Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8 & Ungraded|Private
89 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Havern School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted August 25, 2016
- a community member
I am so grateful for the great support we received throughout our years at Havern. Shown most by the example of our transition out. The head of school met with us many times to ensure transition topics were going well. The teachers and transition staff even went with us to the new school and met with the staff there to ensure they had a comprehensive understanding of our child that is transitioning to them.

Havern School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted August 25, 2016
- a community member
I really appreciate how the school accommodates the needs of the kids, but does not let them use their learning disabilities as an excuse to not work hard and focus. Instead they teach them to be proud of how they are focusing and working hard even if it is not easy. They teach tools to get through, not strategies to escape.


Havern School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 25, 2016
- a community member
The students just kind of 'get' each other. They support each other and the teachers nurture an understanding environment. They are taught social skills and when issues do surface, the school psychologist brings the kids together in group and helps them work through it with compassion.

Havern School 5

Posted August 25, 2016
- a community member
We have had two kids attend Havern. One son attended for 3 years and another for 4 years. This was the best decision we ever made. They went from floundering with studies, low self-esteem, frustration and isolation in their previous schools, to acceptance, confidence, friendship and understanding. They learned to understand themselves and how they learn. Last year we transitioned one of our kids back to public school and it was a huge success. The self advocacy, confidence and social skills he learned at Havern made a great difference when he re-entered public schools. This year we are transitioning our second son back and have had a good start to the year. Too early to say how his full transition will go as the year is early but we are optimistic.

Havern School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 04, 2016
- a community member
Teachers are very effective because they get to know each student as an individual. The low student-teacher ratio allows this.


Havern School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 04, 2016
- a community member
They only give homework as review. They do not give busywork - they make sure that the amount of homework is appropriate for the individual student.

Havern School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 04, 2016
- a community member
Everyone is viewed as equal here. All students learn wonderful lessons about each other. Great learning environment at this wonderful school.

Havern School 5

Posted July 04, 2016
- a community member
Havern was an unbelievable community for our two sons. They both had learning disabilities but were able to overcome their weaknesses and turn them into strengths. The faculty and staff are supportive and patient. The fellow parents are understanding because they are going through similar trials with their children. I would recommend this school to anyone with a child with a learning disability. Five stars does not even begin to show our appreciation for this fine school!!!


Havern School 5

Posted March 21, 2015
- a community member
Havern School was the right choice for our granddaughter who was becoming increasingly anxious, worried, and depressed in the public school setting. She enjoyed learning about almost anything when with us, but public school just wasn't successful. She told us she overheard the special ed teachers say she was "stupid." She lost self-confidence. At Havern, she learned how to advocate for herself, to explain her learning disability to others, and she became comfortable and self-confident in her learning abilities. She is a freshman in High School this year and enjoying friends, activities and LEARNING! Havern made the difference that has set this young lady on the road to personal success.

Havern School 5

Posted February 05, 2015
- a parent
We did what we could to understand which schools and early intervention therapies might help our child make progress and catch up to her peers. We dedicated a lot of time, money and energy finding treatments, driving to appointments after school, trying to make progress. We struggled to get teachers and therapists to communicate and integrate everything into a cohesive plan to prepare for a class with 25+ children and limited resources for therapy. As a parent, I remember when we found out about Havern School. It was a dream come true to find teachers, therapists, administrators and a school community of parents and families that would help us and our daughter get the necessary educational support to succeed, learn and thrive. We were overjoyed to hear she would be a great fit at Havern! Havern School remains true to its mission: Small classes with 10 or fewer students Two highly trained educators per class, 4:1 Student Teacher Ratio Individualized instruction, small group Occupation, Speech, Social Therapies Collaborative, communicative approach recognizing different learning styles Ideal high-quality learning environment to create confident, lifelong learners

Nearby schools

Havern School
4000 S Wadsworth Blvd, Littleton, CO  80123
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (303) 986-4587
Last modified Havern School is a Private school
Top