Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Flagstaff Charter Academy

Charter | PK-8 | 815 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 13 ratings
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

85 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 11, 2013

Flagstaff Academy is a great school which is maturing from a pioneer to an institution. Students and parents are actively involved in everything - classroom, extracurricular - and teachers and adminstrators pay close attention to test scores as the basis for performance measures. The review below which indicates that FA cares less about the welfare of the kids than test scores is unfair. Administrators are in the process of transitioning on a number of fronts and test scores are a measurement that is valuable. The school absolutely does not discourage parental involvement, that is the complete opposite of my experience. What I've experienced is my son learned how to read, has become much better at math than I have at this age, and has developed a group of close friends. If anything, the school attempts to communicate too much info, and solicit too much parental involvement. But I'd rather too much than too little. Our experience with Flagstaff has been excellent, and I hope if you are looking for an early education which is hands on, disciplined, involved then this would be an excellent school to consider for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

This school is a huge disappointment! I would think long and hard before enrolling in this school. Teachers are too young and inexperienced and admistration is lazy and discourages any sort of parent involement. Grades are slipping and the administration thinks being average is great. If you are alright with spening a fortune in tutoring your child on the side then go ahead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

Flagstaff Academy is falling behind from a few years back. The adminstration is more concerned with the testing scores than the welfare of the children. They discourage parent involment and there is a lack of communication. Too much pressure on the children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

Are you a quirky, nerdy, or very silly kid? If yes, FA is the school for you. FA nurtures and cherishes the curious child. Expect to get dirty and maybe a little chocolatey in Science class. You might NOT be asked to write many "descriptive" stories, but expect to write quite a few "creepy" and "juicy" ones. Math homework is a breeze with the new online tutorials that correspond with each lesson. Walk into FA, and look for the student-made stain glass window, worthy of a Baroque cathedral and a massive stone Aztec sun calendar towering overhead. Don't be alarmed by power outages or levitating balls, or worms and lizards, or tepees and Chinese dragons. It's kind of crazy at FA, but it's rich with learning and happy children. After five full wonderful years, we could not be happier or more satisfied with the education and the environment that FA has provided for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

Flagstaff provides a top-notch education. I had 2 kids transfer in last year. One was behind grade level, and the teacher & Intervention Specialist did amazing work encouraging her and help her meet realistic expectations. This year she is caught up and no longer on an ILP. Most importantly, her self-esteem has soared! Her teacher this year is absolutely wonderful, very cheerful & encouraging. I have been impressed by the principal Mr. Moore, the middle school staff, the middle school admin, Dr. Warren & Mr. Pugh. A good team all around. I have been especially pleased with how well trained the kids are in doing research projects, starting at the youngest grades. Honestly, I have been impressed with all the teaching staff that I have interacted with, which has been a lot of them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2012

I have a first grade student and a 7th grade student attending Flagstaff. This is our first year at the school and have been so very pleased with the school. The teachers, staff and leadership are all outstanding and truly go above and beyond. My 7th grader has struggled with math and reading for which we are finally seeing positive growth and results. Thank you Flagstaff!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2012

Moving our kids to this school has been the best decision we have made. The school culture is one of kindness and respect. The curriculum is excellent and the teachers are engaging. We love the amazing work our kids are doing at such a young age. I wish more children would have the opportunity to be exposed to this type of education. Thank you Flagstaff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2012

Disappointed! This year I have made a tremendous effort to drive my child all the way to this open enrollment school but my child has fell behind academically in language arts and in other areas. There are boys at the school who are emotionally disturbed and they harass the other children. This behavior is well tolerated by the teachers and leaders of the school. At one point my child was hit in the head by a sixth grade boy and when this was communicated to the assistant principal my child was told that that boy is 'angry today' as though that is a perfectly good reason to be have hit in the head. There aren't consequences and my child has experienced multiple bullying attacks. The communication within the school is unacceptable. The school doesn't welcome open communication and reprimands you for contacting them to report and discuss important safety issues. Maybe one problem is that the school is too large? and so they drop the ball. I would avoid St. Vrain School district If possible. They're hot lunches are terrible although that seems so minor in comparison to serious safety problems that are ignored at St. Vrain schools and this charter school is no exception.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2012

