Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Littleton, CO
Students enrolled: 475
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Leawood Elementary School 5

Posted December 05, 2013
- a parent
Leawood is a solid school. My kids both choose to stay at Leawood after touring three other area schools (all bigger, two newer, and all seemingly more affluent). I will say that Leawood is not as stringent or militant about academics and test scores as some of the other schools in the area however this is precisely why I like Leawood. Stressing children out in elementary school regarding testing or hours upon hours of homework ultimately does not allow them to thrive. Leawood is nurturing and presents a balance between appropriate social interactions, academics, extracurricular activities and cultural awareness. When I have had difficulty, I have found most of the teaching staff and the principal extremely responsive and willing to work with me to support my children. This is a school where smiles and hugs are still okay, and accountability is delivered with kindness. Of course there's always room for improvement (oh how I despise Everyday Math) and I do wish the front exterior would be renovated however we have been extremely pleased and happy at Leawood. Go Lions!

Leawood Elementary School 1

Posted December 01, 2013
- a parent
Not too many years ago Leawood distinguished itself with its sense of community and parental involvement. This held true through several principals. Newer principal. Newer environment - one that doesn't encourage parental involvement, restrains two-way communication and not only doesn't solicit parental participation in policy- and decision-making, but goes out of the way to inhibit participation. So sad. Leawood can't compete academically and now the environment that encouraged adaptability, community and accountability seems gone. (And there are some great teachers there but can't imagine they are flourishing now esp. if they knew what it was like to teach there in years past.)


Leawood Elementary School 1

Posted October 01, 2011
- a parent
Our son went to kindergarten at Leawood. It was a terrible experience for all of us. After the first week of school he said he hated school- this from a child who loved preschool. Unfortunately, it only went downhill from there. His teacher had a rigid way of teaching and running her classroom and did not leave room for individual differences. She was not a warm person and rarely had positive things to say about our child. Creativity, free-thinking, and a love of learning were not cultivated here. It felt like our child was just a number at this school, not an individual human being. It was a very stressful experience and we pulled our child out at the end of the year. Luckily, his new school is fantastic. His teacher is a warm, caring person and he is flourishing there. He actually enjoys school now and is excited to talk about his day. His new school does a great job recognizing and rewarding positive behavior and attributes. This did not happen at Leawood. After a terrible year, it is wonderful to see him excited about school and learning. On a positive note, the school did try to build a sense of community and they encouraged parent involvement.

Leawood Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2011
- a parent
We have been amazed with Leawood Elementary. The preschool program has been phenomenal, exceeding our expectations and the leadership and staff have gone above and beyond to connect with the parents and kids. The parent participation is incredible and the warm, caring school environment is just what we were looking for. Our friends in neighboring schools, even schools rated a 10 are jealous of the experiences we have had and are hoping there will be room for choice enrollment into Leawood. We can't believe our luck in finding this gem of a school!

Leawood Elementary School 1

Posted March 01, 2011
- a parent
Our son attended the preschool program. We had 2 main problems with the program. First, they wanted to teach him beginning letter sounds after they reported that he could read at midway through the first grade, basically a waste of his time but we let it slide as we figured it was preschool and we enrolled him for social purposes. Second, the first field trip was Christmas related and as our family does not celebrate that holiday, we found this completely insensitive to our 4 year old. Ultimately, we pulled him out.


Leawood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 24, 2010
- a parent
Mrs Rombach & Mrs Crosley, along with the specials team, have taken such a great interest and love for our daughter. Their caring and passion for laying the foundation for our daughter's education is an incredible feat that is accomplished every day. They truly love what they do, and it shines through to their students.

Leawood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
I love the pre-school and the 'tools of the mind curriculum.

Leawood Elementary School 5

Posted February 25, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Leawood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 06, 2009
- a parent
This will be our 2nd year at Leawood and our kids love it! We have moved quite a bit and have been in several elementary schools. from the East Coast to the West. And I can say Leawood is the best school mty kids have ever attended.

Leawood Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2009
- a parent
Both of my daughters have attended Leawood Elementary and have been very happy. The teachers are all wonderful, the principal is world class and the curriculum is top notch. The school atmosphere is very nurturing and the sense of community seems to bring families together. I would HIGHLY recommend this school to anyone who is looking for a great place for their children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Leawood Elementary School
6155 West Leawood Dr, Littleton, CO  80123
(303) 982-7860
Last modified Leawood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Leawood Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top