Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lone Tree Elementary School 5

Posted December 23, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and staff at LTE really seem to be committed to developing our kids. We were in Ireland for a few years and when we came back, they made a special effort to make sure the kids fit back into the groove at LTE. In fact, the kids fell behind while in Ireland, but are quickly getting back on track. Great principal and an office staff that really cares.

Lone Tree Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 23, 2015
- a parent
Ms Feret was very well liked by my son, as well as Ms Leroi. The principal (Ms Perci) and front office staff are also great.


Lone Tree Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 19, 2015
- a student
The students are recommended to study math facts each night, read for a certain amount of time, math online with Pearson/frontrow/tenmarks, istation (interactive reading that is evaluated by the teacher) along with any other project that they might be doing. There's enough for them to do.

Lone Tree Elementary School 1

Posted December 06, 2015
- a parent
Our son attended this school for 3 years and the experience was awful - both academically and socially. He was bullied from day-one, and our multiple pleas for help from his teachers and the principal were ignored, denied or met with half-hearted attempts to help. After a first year of incessant bullying and exclusion from the "clique", our son simply receeded into the background and got lost. When he was designated as a Gifted learner (through test scores and an outside assessment), there was ZERO done to teach him at a different level. There was no "personalized learning" despite the LTE PR campaign. No ILP, no support from the teacher, nothing. (Which triggered me to remember that I was told during enrollment by LTE staff that if our son had any learning challenges, LTE would not support him/was not the school for him.) This school looks great from the outside and many people strive to get their kids into it because of the rich demographics surrounding it. For us, this school was all veneer and no true substance: Poor academics, overwhelmed teachers (some who yell at the kids) and a primary focus on maintaining an "elite" school status.

Lone Tree Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 25, 2015
- a parent
Teachers are good or bad, depending on who you get here. Had mixed experiences in 2 years there with 2 kids.


Lone Tree Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2015
- a parent
It is a great little school with a private school vibe. There's limited enrollment and only 3 classrooms/75 kids per grade level. Think small and cozy. The principal, Ms. Persichina, is energetic and dynamic. My child started here in K last year and has thrived. Before you apply for admission, know that this school requires a commitment. There is no bus service. There's a $200 fee to cover some of the technology costs. It feels like a very exclusive clique once your child is accepted. Yes, the school is a little bit snobbish. Yes, there are a lot of moms who pick up their children in Escalades while wearing Lululemon. Yes, it is true. Several Broncos coaches and Denver media personalities have children in this school. Yes, the gala fundraiser raised over $100,000. Yes, girls wear Uggs to school. But the staff stresses an environment of kindness. Because of the small size, they become a close-knit group. You will also find racial/socioeconomic diversity here. Sure, some kids live next door in Heritage Hills, but some come from Aurora and Denver to attend. The registration process is very competitive but it is worth it. I would not trade schools!

Lone Tree Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2015
- a parent
We opened-enrolled our oldest to Lone Tree Magnet Elementary and have been so happy with the strong educational foundation she has been given at this school. The leadership from the principal is top-notch and has trickled down throughout every member of the school's teaching and staff team members -- this group invests so much in this school to make it excellent for students. Our daughter is learning critical thinking and academic skills that are beyond what her peers at other area elementary schools are learning, and all in a fun environment with 3 recess opportunities (a.m., lunch & p.m.), which is such a rare combination in today's schools. And despite the issues at the Douglas County Schools district level, you feel very removed from that at this school. We love LTE!

Lone Tree Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2014
- a parent
Best thing that could have happened to my daughters. Their kindergarten staff is the best. Overall atmosphere is very good. Surprisingly the school is not affected by the snobbish atmosphere of surrounding parents.


Lone Tree Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2012
- a parent
We have been at this AMAZING school for 5 years. This school teaches children to be critical thinkers. They have excellent teachers and a strong principal. Who cares that this is our 3rd principal, if they all have strong leadership that is all that matters. Both of my children are academically strong, have excellent problem solving skills and and critical thinkers. We take Pride in LTE

Lone Tree Elementary School 2

Posted January 16, 2012
- a parent
We recently moved to this school and have been very disappointed. Everyone is very nice and friendly; however, there does not seem to be a priority given to academics. The school is very behind compared to other elementary schools in the district. When teachers are asked about spelling programs, etc. their response is "we're still working on that." Since I am coming from an education background, they shouldn't still be figuring out programs and curriculum halfway through the school year. All the curriculum should be worked out in the summer. When students enter the classroom the first day of school, the teachers should have their curriculum and lessons in place for the entire school year. This could be why the tests scores for this school are low compared to other schools in the area. This school could be great if they got a strong leader to run the school. Three different principals in 5 years does not help. Hopefully, someone at the district level will read this and make some necessary changes at the school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lone Tree Elementary School
9375 Heritage Hills Circle, Lone Tree, CO  80124
(303) 387-0253
Last modified Lone Tree Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lone Tree Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top