Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Longmont, CO
Students enrolled: 1,036
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Silver Creek High School 4

Posted December 07, 2014
- a student
As a former student, '07 grad, I can address some of the issues portrayed by other reviews. Overall I very much enjoyed my time at SC, I was active in sports, student government and several honors/AP classes. This did prepare me for college, but as another review alluded to, you have to put in the work and can't expect things to be handed to you. My parents did look at Niwot (IB program) as an alternative. I had several friends at Niwot and although they have a more rigorous curriculum, I'm not sure it better prepared them for college when compared to honors and AP courses at SC. There is a diverse range of socioeconomic backgrounds and I never found this to be a problem, in fact it really helped to make me more aware of people from other backgrounds. Do realize that your student could fall into what we called the "Boulder County Bubble" basically thinking that eveywhere is white, upper class, well educated and outdoorsy. It took me going to college out of state to realize this. Not necessarily a bad thing but do be aware that this exists at SC, Niwot, and Dawson. Only thing I would change is a bigger selection of AP courses as this would make more comparable to Niwot.

Silver Creek High School 5

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
My daughter started at Silver Creek HS in her Junior year after having a terrible experience at another local HS. Silver Creek truly prepares our students for college and beyond. She graduated with honors and has a full tuition scholarship in college. Great teachers, great students and an all around wonderful school.


Silver Creek High School 5

Posted January 06, 2013
- a student
I went to this school for 4 years, and I couldn't have had a better experience! Mr. Burns and Ms. Scott and others like them truly made going to school a worth while experience. At SC they care for their students and take the time to get to know each one. After I graduated, they still cared about me. When I was in a very bad car crash, they raised money for me to help with medical bills. I do miss this school, and if I had to redo high school, I would do it at Silver Creek.

Silver Creek High School 5

Posted February 28, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Silver Creek High School 5

Posted February 23, 2010
- a student
I love this schooll!!!!!! Its the best school in the world!!! Gooo SC Raptors!!! All d way!!!!


Silver Creek High School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a student
I love all my friends there and all the freedom! And the teachers!

Silver Creek High School 0
no rating

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
The programs it offers and how safe the school is. I honestly feel like Silver Creek is a second home for me as a student. All the teachers are dedicate to their subjects and know how to interact with their pupils. Going to Silver Creek is an amazing experience for me.

Silver Creek High School 5

Posted September 21, 2008
- a student
This school has some of the best teachers around. I always love their classes and they always seem to love their job. Great job.


Silver Creek High School 0
no rating

Posted April 06, 2008
- a student
im a student that goes to this school and i really don't like it the security level is too high and i really don't think anything really accually bad would happen around here...and the teachers are really not very good except for maybe 1 or 2. i havent even learned very much this year and its been almost a full year of skool.

Silver Creek High School 5

Posted February 16, 2008
- a parent
High academic, caring teachers, small enough for every child to fit in, good athletic programs

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Silver Creek High School
4901 Nelson Rd, Longmont, CO  80503
(720) 494-3721
Last modified Silver Creek High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Silver Creek High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top