Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
55 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 95 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Twin Peaks Charter Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
As a Charter School we see our share of Teachers come and go, but the good ones stay. That's not to say we don't get bad ones, of course we do, but we've seen the school take action against bad teachers.....and replace them with good ones.

Twin Peaks Charter Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
The reason I brought my children to Twin Peaks was to be prepared for College. The amount of homework is Challenging but if parents don't want the education that Twin Peaks provides, their are many schools in the area that don't give homework. I'm not trying to be rude......but we all have many choices.....my kids have been prepared for College like they could not have been in any other school.


Twin Peaks Charter Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely.......the school is good about teaching the children that life after Twin Peaks is full of promise. They teach them that through hard work they can achieve all that they want to achieve. Because of this the kids are persistent, have grit and exercise determination in following the path that the school shows them.

Twin Peaks Charter Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
The proof is in the students themselves. The students at Twin Peaks are a pleasure to be around. Respect starts at home and the school is an extension of the home in teaching respect not just for the students themselves, but to others. You will not find that in the majority of the public schools in the Longmont area.

Twin Peaks Charter Academy 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
My two children have been at Twin Peaks since Kindergarten .....one is in 6th grade, and the other is in her first year of High School....and I have been very satisfied with everything about Twin Peaks. The atmosphere at Twin Peaks for both them, and my wife and I as parents, has been way above average. I have friends with children at local Public Schools and although we aren't perfect, we don't have the major issues that they have at thier schools. Twin Peaks is by far the best school in Longmont for our kids and we would recommend it to anyone that wants there kids to be prepared for College....and life in the real world.


Twin Peaks Charter Academy
Grateful to: Parent

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
I would like to thank the wonderful parents of TPCA. These are the parents who govern the school. These parents make policy.These parents are the backbone of our school. As an involved parent volunteer I can say without a doubt our school has the best parents which in turn results in the best kids.

Twin Peaks Charter Academy 5

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
My family has attended Twin Peaks for 8 years. I LOVE this school. The teachers are amazing. The administration is caring. All of the students are really good kids! I love that the school has a wonderful academic program. Band starts in 4th grade. Sports are available from 6th grade through 12th grade; Basketball, volleyball, soccer, track, Fencing, lacrosse, cross country. A full musical each winter and a few plays through the year. It really does have everything. The classes are around 25 kids per class in elementary and middle school and smaller classes are in high school. The small size makes it easy for the kids to get involved in everything!. It is a great school!!!

Twin Peaks Charter Academy 2

Posted August 08, 2015
- a parent
Horrible principal and student teacher ratios. Expect 3 hours of homework a night starting in 2nd grade.


Twin Peaks Charter Academy 3

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
If you had asked me a year ago, I would have said its a great school. However this year, my son's teacher really changed my mind. She punished my son for not finishing his work by placing him in the hallway while the other students had cupcakes and enjoyed a spring break party. I felt that was extremely wrong to do to a 7 year old. She also failed to schedule 3rd and 4th quarter parent/teacher conference with me. As a result I had no idea that my son had received a D on his 3rd quarter report. She also took it upon herself to sign me up for electronic report cards, even though I specifically requested a paper report. The last week of school I found out that my son had been bullied in class by another student. I emailed the teacher only to receive a sarcastic and condescending reply. When I conveyed these issues to the office, I was told my information had been given to the principal. The principal obviously doesn't care, she never responded. needles to say, I'm moving my family to a new school. And I won't be back to Twin Peaks.

Twin Peaks Charter Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
Just to tolerate the administration, the students have to be confident and thick skinned. Great job preparing them for the prejudices of the real world.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Twin Peaks Charter Academy
340 South Sunset St, Longmont, CO  80501
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 95 reviews. (303) 772-7286
Last modified Twin Peaks Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top