Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain Peak Private School

Private | PK-6 | 62 students

We are best known for individualized curriculum.
 
 

 

Living in Longmont

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $162,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 5, 2007

Our son learned more in three days at Mountain Peak than he did in three months at his old school(public). The individualized reading and math are terrific. The discipline is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2007

My daughter attends the 4 year old preschool and Loves it! She is already reading! I have assisted a couple of times, but it was by no means mandatory to do so. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2006

Finding the right school for our daughter was one of the most important decisions we have ever made. Our daughter was reading and writing before we entered her in Mountain Peak's Pre-K program. As we researched schools for Preschool and Kindergarten, we were told that the public school system would be spending the entire Kindergarten year just learning the sounds of the alphabet, and they wouldn't be able to give her advanced work because of the number of students they have to accommodate...unacceptable. Mountain Peak assured us that our daughter would be able to continue to learn at her individual level and rate. As the preschool year moved along, she was given every opportunity promised. Before the preschool year ended, our daughter tested in the gifted/talented category and was reading at a high third grade level. We challenge any public preschool or Kindergarten program to produce those kinds of results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2006

I have been imporessed with the personal attention given every student. The teachers are highly qualified and instill in the students the will to learn. Anyone standing by the doors at the end of the day will see the students, parents, teachers and staff talking over that day and what is coming up next. They will also see the children hovering around the teaching staff not wanting the day to end. This school has not just taken the responibility of teaching our children, it has assumed the daunting task of becoming one of the family. You won't find a better school for grades K thru 6. When you plant seeds, they not only need nutrition (education) and watering (teaching): to really blossom, they need the Sunshine (warmth of the teaching staff). Plant your children here and watch them blossom. Larry Crehore
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2006

Mountain Peak appears to be quite a good school at first. All staff are courteous and express their concern for student happiness and academic success. My personal experience is that this is not a continuing attitude toward either parent or child. The younger grades seem to be the focus of the school, while the elementary children receive far less in terms of positive communication or academic challenge. Maybe a good school for little ones...needs serious evaluation regarding elementary grades. Not at all pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2006

Small, family-type atmosphere. Individual attention for each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2005

Mountain Peak has been such a positive experience for our son, D. This is his second year of preschool and we plan on having him attend kindergarten as well. The commitment of staff working with parent and child to support the ever evolving process of a young child s mind is a joy to be a part of. We look forward to being a part of the school family as it grows, and are confident our son will be supported in his intellectual and creative development. Doug and Lori Hewitt
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2005

Looking for an outstanding learning environment with a top notch staff? Your search is over! Mountain Peaks Private School has provided our pre-schooler with the individualized attention he deserves while cultivating creativity and instilling a greater self confidence. All this with close attention to the traditions and important disciplines of life. We value the physical education provided every day. A healthy and strong body is imperative to the development of a self starting mind. Parents are hands on, working closely with the staff as well as each other resulting in a comfortable, family-like setting for all. Give your little person the best start possible-enroll today!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2005

Our daughter (who just turned five) attends Mountain Peak, and we believe the school is simply fantastic. We couldn't be more impressed with the quality of the school, the staff, and the education she receives. Steve and Brenda Hoffman
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2004

I love the family-like environment at Mt. Peak Private School. The atmosphere is one of caring and respect. My son gets all the individual attention he needs and can learn at his own pace however fast or slow that may be. He loves his teacher. He really has fun. I couldn't be happier with the school and neither could my son!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2004

This is our 2nd year at MPPS. We (and our daughter) love it. Ms. Dunlap is the best! She gives individualized attention to the students, is very creative and knows how to keep the kids' attention. The entire school is like one big family!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 56%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 32%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:45 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Tom Buckett
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (720) 494-7594

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Many of our students test in the top 10% in the nation. Basis reading composite: 44% in top 10%, 91% above grade level, 100% at or above grade level. Reading Comprehension: 63% in top 10%, 94% above grade level, 100% at or above grade level. Mathematics composite: 34% in top 10%, 84% above grade level, 94% at or above grade level. Written expression: 50% in top 10%, 78% above grade level, 88% at or above grade level. 63% of students are more than a year above grade level in reading and 41% are more than a year above grade level in Math.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
62
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
63

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$2000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
ACE Scholarship

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Altona Middle School
Westview Middle School
Twin Peaks Charter Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1833 Sunset Place
Suite E-F
Longmont, CO 80501
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 494-1622

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT