Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Heritage High School

Public | 9-12 | 1691 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 25, 2014

I attended Heritage for two years and found it nearly impossible to adjust. The student body not only lacks diversity, but they are extremely clique - oriented. If you don't fit in with either the jocks, preps, geeks, or smokers, then you are doomed to be a loner at Heritage. I've had a handful of good teachers at Heritage. Unfortunately, many teachers will suffocate their classes with home work. I felt constantly overwhelmed at Heritage. If you are someone who loves white suburbia, fits into a clique easily, and have no trouble balancing large amounts of school & homework, then Heritage is the place for you. -Former student


Posted November 6, 2013

Wonderful school with a dedicated staff led by a strong, passionate Principal. The administration is helpful and caring. It has a very strong Post Grad department. My children are thriving at Heritage!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2011

I am a student at heritage. Teachers are wonderful here and help you with school and outside of class are willing to help with anything you need. The administration doesn't just care about grades but about you individually. My peers are great and remember to get involved in sports or theater etc. because you will make a ton of friends and are almost guaranteed in freshman year. If you are between two schools (especially Heritage vs. Arapahoe) choose Heritage, you wont regret it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2010

We have two students open enrolled at Heritage High School. We visited three Jeffco high schools and Littleton prior to deciding on Heritage. It was the best decision we could have made. It is worth the drive to see the passion that the teachers bring to learning. I've never heard my daughters complain about a teacher. It is exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

This is our third child at this school, and while I think all public high schools are flawed in some ways (and experienced those flaws in another school for two years with one of our children), I am convinced that HHS does it's best to be the best, within the confines of what the LEA will let it do. I'm proud to have my children graduate from there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

I am a student at HHS. and i personally do not like the students there. If there students were more adverse then the school would be better. the Administration is awesome! They try to help as much as possible. I know when i dropped out Jr. year for a semester they tried to help me out the best they could to graduate! Now im graduating a semester early! They really do help!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2008

Heritage is a wonderful school! The administration can be strict but only because they are looking out for students. The seniors can't flour the freshmen anymore because it can harm students with breathing problems. The administration puts pressure on the students because they get more motivated to do better. This is a great school to go to where students can play sports for fun and get involved in many programs and clubs!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2006

This is a great school! The teachers really care about the students and there are a huge variety of extracurricular activities to choose from.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 29, 2006

Heritage High School has an open campus and this is great for college bound responsible teens but for troubled teens with difficult home life or those who struggle with school I would not recommend this school. If you are a D1 bound Athlete also a very good school for highly competitive sports but with this comes mean / tough coaches who care more about winning than the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2006

My daughter loves Heritage High School. The academic program is fantastic and the teachers are great too. She likes the student body - they frown on drugs, are academically driven and friendly. She is a junior and has been at Heritage since her freshman year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2004

I'm currently a student at Heritage and I'm satisfied with the way that things work. Many of the teachers are qualified and teach well, and I'm able to learn there. Sometimes the school rules are things I don't agree with, but overall, Heritage is a place I don't mind going to every morning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2004

Sadly, I find that there is an increasing amount of pressure placed on the students at Heritage. Unfortunately, the staff only creates an atmosphere in which the student wants to fight back. Many parents feel that our children are being suffocated by discipline for small, unimportant aspects of high school. I remember the excitement of being a senior and being able to do things like TP and flouring underclassmen. Now the staff claims this damages the smaller kids. To me this is a joke because I've never seen a traumatized student from these incidents. In fact, I remember underclassmen laughing with us. Then, the traditions are passed on. Now, my senior won't be able to attend his own graduation ceremony if he participates in any of these non-violent activities. I find it pathetic that our school board is wasting its time on such frivolous matters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

This is a wonderful school. The activities and sports offered are top notch, and the academics are outstanding. With a great selection of teachers, kids definitely get an education that is above and beyond. Newcomers feel welcomed and the school has a wonderful community feeling, everyone is accepted here.


Posted August 10, 2003

I enjoyed my time at Heritage. I look forward to my ten year reunion in a couple of years. I would recommend this school based on academics, community involvement, sports and most importantly, free spirit.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

473 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

473 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

473 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

374 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female65%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian79%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial48%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)31%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant66%

Reading

All Students85%
Female88%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian100%
Hispanic68%
Multiracial70%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligible61%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)44%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Writing

All Students75%
Female82%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian90%
Hispanic57%
Multiracial70%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligible45%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)25%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
Female47%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)51%
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch54%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English50%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%

Reading

All Students81%
Female84%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligible54%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)31%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%

Science

All Students74%
Female73%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%

Writing

All Students62%
Female69%
Male55%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Free lunch eligible30%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

97%

Average ACT score

22

Graduation rate

91%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 56%
Hispanic 11% 32%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1401 West Geddes Ave
Littleton, CO 80120
Phone: (303) 347-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


STEM High and Academy
Highlands Ranch, CO


Arapahoe High School
Centennial, CO


Littleton High School
Littleton, CO


Plum Creek Academy
Highlands Ranch, CO


Thunderridge High School
Highlands Ranch, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT