Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Longmont, CO
Students enrolled: 547
 

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

12 reviews of this school


Eagle Crest Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2012
- a parent
My daughter (with special needs) has soared at Eagle Crest! The leadership, special ed staff, and her classroom teacher have gone well out of their way to create an amazing learning experience for her! The specials staff is motivational and very talented!

Eagle Crest Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2007
- a parent
My son has is having an amazing year so far, he loves Eagle Crest and his teacher! He is in the 4th grade. Everyday I ask him how his day was and he always says EXCELLENT! In my book that says it all about this school.


Eagle Crest Elementary School 3

Posted February 11, 2007
- a parent
My two sons attended Eagle Crest, one for 1-5th grade and the other for K-2. Eagle Crest's strengths are the friendly and caring community, the experienced and excellent teachers, and the nice facility. The weakness is the curriculum, which lacks history, foreign language, and is short on science. Math and English are strong, as is special ed and gifted education is OK. Gifted education is best at 5th grade where pullout math was offered. Ability grouping in math would help this school retain families that are exiting to charter and private schools. Parent involvement is encouraged. Homework is very weak at Eagle Crest, the kids are capable of so much more, and the school seems to water things down a lot to not bother parents too much. We switched and the kids are doing even better.

Eagle Crest Elementary School 4

Posted September 28, 2006
- a parent
Since the 5th graders were moved to Altona the atmosphere at eagle crest has changed. The basics need of the children are met now the school is safer, less crowded, there are better class ratios and more time for lunch. Combine that with stellar academic performance and dedicated teachers Eagle crest is a great school.It has one of the best principle teams I have ever seen. This school has worked hard to give parents a voice and part in their children's education. With the new elementary school to be built next year Eagle crest is sure to stay uncrowded!!!!!

Eagle Crest Elementary School 4

Posted April 27, 2006
- a parent
Wonderful principal, a bit overcrowded but they're working on that. 'Extras' are great, and they really strive to keep parents involved at all levels.


Eagle Crest Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2006
- a parent
Newer school! Great location, away from busier streets. My child loved his kindergarten teacher. She seemed to have a great connection with all the kids.

Eagle Crest Elementary School 3

Posted August 25, 2005
- a parent
not enought information for the parents, teachers do not explain colorations clearly enough. Too many children in one classroom.

Eagle Crest Elementary School 2

Posted August 21, 2005
- a parent
Eagle Crest's main issue is overcrowding. As a result the teachers are unable to connect to all the children adequately. There were many problems with computers, and lack thereof, outbuildings for 5th graders. My son was in second grade and kids would float in his class through out the year fluctuating the numbers from 26 to 31. My other son's first grade teacher was great, but she was stressed emotionally from all the children and I believe the education suffered. She was supposed to be his teacher for second grade, but she took another position. The curriculum was not challenging enough and when my kids asked for more work, they were basically ignored. This could be a great school, however, the district re-district children from other schools one time and never re-evaluated the detrimental effects that had on the newer Eagle Crest school. There is much unneeded stress on this school. Many kids from Lake Valley go to this school and should have never been pulled from the original school in Niwot. Very poor planning. As a result my kids are going to another school. If your child has special needs, don't expect a lot of help, or sympathy either. They school psycohologist was worthless too and she should not be able to hold the position as important as that.


Eagle Crest Elementary School 3

Posted April 25, 2005
- a parent
Overcrowding is a big problem with this school. The teacher/student ratio for my second grader was too high. Although my daughter was fortunate to have a great teacher for first and second grade, great teachers can only do so much with a lack of resources. There was very poor planning on the part of the district and the city of Longmont. They did not plan properly for the amount of development they approved for this particular school. My two school aged children will not be attending Eagle Crest next year.

Eagle Crest Elementary School 4

Posted April 04, 2005
- a parent
Great school & teachers. Overcrowding is an issue.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eagle Crest Elementary School
4444 Clover Basin Dr, Longmont, CO  80503
(303) 485-6073
Last modified Eagle Crest Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Eagle Crest Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top