Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mackintosh Academy

Private | PK-8 | 185 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Littleton

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $225,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

73 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 29, 2011

We absolutely love Mackintosh Academy and feel so blessed that our children have the opportunity to attend. As a parent with a Ph.D. background in education and child development with three gifted children, I am amazed by the individualized instruction, curriculum supported by strong research, depth of understanding of cognition and learning theories, outcomes based approach, IB philosophy, emphasis on developing the whole gifted child (i.e. academically, emotionally, creatively) and most of all, the exceptional teachers and administration. Words cannot express how grateful we are to see our children thrive, grow, explore, and embrace a pure love of learning and passion for life because of their experiences at Mackintosh. It is a true gift as a parent to see your children fit so perfectly and be so happy at school and with themselves. All three of our children have attended the past two years. They LOVE school and have maintained such a high level of intrinsic motivation and academic growth. (CONTINUED BELOW)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2011

Although I agree with the previous parent that Mackintosh has been a great place for my kids, adding the Boulder campus has distracted the Director badly from the Littleton campus, and the emphasis is clearly on the new Boulder school. Case in point- when grandparents (read: donors) were recently invited to the Littleton campus, the Director spent her time talking to them about the Boulder campus, not the campus where thier grandchildren (and money) are going- Littleton. The Asst.Head of School at Littleton is a fantastic lady who is providing great leadership, but the opening of a second campus has further taxed what was already a "thin bench"- if a teacher is sick or someone leaves, there is a mad scramble to staff classes, and student learning suffers. This academic year there have already been 4 abrupt "transitions" (read: teachers leaving suddenly or being let go), and as a result, kids are only taking Spanish 1 day per week due to staffing problems. This is no way to learn a language, and for nearly 15K, parents and families should expect more. Mack is stll a great school in many ways, but we (and many other familes) no longer feel we are getting our $s worth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

I am a parent of two children who attend the wonderful Littleton campus. They are both happy and well adjusted, love their teachers, and are receiving a high quality education. As a parent of gifted children who understands the social and emotional needs of this population, I am thrilled that the parents of Boulder will now have a school like this one to send their children to. It saddens me to read postings from other parents who are questioning the wisdom and priorities of the director of this school for opening a Boulder campus. Unfortunately for some, change is a threatening element, but for others it signifies the opening of new horizons and opportunities. This campus is solid and the teachers are highly qualified and dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2011

My children are getting ready to go back to school, and I'm very concerned that so many of the fine Mackintosh teachers (10+) are not returning to the school. How much our sweet Littleton campus is going to change now that the Boulder sister school is up and running? Where is the headmaster's priorities? Our children have been very, very happy at Mack -- and they love the school. But as the previous reviewer said, things are changing. I hope the administration doesn't throw the baby out with the bathwater.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2011

The Head of school person is rude and doesn't understand that parents matter. She has had me come out dozen of times and when I show up for our appointment, she cancels! I really liked the teachers and students, but I am paying a lot of money to be treated this way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2011

a great school. i love this scholl it is the best school i have been to in my life is awsum.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2010

My kids love Mackintosh. I have two children who attend. One needs more personalized instruction and attention, the other child needs to be challenged constantly with academics to be happy. Both my kids get what they are looking for at MAC. We look forward to another great year ahead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2010

We were looking for a middle school environment for our son that would provide a positive transition from the small international school he attended when we lived overseas. Mackintosh proved to do that and more. The teachers at Mackintosh are not only skilled educators, but also wonderful human beings who create an atmosphere much like an extended family. At this school, character and compassion are valued as much as analytical thinking skills and creativity. The needs of each student are thoughtfully taken into consideration. Planning, reflection and communication skills are developed through the practice of self-evaluation, in-depth discussions, teamwork, and an excellent performing arts program. Topics are supplemented with interesting hands-on projects and field trips. Our son is now in a large public high school, but his experience at Mackintosh helped him to develop the confidence and character he needs to negotiate the many choices and opportunities he now faces.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2010

We have both our son and daughter attend Mackintosh and they are very happy at this school. They have attended different gifted programs at DPS, and this school is excellent in being flexible and in understanding their needs. The academic program is challenging and promoting active learning. Our kids like the units of inquiry a lot and PE every day. The head of school is a great advocate for gifted girls. The school is willing to accommodate a bilingual component in the curriculum, to facilitate learning in their native language as well. The students feel a sense of community that extends over grades and classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2009

What makes a school? The people: teachers, head of school, specials teachers, parents of those who attend and most importantly the children who attend. It is a rare event that you find all the 'people' at a school that care and are compassionate about everyone involved. My children are challenged academically and most importantly to me, socially. They are learning not only to apply compassion in everyday life situation with others, they now have a very high standard for how others treat them. The self respect and esteem they have developed in their very short time at Mackintosh is unparalleled. The transparent approach the Head of School has with the classroom teachers fosters an environment of open communication with parents and teachers and leaves no room for miscommunication. My children will benefit their whole lives from their experiences and continued experiences here to come! First Class people with First Class Results!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2009

Mackintosh Academy has proven to be a safe and encouraging place where our children have been able to learn to care deeply about the world around them, be sensitive to the needs of those in our community and been stimulated intellectually and nurtured emotionally beyond compare. The care and interest that the staff at MA provides is so authentic and compassionate to each individual student and family. MA provides a forum for continuous communication in an open and honest way that promotes an excellent parent-teacher-student relationship. The balanced view of the whole child resonates through each teacher up through the head of school and is reflected in the respect the students show each other. MA is a place where strengths are celebrated, areas of need are supported and everyone is honored for who they are. We are fortunate to be a part of such an amazing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2009

My daughter attends Mackintosh, this is her second year. I could not be happier with the school. They are challenging her academically and developing her interpersonal skills. But, probably the most important advancement to me is her social awareness and concern for others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2009

Finding out that your child needs a speciallized education can be scary and exciting and a challenge. We did our homework and visited many schools before choosing Mackintosh Academy. Upon the 35 minute drive to our first visit to the campus I had already decided it was too far to commute each morning for school. But, after our meeting and a tearful face, we left knowing that the school was the perfect fit for our daughter. We have been there for just 2 years now and besides the commute, which makes for great bonding time, I have only positive things to say. While I love the idea of my daughter doing wonderful in her academics the idea of building her character is extremely important to our family and that is what Mackintosh is great at. One visit to a school wide function and you feel something special and different and wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2009

Have had our son here for two years thus far and he will finish up here. Its the first school he has really embraced. They really cater to smart kids who don't want to work within the traditional four walled classroom. The best part I have seen is that they don't even know they are learning until for example at the Thanks giving day table my son explains why he is thankful that he lives in American and explains what life is like in several other countries including disease, their economies, their health care system and juidicial departments. He never knew how much he had learned! Good work Mackintosh!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

I have two children who go to Mackintosh and have been very pleased. Mackintosh has a strong IB program that allows students to learn higher level thinking skills and global awareness. The faculty at Mackintosh is AWESOME as well. Teachers are knowledgeable, well educated and genuinely caring. The school's philosophy of teaching the 'whole child' holds true too. Because of the strong curriculum, IB program, and caring environment- I would recommend Mackintosh whole heartedly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2009

Our experience with MA has been outstanding. The atmosphere of the school is very warm and caring. They want to do the best for your child and help them find their motivations and successes. The opportunities for further study/advancement that have been presented have been enormous and challenging. The staff is very familiar with giftedness and the challenges that may come with it. Problems or concerns are addressed quickly and respectfully. The IB program is different but has provided a fantastic perspective to the learning experience. They work with you to make sure your child is being challenged and at the correct math/vocabulary/reading level and do not apply a one-size-fits-all philosophy. Not every school works for every child/family but this school has helped to put the love of learning into my child. And that is a wonderful thing to have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2009

Mackintosh Academy s philosophy of being sensitive to the development of the whole child and cultivating a community that is aware of the social and emotional sensitivities and appropriately nurturing them is the reason we decided to look into this school. Our son was struggling in our neighborhood Denver school. He wasn t struggling because it was a bad school; he was struggling because it wasn t a good fit for him. Perhaps that is the most important thing to remember when looking at different schools what is really best for your child. Our son is now in his second year at Mackintosh, and we are extremely pleased with the quality of his education. Besides incredible specials/teachers (performing arts, physical education, visual arts, Spanish), his homeroom is truly a home for him. He has two of the same teachers and one new teacher this year. He feels like they understand and get him. From our standpoint, we see three caring teachers who truly can and do differentiate all the diverse learning styles and differences in his classroom. His individual needs (academic, social-emotional) are being met. Even though this is a gifted school, there is still a huge range of where the children are socially, emotionally, as well as academically. The head of school has a huge heart for all the children and we are so pleased with the depth of her knowledge and compassion. We are so thankful that we were told about this hidden gem of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2009

i was the string of 'continued...' postings. one last thing i forgot to mention is that the middle school overall leave several gaps in a students education and they have a way to lax way of looking at discipline. when i got to high school i was doing some minor catchup socially, disciplinary, and with school work. i would urge anyone who is in middle school to bug the teachers about a much stricter late policy (if possible) because even though it will make your life harder now, in the future you will be much better prepared.


Posted December 8, 2009

We feel so fortunate to be part of the Mackintosh community. And it is just that, a community. My daughter needed a school that was going to attend to her exceptional academic needs as well as her need to be a part of something bigger than herself and the world she sees everyday. She has grown so much academically and as a person since she has started school at Mackintosh. She comes home happy, enlightened and filled with information to share about her day. She has a passion and empathy for others that is far beyond her age and is welcomed at a school like Mackintosh. I feel it is my job as a parent to make excellent educational decisions for my child and the communication and attention that I receive from the Head of School as well as my daughter's teachers has been invaluable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2009

We have two children attending Mackintosh and are delighted with the high quality of education they receive. They are consistently challenged by teachers -- and have become strong, independent thinkers. One of our children is dyslexic and at times has needed accommodations at school. His teachers and the Head of School have addressed his needs with great sensitivity and consideration. Instead of being an 'at-risk' student, our child loves to go to school and is excelling academically. We are grateful to have found a 'home' at Mackintosh.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 56%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Hispanic 4% 32%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (303) 794-2286

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7018 South Prince Street
Littleton, CO 80120
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 997-4666

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Euclid Middle School
Littleton, CO


Littleton Academy
Littleton, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT