Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Longmont Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 266 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Longmont

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $162,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2014

Longmont Christian school is beyond exceptional. The teachers and staff provide support and exceptional learning well above the average school. They take time to help each and every child not only develop exceptionally in Christ's image which includes working to see their challenges through God's eyes. They are loving, kind, and instill exceptional values by modeling them to our kids. I would recommend this school to any parent. For a private school you can do no better for the money and it's very well priced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

The environment in this school is good in many ways. They know how to sell you on this school and make you feel warm and welcome. In two weeks my son was opening up and making great strides in catching up from public school delays. My 5 year old was excited that the bullying had stopped, and he really wanted to learn there. My excitement and hope disappeared the second day. Still on the hook for the $500 total for just 2 weeks, we were turned away. Because my son is behind and *Gasp* yes hyper they don't want him there. So beware when they say that teaching is their ministry, what they mean is that they only see fit to minister to the ultra-pristine righteous children who don't really need the help. To a child who has been failed by public school forget it. Given the entire circumstances of my family and home life, this is not just a major setback it's devastating at this time for us. The single most leading cause of atheism in the country today is Christians who acknowledge God with their lips, and deny him in his lifestyle. Gods ministry is intended not for the pristine but for those who need help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2012

LCS is the school of choice for any family looking for top academics taught from a Christian worldview. The band program is EXCELLENT. The coaches are incredible role models. LCS is not perfect in every area, but over all, it gets a 5-star rating from me! I feel so blessed to have my students attending there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2012

From Pre-K through 12th, this is an amazing school. There has never been another option for my children. Not only have my students received top-notch academics, they have hidden God's word in their hearts. The school has come along side our family and reinforced the values and morals that we have. When we committed our plans to the Lord for our children to receive a Christian education and asked that he provide the funds to make this happen, well, the funds have always been there! As parents, we only get one chance, and I would highly recommend LCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

Longmont Christian is a great school. The staff has a heart for the kids and it shows. Five of my children have graduate from the school and they all have been accepted at the colleges of their choice. The school works hard to prepare the kids for college and life. Wonderful learning environment. Christ is at the center of everything they do!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2010

This is NOT a Christian school- drugs, sex, and alcohol.... Terrible bullying by hateful, spiteful kids. Aweful cliques in students, parents, and staff. There is no standard to which kids must meet to be accepted including a relationship with Christ. This was a terrible experience for our kids and our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2010

I went to LCS for 6 years. I was allowed to be bullied year after year. I watched my friends get bullied also. The parents and teachers did nothing. I still have nightmares. Don't be fooled- it's not this great school they say it is.


Posted June 10, 2010

Before my wife & I picked LCS as our choise, we visited every Christian school in a large aera. As soon as we walked in to LCS, we knew it was the one. Every teacher was smiling and in a good mood. As were the children. We could feel the overpowering pressence of the Holy Spirit, and the joy that comes with Him. Thank you for all you do. We pray for you daily!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2009

I have had two students graduate from this school in 2006 and 2008 and an exchange student attend and graduate in 2007. I cannot tell you how grateful I am to the staff from the teachers to the principal to the office for such an amazing education as well an environment of understanding, compassion, and trust. The friends my sons made at that school will be with them for a long time, the graduating classes are like an extended family, and the teachers love to see the graduates again after several years. I am not sure my sons would have become the men they are without for their attendance at LCS. I am very grateful and would recommend wholeheartedly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

The staff makes this school, they are committed. loving and grace filled. The education is very challenging, but best of all, God reigns at LCS. We loved this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2008

My children have attended LCS for the past 4 years. We visited area charter and private schools before ultimately choosing LCS. LCS offers an outstanding comprehensive education in a nuturing environment with teachers and administration who take ownership in the school and students. I am confident that my children are receiving an excellent didatic education while learning to be productive, critical-thinking individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2008

I am a student at LCS and i love this school. Everybody is so nice and just awsome. The junior high teachers are so nice. I would encourage your children to go here, it is and exellent school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2007

A great school! I would highly recommend it. My son is currently in 1st grade and has attended since kindergarten. Both years he has had the most loving, caring, genuine teachers who were interested in helping him learn and grow. Longmont Christian's curriculum is above the public school in many areas and it is a better fit to continue to challenge my son who both reads and does math at significantly higher than grade level. I also like the structure of Longmont Christian and the discipline that is used. They use a behavior chart and strictly enforce their rules while not being too harsh and of course the character and spiritual development part is wonderful. The tuition is also reasonably affordable. The only area I feel they are lacking is in facilities, specifically a playground with grass, equipment, etc. for the older children and more computers and instruction earlier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2006

Great education, loving atmosphere, wonderful teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2006

We have had children at LCS now for 8 years. Our three children are very happy and are getting a solid education. The administration and teachers are great and we absolutely could not be happier. The kids are in a very safe environment and continue to learn biblical principles and morals. We love Longmont Christian School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2006

Longhmont Christian has been great for both of my kids. My older graduated and had no trouble getting into the college of her choice. They have an intimate setting with teachers that care. They are strong in biblical principles without forcing specific denomination on the kids. This is in check due to the teachers are all from different Christian churches. After 11 years and great experiences, I would say that the community of Longmont Christian School is excellent and would recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2006

My children have attended LCS for the last 9 years. The class size, teacher-student ratio and quality of academics in general keep us coming back. While the sports and extracurricular activities are limited, the opportunities offered truly reflect sportsmanship, team values and respect. The level of security you feel entrusting the safety and welfare of your children to the staff at LCS would be difficult to match anywhere else. Parental involvement and participation is remarkable - there are usually too many volunteers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

my two children loved it at longmont christian school. the teachers and parents try hard for the kids. the art, music, and sports programs are great. my children did well here and were happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

Longmont Christian is a great school. The school has high standards for academics and behavior. My first-grader has seventeen kids in his class, compared to thirty to thirty-five in the Saint Vrain School District, (SVSD). My Son s teacher is an intelligent, gentle, caring, yet firm person, who teaches because she loves teaching and helping kids. She gives the kids loads of individual attention! Tuition is less than half of the $6042, Per Pupil Revenue collected by the SVSD. I am amazed that LCS provides a vastly superior education on less than half the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2006

School starts the kids out well. Can overload kids with knowledge at times and expects a lot from the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 56%
Hispanic 13% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Donnie Bennett
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

550 Coffman Street
Longmont, CO 80501
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 776-3254

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT