Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Highland Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2015
- a parent
We returned to Highland after years at a charter school and have been very happy. My son has 20 kids in his class opposed to 36 that he had at charter school. I was worried that he would not be challenged after attending an "academically rigorous" school. He is thriving and is challenged. I feel the homework load is far less than he had last year and he usually completes the weeks worth by Wednesday at the latest. So far we love Highland and the staff. My son is excited to go to school for the first time in his life. This speaks volumes to me as a parent. This is a great school.

Highland Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted October 05, 2015
- a parent
How can they be with a 1:30+ ratio? I know they are doing the best they can in the situation, but the situation should not exist.


Highland Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 05, 2015
- a parent
While they do not check the homework, the amount and topics are insane. The homework will cover new topics that my child has not been exposed to.

Highland Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted October 05, 2015
- a parent
They repeatedly will use phrases like "We don't do grades, so it really doesn't matter" or "You should not be concerned, your child is not the lowest in the class" or "Homework is for fun and I never check it for correctness or completeness".

Highland Elementary School 1

Posted October 05, 2015
- a parent
The school is a huge disappointment. After buying a house just so my kids could attend Highland, I am desperate to find a way out. The class sizes are too large which leads to kids falling through the cracks and not getting any attention. The details that are overlooked by teachers and staff is astounding. The administration will tell you what you want to hear with no follow through. They are also begging for money at every turn, while not offering any solutions to class sizes or more support.


Highland Elementary School 2

Posted January 09, 2015
- a parent
This school seems to be letting my daughter fall through the cracks. It is very disappointing.

Highland Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2013
- a teacher
My son attended Highland Elementary School. He received an excellent education from experienced teachers that have prepared him well for middle school. I highly recommend Highland.

Highland Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
My son went to Highland for 1st and 2nd grade until we moved away from the area. It was really a great school with great teachers and staff. My son was on an ILP and worked with Mrs. Chambless who was a godsend. The teachers really helped address his issues with learning to read and he is a great reader now! I would have never left Highland had it not been for moving across town and I highly recommend this school to anyone looking for a great learning environment for their child!


Highland Elementary School 3

Posted April 11, 2013
- a parent
My son has been at Highland Elementary now for 4 years and for the most part we have been happy with it. The teachers are very caring and helpful. I really like the fact that so many parents are volunteers. The general layout of the school is really nice and spacious. My issues are that a new principle arrived in 2010 and things seem to be getting more and more disorganized. Also I feel that some of the office staff is incredibly rude when we have needed to call with a question or issue. It just seems like anything out of the ordinary gets you a rude response these days.

Highland Elementary School 4

Posted July 21, 2010
- a parent
Highland has a warm, caring atmosphere. Many of the teachers have been there for several years (low turn-over rate, which is good.) I have only two complaints--the school hours (9:06-3:43) and homework. Beginning homework at 4:00, after having already endured nearly 7 hours of school seems wrong. It makes for a hectic schedule, particularly if your child is involved in any extra-curricular activities. It also affects a normal dinner schedule, as the kids are generally starving when they get home. So, they eat a snack, then aren't hungry for "real dinner" until much later. The entire window from 4:00 until bed-time consists of snack, homework, dinner, shower, read, and go to bed. Very little family time left over. I understand the importance of working with your child one-on-one to reinforce skills taught at school--but how about skipping unnecessary busywork and looking into a more reasonable start/dismissal time?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highland Elementary School
711 East Euclid Avenue, Littleton, CO  80121
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (303) 347-4525
Last modified Highland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top