Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Longmont, CO
Students enrolled: 377
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Central Elementary School 5

Posted December 12, 2014
- a parent
We transferred in mid year during my daughter's kindergarten year. We have a solid year under our belts now, and I can say without a doubt that this is the best fit for us. The atmospere and teachers are top notch!! We adore Central. It should be rated a 10!!

Central Elementary School 5

Posted November 12, 2013
- a parent
This is an amazing school with such community. Our children are led by principles of integrity, action and leadership. Our teachers pursue only the highest standards for all students and help each achieve their goals. Our principal and leader plays a huge role in educational life. Not only does he commit his days but he is at every PTO meeting and every school function as an active participant and volunteer. Our community school program or continuing education classes are awesome. We do Shakespeare in the park, bird watching, running, baseball, community work, made homeless bags this year, dancing, and clubs like MESA, front door garden and lots more. We love Central!!!!! this year we raised 20,000 and donated 25% to flood relief. Action at work.


Central Elementary School 5

Posted November 11, 2013
- a parent
Involved and informed parents, a hands on principal, and top notch teachers make Central a results based school that is focused on producing students who are prepared for the challenges of our progressive and constantly evolving world community. Its International Baccalaureate program promotes and teaches inquiry based, community focused learning for all students. Kids learn to be well rounded, tolerant and thoughtful citizens who have high expectations of themselves and others. Students learn a rigorous curriculum that will prepare them for the advanced learning needs of the 21st century. Visit Central, talk to parents who send their kids there and teachers who work there. You will discover how special a place it is where kids discover, grow and learn about themselves, others and gain the academic and social skills they will need to successfully navigate our global society.

Central Elementary School 4

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
I love attending our neighborhood school by walking or riding bikes (both of which are promoted by the school's Walk and Roll program!). We are also fortunate the school is a recently accredited International Baccalaureate school (Primary Years Programme). The diversity, inquiry based learning, Spanish, and an emphasis on helping others, are all key to our children become well rounded citizens of the world. Technology is present but not a substitute to traditional learning. PE, Art, and Music are all recognized, and the school was also just designated a Green Star Eco school (they compost!). With an active PTO and a versatile before & after school program (along with classes offered through a community school program), this school has it all!

Central Elementary School 4

Posted March 03, 2012
- a parent
Central is what a public elementary should be. The teachers and staff are invested in not only the children but the community and surrounding neighborhood, where many of them live. It is like a community gathering every morning and afternoon, where you can say hello to your neighbors and meet new ones. The curriculum is very challenging but balanced, the introduction of the IB program has been fantastic. The school offers many after school activities, from Star Wars Camp, Lego Builders, UNO Club and even Yoga. The Principal is results oriented and holds all students accountable for their actions, he can be found outside greeting students and parents by name most mornings. The school has fostered a great volunteer program of parents and grand parents. The school creates and fosters lifetime learners. This school has come along way and will continue to improve because it has the right teachers and administrators to make it happen. The low rating will improve, and is highly influenced by the fact that Central is a diverse school and has had distinct challenges other schools in the district have not been faced with.


Central Elementary School 2

Posted February 14, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Central Elementary School 4

Posted October 28, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Central Elementary School 3

Posted October 28, 2009
- a parent
Nice setting, neighborhood school in heavily treed in Old Town Longmont. Exceptional pre-school program (tuition) headed by Kathy Moritz. I was underwhelmed by Kindergarten, where my child and those of others only ever gauges their days by what 'color' they were on some behavior rating chart. My son was bored stif at this school, and rarely challenged academically. Guess that's why they're solidly 'average'.


Central Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
It serves a diverse, multicultural student body and manages with an older, simple brick building.

Central Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
Our son has had a terrific experience at Central and has loved each teacher the most at the end of each year. We have looked at lots of schools, but have found the community and 'feel' of Central to be unmatched in this area.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Central Elementary School
1020 4th Ave, Longmont, CO  80501
(303) 776-3236
Last modified Central Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Central Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top