I am one of the students from Flagstaff Academy and is currently an 8th grader. Even for just a student, I've experienced the school much longer and know it pretty well. These past (almost) 6 years, I came here, one year after the school opened. For me, I think if I were given a higher chance of rating scale (1-10) I would have given this school a 7.5 to 8/10. And here are some of the reasons why, First of all, not all the adults are bad. Yes, some were to the point where I despised them. However, ever since I arrived in Middle School (which was my first year at the new building) they have all left. Second, I've experienced all the principals. I do like the 3rd one better. Third, dress code isn't too good. First few years, no one really cared. Now in MS, it's a horror. Given write ups for the most small things or not given one at all, when you're wearing the most out of dress code things. Lastly, I can totally agree that the school jumps the curriculum way ahead. I am actually 1 year ahead of my math, 3 years head of my Spanish and is learning HS leveled L.A. They do give too much homework, but it's only because if you're going to take (IB) in HS, they want you to be ready.


Posted January 27, 2012

Great school for my children, thanks to the group of dedicated teachers, who go above and beyond everyday. They are the true heros.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2012

I am a new to the school with a sixth grader. So far I really like it but more importantly my child really likes it. It seems that there are a lot of friendly children and so far haven't experienced any problems. My child has made a lot of friends and is challenged by the work but not stressed. Some highlights include Spanish class and Horticulture class. It was also an easy transition from a waldorf/art school for elementary. The only negative so far is driving everyday from Boulder but If you live in Longmont definitely worth checking out and open enrolling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2011

I have been a part of FCA since the first year it was open. Both of my children have had wonderful teachers, I do not question their class selection process. I do not have "gifted" students, but both are challenged at FCA. We have never had too much homework, if they don't get their work done in class then they bring it home. If students are making wise use of their time, they shouldn't have more than 30 min a night with the occasional extra projects. The teachers ask that the parents let their children do the work, if parents want a project they can have their own separate one. I have dealt with some discipline issues with my kids and felt they were handled appropriately. There are bullies everywhere, FCA tries to work with them to turn the behavior around. There have been three principals over the 6 years and all have dealt with things differently. Much has improved over time as with any business. FCA has it's share of "Sped kids" and although I don't have one of my own, I know several that are and are worked with as the District provides support for. I would recommend this or any charter school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2011

My children attended Flagstaff for two years until we relocated out of state. I realized once we left how truly unique and special a school it was that challenged my children to do their very best. We ended up relocating back two years later and I am so glad that they are back at Flagstaff and thriving in a creative, challenging, and fun environment. I would and do recommend this school to anyone looking for a school that challenges kids at all levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2011

My two children attended Flagstaff Academy. One from grade 3-5 and the other grade 6 only. I got to experience all three principals at this school, including the founding principal, the second principal and the current principal, and found the current principal to be the best leader, although younger than the other two. The curriculum in content rich. The teachers are less well trained that SVVSD public school teachers, but usually do a good job. There is some politics and bullying but not tremendously worse than Longmont public schools. The music program in the middle school is not as focused on performance as the regular public middle schools. The middle school math curriculum pushes kids ahead too much, without considering what the local high schools offer for math. Still the content in art and music for elementary school is outstanding. There is a bit too much discipline and homework for some kids, especially K-2, but we were at a different school for those grades. There is some politics with board member children that tended to affect how discipline was enforced in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2011

A charter school is parent -run. That is the beauty of it. So if a couple of "pushy" parents join the school board and start demanding accelerated classes, ability grouping, STEM, and a balanced budget, than more power to them. I am so proud of the successes I have witnessed at this school. FA students are grade levels ahead in Math, Reading, Writing, Science and History. We certainly don't do their homework. What an insult to all of our children who work so hard. The Principal works long hours. He is smart, kind, and committed. The teachers are so dedicated to FA, they send their own kids there. The teachers and students appear happy. My children transferred from a private school 4 years ago. My perception was the private school principal favored wealthy parents. The private school held my children back. They had to work alone in workbooks, while the teacher taught to the lowest level in her class. This doesn't happen at Flagstaff, where they are grouped with other students at their level, even if it is a grade up. I genuinely believe the teachers and administrators care about our children. They do care when a child is bullied. The discipline policy is fairly enforced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2011

