Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Powderhorn Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 642 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 15, 2014

Powderhorn elementary is an AMAZING school, one if the best in Colorado I believe! I feel that each day my child's needs are met in a very positive way. When a concern arises her teacher contacts me in a professional manner. Parents are encouraged to teach alongside the teacher at home to help their child meet the rigorous state standards. I feel that the kindergarten homework is aligned perfectly to both state standards and to what my child works on weekly at school. I love homework because it gives me the chance to sit down and get to know my child. You aren't able to request teachers but if you are lucky enough to get Mrs. Czarnek you will not be disappointed, she is loving, a strong teacher, very good at communicating with parents and has a love for learning. She is easy to relate to and I feel confident in dropping my child off at the door with her everyday. I feel welcome every time I step foot in the building from the facility staff to Ms. Rosemary greeting me at the front desk with a smile and positive attitude. I could not have asked for a better first schooling experience for my daughter and I can't wait to see what the rest of the future holds at Powderhorn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2014

Powderhorn is a large (600+ students) elementary school with wonderful teachers/staff and above average test scores. Unfortunately, a new principal started in 2013 and has totally changed the dynamics of the school. Parent involvement has decreased (so much so that we probably won't have a PTA next year) and the community feeling is gone. There is not much support for parents - and the new principal doesn't take the time to get to know parents or understand their concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2014

My daughter had some behavioral issues at the beginning of the year and the support and attention given to her by the staff and teachers was amazing. Not only did they help address her anxiety, but by being so empathetic to her needs as well as my concerns as a parent, she no longer is exhibiting negative behavior. I couldn't be happier with Powderhorn as a whole. The staff and teachers truly care about their school and community and that is infectious. I have 3 children and have every intention of sending every one of them to Powderhorn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2013

The teachers and staff at Powderhorn have their priorities in order and as a parent I couldn't be happier. The school motto is to be respectful, resonsible and safe. They really live and teach that everyday. It's a great school and the kids are happy there! What more could you want?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2013

Powderhorn is a great school. The PTO is very active and we LOVE the Watchdog Dad program. The teachers and staff are always nice and you can tell they love the kids. However, if you have a GT child, this is not the place for you. The GT's are dropped through the cracks, which I am sure is common for Public Schools. There are over 650 kids and for the handful that are GT, there is no advocation or extra focus. The lack of understanding that the GT children require and the social and curricular needs are simply not met. This is a great school for the "average" student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2012

A very safe school with a very conscientious Principal. The school psychologist is so amazing and incredibly helpful. I love the Watch Dog Dad program and so do my kids! My only issues are at the County level such as a lack of extra help when children need it. But this school does very well with the resources it is given.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2012

Powderhorn Elementary school is a Great school.. Great staff.. Great atmosphere.. Kacey Heinrich.. is a Great Kindergarten teacher..!


Posted February 21, 2012

Warm. Inventive. Supportive. Education. Both of my daughters attend Powderhorn and I couldn't be happier with what the educators and administration provide. The surrounding Littleton community is both beautiful and welcoming. Go Powderhorn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

WOW, the school real works hard to continue to challenge my son and daughter. Love the school and the community environment that they encourage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

My son has been at Powderhorn for 2 years now, and he absolutely loves it. I am so happy that we chose Powderhorn as his school. The teachers are absolutely wonderful. They love their jobs and it shows through the children they teach. My son was in Kindergarten last year and they do have a monthly homework book and spelling tests each week. Some people may believe it is too much for a young child, but honestly he loved it. Knowledge is everything! Thank you Powderhorn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

Awesome office staff, great curriculum and academic standards, but teachers are given too much free reign re: things like resolving classroom issues and punishment. Ex: Child misbehaves, punishment includes name being written on the board for class to see. My child's Kindergarten class must adhere to strict behavior standards and have treats and perks taken away regularly. Daily homework. Principal is approachable, but doesn't welcome concerns about staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2009

My kindergartender loves this school! The Fundations program is a good fit for him, and the positive behavior program is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Im concerned about how much homework the students are recieving. My 1st Grader seems to be recieving an awful lot of homework it seems. I discussed this with another parent that has children attending the school and they also expressed the same concern that a child of 4th grade seems to be recieving even more homework then a child in 6th grade. Is this a lack of teaching in the classroom, or just a variation of teaching per grade. I will be expressing my concern in this matter. So far my kids are enjoying the school. I do like however the fundations programs that is used. The over abundant amount of homework does make it hard for a single parent or even 2 parents to handle as its homework for the parents also who may work alot at the earlier grade levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

We recently enroled our two students at Powderhorn and WOW are we impressed. They have both come home excited about learning and the school. I highly recomend the school and getting involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

Powderhorn is an exceptional school in terms of it's commitment to excellence for all students! The staff expect great things from their kids and it definitely shows by their enthusiasm to learn and excel. It was an honor to be one of the parents of this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

My daughter has been going to Powderhorn from K thru 4th. She has had the best teachers. I like the way they do things. We're very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

Excellent experience - teachers are involved and concerned, principal is fantastic. Warm, inviting front office / school nurse.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female84%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Reading

All Students86%
Female91%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Writing

All Students76%
Female80%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female90%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Reading

All Students89%
Female90%
Male88%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Writing

All Students73%
Female78%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female83%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%

Reading

All Students88%
Female95%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Science

All Students79%
Female83%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Writing

All Students77%
Female93%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female76%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%

Reading

All Students88%
Female93%
Male84%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Writing

All Students66%
Female70%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 56%
Hispanic 16% 32%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12109 West Coal Mine Ave
Littleton, CO 80127
Phone: (303) 982-0074

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT