Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mackintosh Academy

Private | PK-8 | 185 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Littleton

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $225,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

70 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2009

I love Mackintosh! I started at Mackintosh when I was three and I went there for eleven years. Mackintosh molded me into a very academically advanced student when I arrived at high school. Mackintosh completely prepared me for high school and life and is an excellent educational institution. It provides a small environment that allows for one-one teaching and growth as an individual. The staff is amazing and the teachers really care about the students' success. When I left Mackintosh I took my SATs and scored 1700 soley from the amazing education I recieved at Mackintosh. For anyone who wants their children to excell and recieve an education that promotes success and a love of learning, Mackintosh is the school for you!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2009

I have two kids that attend MacKintosh. Both very much enjoy the fast pace learning. Very good environment for kids who have the abilities to learn quickly. I have no doubt that when my kids leave 8th grade they will have no difficulties in college. Very well prepared. I have read the reviews of unhappy parents/kids. There must not be too many because I havent met them. Great teachers and administrator who cares.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2009

Ha ha the teacher quality is 4 out of 5! Thats funny! In middle school some of the teachers are not really teaching. They are always... it seams taking care of a problem and just forgets about the rest of us. They are unfair!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2008

I believe that Mackintosh is an Excellent school. I have been going here since i was 7. It is an amazing environment. If even one student has a problem t is fixed right away. There is definitely no favorisum by the Head of School with any of the students. If one of her own children has a problem with the school or there classmates she will take over the role of a parent and help her child in any way she can. Sometimes 'favorisum' is caused because one student over the other has special needs and needs some extra support. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 23, 2008

I do not like how I have to work off of a worksheet for homework in Pre-Algabra. I think the curriculum has gone down hill big time sence last year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2008

My son graduated from Mackintosh Academy last year. I have been so impressed with his ability to easily integrate into a public high school. He has had an air of confidence and sense of self that I feel was nutured throughout his 7 years at Mackintosh. It has been wonderful to see this intelligent yet awkward boy, grow into a young man, eady to take on greater challenges in the community. I credit all of his teachers with this success. I especially appreciated PE daily and an outstanding performing arts program. The math program allowed my son to progress much faster pace than he would have in public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2008

It isn't that Mackintosh doesn't get gifted education, it's that the administration is more interested in projecting a caring image than actually cultivating it. When it comes down to it, the only thing that matters is what the Head of School wants, not what is best for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

Our negative comments do not result from lack of value placed on deep respect for self or for respecting and appreciating diversity of community. Our negative comments result purely from our son's needs not being met, but more than that from the Head of School's disregard for the changes that need to be made at the school to make it a great place for gifted learners who are not twice exceptional. Our son is highly gifted but doesn't require any special accomodations emotionally or socially. He just needed to be academically challenged. No time for that due to so many students who have special emotional, social or academic needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

Mackintosh Academy is an amazing community of diverse learners and master educators. Self-acceptance and a deep respect for the world is nurtured. Academics are tailored to each individual student since GT students inherently have a huge range of capabilities. I suspect that many of the negative comments out here are the result of a mismatch in parent/school philosophy. Deep learning and questioning is present at all grades, but it is not a place of academic competitiveness. Rather students individual needs are thoughtfully met. My students have experienced many different types of learning environments in the Denver metro area -- none met their social-emotional needs and individual academic requirements quite like Mackintosh has. I am forever grateful to the wonderful head of school who has made this amazing community possible. We have truly found a home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2008

My child is in middle school at Mackintosh. I agree with the positive comments about the teachers -- almost all of them are caring and skilled teachers. I also agree with the comments that the administration is more interested in filling seats and projecting a particular image than offering education. A lot of great middle school students have been leaving because the middle school lacks discipline, leaving the kids that were the problem to begin with. It makes me wonder if I should keep my child on a sinking ship.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2008

I attended this school for three years. The teachers and curriculum are excellent. However, the discipline process is absolutely terrible. The discipline process is terrible. The administrative and visual arts section of the school lacks, ensuring no one is offended. This school is no longer what it was due to this,
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2008

I am not at all impressed with Mackintosh Academy. My son attended 4 years there. For the tution fees around $12,000/- per school year kids are better off in public than Mackintosh. Academically poor and it looks that they want to fill up the class to get tution fees and not looking the kids are gifted and talented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

My child attended Mackintosh with very poor results. The administration seemed more concered with filling classrooms than focusing on making a good fit for the child. There is very little concern for children who fall behind. If you need any special help you will struggle to figure it out, pay for it, education the teachers, etc. I feel many gifted children are also ADD or have some sort of sensory integration dysfunction or even dyslexia. Mackintosh admits these kids but the teachers don't know what to do for them. Please beware. I don't know many kids who intetrate well into public school from Mackintosh.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

My child attended Mackintosh for several years. The teachers are amazing which is the biggest strength of this school. Their enthusiam and love for these children are evident. The school itself is poorly run however, and discipline is lacking . The teachers and the administration especially are not open to suggestions or ideas from the parents. There is poor communication with the faculty and the parents. The IB program is good, however there is too much emphasis on meeting these requirements and the children therefore are lacking the knowledge that their peers have gained in other schools. Having my child evaluated after his elementary years was concerning to me as he lacked the infomation he needed to integrate into a public school. A tax paying Douglas County education is the same (minus the $13,000+/yr) if not better. The kids love Mack though, and that had made us very happy as parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

My daughter attended the 06-07 year. At the public school, our daughter was distressed at the lack of respect and inconsistency of enforcing rules. Here, the IB principles and attitudes were lived each day in her class. Enthusiastically embraced by the staff, this allowed her to blossom academically. Every class had math at the same time so no matter how old your child was, they attended the math level that suited them best--not the one which suits 'most kids their age.' The drama program was fabulous. The school is small, so there are trade-offs: lack of sports teams or afterschool programs. To feel of the spirit of this school, go to the graduation--every class not only attends, but participates in this wonderful event. If you have a caring, sensitive and bright child, this is a fabulous school. If we still lived in Colorado, we'd still be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

My child was a student here last year. We had a miserable experience. There is no teacher accountability, the administrator allows the teachers to run classrooms as they wish despite parent complaints/concerns. The administrator admitted several months into the school year that she hadn't observed the classes that year. Parents' opinions and concerns are not welcome -they are the experts, parents know nothing. The administrator talks a very good talk when you first meet her but there is no followup. There is a lot of favortism at the school including the administrator's two children who attend - just hope your kid is not in their class! Note very carefully that the majority of the positive reviews are from teachers, not parents. There are some wonderful schools for gifted kids in the Denver area, unfortunately this is not one of them. The concept is great, the administration is lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2007

I have taught at other schools in the past but Mackintosh Academy has the best curriculum and learning environment for children that I've seen. Teachers at Mackintosh truly care for their students and go beyond expectations to ensure that they are comfortable, challenged, and inspired. The I.B. program that Mackintosh offers nurtures the gifted child, stretching their thinking and develops them into well rounded students. In my opinion, the quality of learning is truly superior to other schools. Also, parents take an active role at Mackintosh and teacher- parent relationships are outstanding. As a teacher, I am so fortunate to be apart of such a wonderful team. As my own children get to school age, I wouldn't consider another school for them!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 13, 2007

As a teacher at Mackintosh, I feel very fortunate to be in such a supportive, compassionate, well-rounded school. Mackintosh recognizes the children s individual needs and works hard to support these needs. The values at Mackintosh help the children to learn how to think, and how to use their knowledge in the world around them. The community of students, staff and parents are truly exceptional. I am honored to be an educator at this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 12, 2007

My son is a bright and extremely reticent guy, the most important thing about middle school at Mackintosh was that he was valued and honored for who he is and therefore, he emerged from middle school whole and sure of himself and his values. The transition to a much bigger school went smoothly and in his words was 'underwhelming'. No, he's not an overachieving, straight A student, but Mackintosh prepared him to think critically and problem solve-something I think is lost in the CSAP driven world of many public schools. The specials classes were also so important for his development. I wish every school (including high school) would require kids to go to PE every day. I also loved that he had to be in the plays. It wasn't something he would have chosen, but he had fun with them and learned so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

Mackintosh provides a unique opportunity for children to grow intellectually and emotionally in a safe, caring environment with an outstanding 10-1 student/teacher ratio, with an authentic emphasis on the arts, both performing and visual.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 62%
Asian 5% N/A
Black 2% 5%
Hispanic 2% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (303) 794-2286

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7018 S Prince St
Littleton, CO 80120
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 794-6222

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Euclid Middle School
Littleton, CO


Littleton Academy
Littleton, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT