Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Altona Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 636 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 21, 2014

My school Altona I went to Altona for my last year of middle school and I loved it. It was much challenging then my last school was. I also, thought that the special ed department was very helpful to me. They had awesome teachers. And at the time I was there awesome vice principal but they have a new vice principal. The counclors were so nice they would talk to you about what you need to talk about. They also had less bullying if any then my other school. I love it I wish I went to Altona for all 3 years. Go Rattlers!!! I also like how the motto was don't tread on me. I love the whole school.


Posted September 26, 2013

What I want people to know is that Altona is riding on the fact that it has upscale students who would succeed anywhere. The environment is toxic and the teachers are belittling and mean. Students learn despite huge class sizes and mean, uncaring teachers who are unhappy and take it out on the students. If I knew then what I know now, I would not have started my child at Altona. Trying to communicate with the teachers or the administration is an exercise in frustration. They do not answer phone messages or e-mails. The parking lot is an utter nightmare at arrival and dismissal. The only program worth anything there is music. The rest in mediocre at best. If you value a nurturing environment or communication with your child's teachers, do not send your child to Altona
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

First let me begin by saying this is a great school and the scores speak for themselves. This is the stand out school in a mediocre district. The culture is very supportive and focuses on conflict resolution as it relates to bullying which is critical this day and age. Now for the "Don't Tread On Me" review and a history lesson. The school formed in 2006 and the Gadsden flag and its statement goes back to 1751 and Ben Franklin. 2009 is when the Tea Party decided to use the flag as their rally call. Before you inappropriately rate a school because of your ignorance and ideology, learn your history and rate a school on their achievements and culture. Take a look at their Facebook page and see the 10 minute Whitehouse.gov video of the 2011 8th graders meeting one-on-one with Pres. Obama that rarely happens. Diversity is a hallmark of this country. Don't let some extremist, closed-minded left winger that chooses to remain uninformed dissuade you from being a part of a great school. A well rounded school that doesn't change its history or founding principals because of another group's use of a flag and motto shows character and conviction. I chose that example for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2013

Did anyone ever ask? Why is the Rattlesnake the school mascot? For that answer click on 'Don't tread on me' on the schools website page and go to the Gadsden.info link. You are in for a surprise you might want to have a 'Tea Party' about! Just not okay for a public school!!!!!!! I would rate it a negative 10 if I could.


Posted September 1, 2011

This a a great school. Both of my daughters attended Altona in the past. I cannot imagine a better expereince. Principal is wonderful. He holds his teachers and students to high standards, but also seems very supportive. Altona has a great community feel. Students seem proud to be a part of it and confident in their belonging. Teachers are very professional and knowledge in educating young adolescents. I have volunteered in the past and have never seen any bullying. Can't say enought good things about this place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2011

I love Altona.... Im so sad this is my last year at Altona. But i loved my experience. SO I would so go to altona. Like im not joking....... They dont give too much homework. they dont give too much schoolwork. ALtona is awesome. GO RATTLERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Posted June 16, 2009

Altona is such a great school. The teachers and staff are helpful and encouraging. The principal, (an ex-marine) is strict but nice, kind, and funny. The students are kept on track with their homework by Homework Club if they fall behind so you can't get away with not finishing homework and you get to have a nice chat with the vice principal if you don't go. Way to go Altona! Rattler Pride!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2008

Going to this school prepared me so well for high school. Last year was so easy because I knew exactly how to handle high school. Thank you!


Posted May 19, 2008

I love this school. The teachers are great, and so are the academics. The administration is the best I've ever seen. We will miss you Mr. Barnett!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2008

It is an awsome school the teachers are great they teach you so much and there is still fun so its a good skool as far as kids and adults are conserned the music progam is great
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 13, 2008

I love this school but I would love to do more work in school than at home
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2008

I've attended Altona Middle school since 5th grade and i've loved it! I'm in 6th grade now and i think all of my teachers are great. Parents are very involved and bullying us not much of a problem! This school is great!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2007

I like that everyone is so available for my child. It is so nice that the counselor is available to help my child. I love that my child feels comfortable talking to her and is allowed to. She is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

Very great school, Friendly teachers. My kid loves the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

I attended Altona Middle Schoolin 7th grade, and I can't wait for 8th grade there! The teachers are great, and the school equipment, and building is all new, so it's up to date, and it really is a great tool for making the school an overall better place. I am a straight A student, and I think that one of the reasons my grades were so high was because of the excellent teachers and lessons. I felt very welcome there, even though I had just moved into the area. I also think that Altona does a great job with disipline. I am grateful that they offer a program 'open enrollment' allowing students to attend, even if they don't live in Longmont. Altona doesn't have a deadline either for enrollment. Overall, I really love this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2007

Altona is a great school, and the principal and teachers are very good. I haven't had any experience with bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2007

The school academics are top notch, the teachers are excellent, the parents are very active, but the administration is too tolerant of serious behavioral issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

Altona has a fantastic academic program, including advanced classes in most subjects. They will also work with you on your musical ability. Parents are extremely involved!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2007

Altona is the best school ever. there is an enourmous amount of parent help,academic programs, and extracurricular activities! I love Altona!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2007

This school looks good on paper, but reality is a far different picture. Bullying is an issue in this building.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female85%
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian96%
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligible49%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)29%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Reading

All Students90%
Female94%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian95%
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)38%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Writing

All Students78%
Female85%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian95%
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligible47%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)19%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female79%
Male85%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian88%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Reading

All Students90%
Female93%
Male87%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian96%
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant90%

Writing

All Students88%
Female93%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian96%
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female80%
Male80%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligible51%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%

Reading

All Students88%
Female91%
Male85%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Science

All Students73%
Female72%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%

Writing

All Students83%
Female88%
Male79%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible62%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 56%
Hispanic 13% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:25
School end time
  • 3:25
School Leader's name
  • Joseph R. Mehsling

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4600 Clover Basin Dr
Longmont, CO 80503
Phone: (720) 494-3980

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT