Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public district
Littleton, CO
Students enrolled: 438
 

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mortensen Elementary School 5

Posted November 06, 2014
- a parent
This is a "gem of a school" - the motto our principal has been working on since her arrival. I believe she has succeeded. When we were looking at schools in the area 5 years ago Mortensen was not the gem it is today. However at Kindergarten information night their presentation was astonishing and blew us away with the behavioral expectations and how they were diving into reading and assimilating information at such an early age. This school has home grown clubs and activities such as drama, choir, run club, anti-bullying craft club (which was started by a student), and computer activities maned by a dedicated parent. The teachers go above and beyond both in the class room and beyond. There is a warm open feeling to this school, to make everyone feel welcome and included. The teachers have all been amazing, have been easy to work with and demand a great deal from their students. Their passion shows with our test scores increasing over the last few years. The specials teachers are amazing too offering the student body extracurricular activities based on their passions. Our principal has maned the helm of a great school and can always be seen supporting her students.

Mortensen Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
When selecting among schools in the area, Mortensen had the most knowledgeable staff and motivated teachers. My son is reading at least one grade level above thanks to the excellent curriculum and support from teachers. Parent involvement is also really high and there are many opportunities for learning beyond academics.


Mortensen Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2013
- a parent
We are new to the school and I am thrilled with the small class size, amazing teachers and supportive staff... best school!

Mortensen Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2012
- a parent
We were new to the community in Sept. 2011 - Mortensen was EXCEPTIONAL at welcoming my son to their excellent program. Outstanding group of teachers, excellent academics with appropriate challenge offered for all students needs, and a very friendly/positive environment with the kids. We're sooooo glad we chose this area to move to :)

Mortensen Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2011
- a parent
Great school. Lots of extra activities for the kids like guitar,choir,craft club drama club, etc. Wonderful teachers and staff.


Mortensen Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mortensen Elementary School 2

Posted January 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mortensen Elementary School 5

Posted April 01, 2008
- a parent
This school is great, my son has excelled since he started here and the teachers and administrators are all very supportive and when there is a behavior issue with a kid they address it immediately.


Mortensen Elementary School 5

Posted November 29, 2006
- a parent
This is a very high quality school. Parents are always made to feel very welcome and their participation in their children's activities is highly encouraged. Academics are strong, but more importantly, this school really focuses upon molding well-rounded kids. Good student behavior is rewarded and evident. Poor behavior is dealt with in an appropriate manner. All of the students seem to do well with each other. There aren't any cliques or other disruptions. Teachers are motivated and work hard to create a great learning environment.

Mortensen Elementary School 4

Posted April 21, 2006
- a parent
This school now has an excellent rating according to CSAPS 2005. There are plenty of after school activities for the kids, choir, yoga for kids, spanish, mad science, guitar club, knitting club. The parent involvement could be better but I believe it is improving. Our daughter loves it and has done well there academically. Also kids from this school who have gone on to middle school do as well as other kids from other schools. They also have great special programs for kids with learning disabilities. The teachers are great and they have low turnover.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mortensen Elementary School
8006 South Iris, Littleton, CO  80128
(303) 982-0022
Last modified Mortensen Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mortensen Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top