkeep and is not paid by the school. Please double check your facts before posting inaccurate information. My student is happy at Dakota due to it has strong teachers that challenge and make him work. He has to earn his grades. There are numerous opportunities for assistance and help, but it is the obligation of him as a student to put in the effort also. Good job! Good school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

I'm concerned as a grandparent of a student of this school and a Jeffco taxpayer that the graduating class of 2010 is not 100% but yet it spent $30,000 to fertilize an athletic field.


Posted April 23, 2010

We have sent all 3 of our kids to Dakota Ridge; the last one is a Junior. They all speak glowingly of the school and its faculty, and the older two are currently doing well in college. I would very highly recommend Dakota Ridge!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Does not meet the needs of my 3 children that go there. The teachers pick favorites and leave them out of classroom activities. The teachers only think that the kids can do it on there own instead of helping them. I tranferd my kids to Bear Creek and they love it. They say the teachers are hands on, and very helpful. my kids each have a 3.0 at bc and at dakota they had a 1.5 gpa I suggest bear creek.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2010

I am very involved with my daughter's education at Dakota Ridge HS. I am also a volunteer Booster club member. Thus, there are many ways for a parent to get involved. My daughter struggled in both 9th and 10th grade, but with a little work on my part to contact the right people, they were right there helping her to succeed! Principal Jelinek is at nearly every sporting event too! Very supportive of his students! Dakota Ridge is a great place for my child to be! Even if we'd have to move, I'd open enroll her back to Dakota! Go Eagles!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

Dakota ridge is by far the best high school in comparison to others I have recieved reviews from. They consistantly strive to help my learning disabled son to achieve his goals in Reading and Writing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2009

This school is not connected with its community. This school does not meet the needs of those in attendance. This school would prefer there be no parent involvement while they run a local/state/and federally funded day care center for kids in grades 9-12.


Posted November 27, 2009

Simply stated: Not meeting the needs of all students. Very poor administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

I am impressed with the coach of the cross country and track team Mike Callor He is so good and inspirational to all that are around him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Dakota Ridge is a very good school. They are striving to be the highest they can at academics. They are using data to drive instruction and they make sure teachers are collaborating. The comments about athletics above are unfair. All the coaches are there for their kids but obviously they also want to be the best they can. The coaches try to have the best team possible due to part of their evaluation is success, not who is their favorite. This no different than any other American high school, but Dakota works on including every activity and celebrating their accomplishments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2005

Great High School. School is new and clean and the teachers treat the kids as an individual, giving them extra help whenever asked. Good teacher/kid ratio and the teachers commumicate often with the parents. Lots of after school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2005

I have two kids that go to D.R.H.S. and I really like the school except for two things. One is that they have a anual thing, the name excapes me, it's like a 'gay support day'. The kids can purchase a Rainbow ribbon or button or something and if they purchase this they don't have to talk to the teachers for a day. As far as I know they don't have a 'straight no talk day.' Also if your kid is in athletics watch out. If they don't play for certain clubs, they'll never make varcity. I've noticed this and have talked to alot of parents that have too. Last year they had 15 varcity soccer players graduate, that all went from freshman year to senior together. So your kids may not get a fair chance in athletics. It's a good school otherwise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2004

I go to DRHS right now. Its a good school and all. Its really nice and has seemingly good teachers. But tehyve started changing all the rules all of a sudden on students so alot of them are rebelling and breaking rules. Its a super good school though. But its full of more 'upper class' if you ask me. I mean im not poor or rich but its a real high rate of more uppity class people so theres 'clicks' and 'groups' major stereo type. So if you start your kid in the middle of a school year, chances are itll be hard for like the first week but way easier. Good luck in dakota~! because i HAVE to change schools on the count of my moms new job. GO EAGLES~!major sport school!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

388 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
0%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

388 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

388 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

398 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

398 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

398 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

398 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female58%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligible50%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%

Reading

All Students83%
Female88%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligible66%
Reduced lunch eligible77%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Writing

All Students71%
Female82%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligible64%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)19%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female44%
Male54%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Free lunch eligible28%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities51%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English49%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant49%

Reading

All Students84%
Female88%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)35%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Science

All Students72%
Female70%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Writing

All Students66%
Female73%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

96%

Average ACT score

22

Graduation rate

89%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 56%
Hispanic 14% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13399 West Coal Mine Ave
Littleton, CO 80127
Phone: (303) 982-1970

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Chatfield High School
Littleton, CO




Columbine High School
Littleton, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT