Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Alpine Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
Our sons teacher ms Debbie is so nice and super awesome our son respects her and loves her to death

Alpine Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
My son is in pre school so not a whole lot of homework coming home


Alpine Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
My son is being taught to share be polite fair and respectful Which we already do at home

Alpine Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
My son is attending pre school at alpine for the 2015-2016 school year and although I've heard a lot of negativity about the school id have to say as a newer parent I love this place my son has fun and loves going to school everyday he gets so excited to see his teacher ms Debbie and her assistant ms Nicole he comes home happy everyday and I feel he is learning fast and at a quality pace I have nothing but positive thoughts of the school so far

Alpine Elementary School 1

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
The front desk at Alpine Elementary is rude, there's one lady in particular that puts her nose where it doesn't belong. The teachers are all amazing, the school itself is wonderful. It's just the rude front desk lady that needs know that she is dealing with human beings.


Alpine Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are great, it's the front office that treats people like scum. If your student is tardy or absent one day these people treat you like the enemy.

Alpine Elementary School 4

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
I have two kids here. We moved here from CA a few months ago. I was apprehensive to send my kids here because of the grade, we're use to 9/10 schools. Though, I have been impresses with the extracurricular classes CA schools have either done away with or reduced. Both my children love the IB/STEM programs and Mr. Axel! They have music, art, P.E., and Spanish weekly sometimes twice, depends on rotation. The staff has been welcoming and very friendly. Some of the classroom work has been repetitive, my children had done some of the work in last years grade or earlier before we moved. Overall, i am happy I chose this school (our home school) as opposed to another. I am looking forward to next year. (3rd/5th grades)

Alpine Elementary School 2

Posted March 10, 2014
- a parent
This school is on a downturn. I have been involved at Alpine as a parent helper and volunteer almost since the year it opened and feel like the quality of the school has greatly declined. None of my children will be attending Alpine any more. I have to agree that, in spite of the efforts of some great teachers, the overall "vibe" in the school has lost the fun and enthusiasm that it used to have. The stress of STEM, IB, TCAP tests, and a stern administration have taken their toll and taken the fun right out of learning for the students.


Alpine Elementary School 2

Posted November 07, 2013
- a parent
I have been tied to the SVVSD for over 25 years, both as a student and now as a parent. I have been through great schools and I have been through the not so great. To me, Alpine falls far below what I consider a 'great' school. Multiple great teachers have left the school in the last few years. I can't help but chalk it up to the NO FUN atmosphere that the principal has enstilled. When you walk into a Kindergarten classroom, it isn't full of joy and giggles. It is full of little kids sitting at tables and doing work. (The training of perfect little testers) The school does absolutely nothing, to make these kids enjoy school. Even the 'Fun Run' was disappointing. The one time in the year they could have done somethjng exciting for the kids, they failed. The run consisted of running around a circle 20 times... The prizes were just as sad. It gave my children no desire to even raise money. An example of a prize... Staying after school and playing with bubbles! Wow! It is unfortunate but we will be leaving Alpine in search of a more engaging educational environment. Ask any teacher in the district what they think of Alpine Elementary. Guaranteed it won't be positive.

Alpine Elementary School 5

Posted December 13, 2012
- a parent
It has a good plan for high achieving students in classroom setting. I like the monthly character piece that goes with the IP program. I like as a parent I know what the units of inquiry are. The music program is strong and my children have to demonstrate their learning to me yearly.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alpine Elementary School
2005 Alpine Street, Longmont, CO  80504
(720) 652-8140
Last modified Alpine Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Alpine Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top