My 2 kids attended Flagstaff for 2 years. We moved to another state so we had to leave this wonderful school. My experience was very positive. Most of the teachers are wonderful, one of them was a bit inexperienced, but still pretty good. They have an excellent science focus and ability grouping across the entire grades for math and phonics. The teachers we had were very good, enthusiatic, motivated and caring. There was great parent involvement and there were parents volunteers every day in the classroom (And several of them!). The people at the front desk are friendly and have an amazing memory, they know the names of all the students (just amazing). Great communication from the principal through their website, email blasts, and lots of email from their teachers. Some of the teachers would email the parents mailing list every day with news about the classroom. The new school we are in is quite average, and now we realize how wonderful Flagstaff was. Kudos to Flagstaff and I hope they are able to maintain and improve on their already amazing performance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

The teachers are enthusiastic and love the kids. My kids are challenged and are doing well. What more could I ask for? Prior to Flagstaff they attended private school and they are now getting a superior education! All the teachers I have had contact with have never been anything other than courteous and professional. As for the school constantly losing pupils? Try telling that to several of my friends who are on the waiting list! Safety issues? I personally think the businesses are being unrealistic and have obviously never driven by any school at end of day! The 'Flagstaff kids' are no worse than other kids, they're kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

This school really is amazing. The CORE knowledge curriculum is fantastic, and yes, the expectations are high for students, but the work put out by the students more than surpasses work I've seen at other schools. My child loves this school, the teachers, the atmosphere, the curriculum, the activities- it is a fun and enlightened place to learn, and I am sorry we wasted years at another high performing school in St Vrain Valley (Niwot Elem). FCA does have its share of bullies and bad behavior, as does any school, but the way it is handled is light years ahead of the previous school we attended and is absolutely not tolerated. There is no pressure, whatsoever, to contribute money or be a member of the board. The elitism spoken of in previous reviews is completely unfounded. You can volunteer as much or as little as you want with no reprecussions from any parent, staff member or board member. The thing about FCA is that people WANT to be involved- it is that kind of community. I highly recommend this school for an active and involved learner with a family who wants to be a part of a school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

Look long & hard at this school. Ask questions about the anti-bullying policy. If your child is a special needs child, ask what services will be provided and what won't. Know what you're getting into & don't just buy into the bells and whistles of the school. Our daughter spent four years at FCA before we realized we were *never* going to get the support from the admin., the "special ed. dept.", or from the teachers, that we were initially (& every year after) told she was going to receive. In four years, social and academic progress were at a snail's pace & 1/2 of her teacher's were out of line & spoke to her with disrespect, bordering on contempt. (I wish we would've recognized it at the time). This school is probably okay if your child falls within FCA's "norms". If not, look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

I am a parent of a student who attended Flagstaff for all three years of middle school and just finished the first semester at a St. Vrain high school in honors classes with a 4.0 average. I have to save the success in high school is despite the terrible 8th grade year (2009-2010) when the administration and others in charge appeared to be totally unbalanced. At Flagstaff in the 8th grade year my child was belittled, bullied, accused of ridiculous misbehaviors, excluded from many activities, received grades obviously lower than what others did for the same work and I was treated with rudeness and contempt when I tried to address these problems. Sad to say the same administration remains in effect at Flagstaff. I've been amused to read about the publicity stunt that was staged with parents supposedly camping out in the cold in December to make sure their students were able to enroll for next year when the reality is Flagstaff is spending money in ads in local papers this January begging parents to enroll their students.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female75%
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Reading

All Students96%
Female98%
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch97%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant96%

Writing

All Students73%
Female70%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female82%
Male80%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%

Reading

All Students91%
Female89%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant91%

Writing

All Students75%
Female74%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female86%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%

Reading

All Students84%
Female88%
Male80%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Science

All Students66%
Female66%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant66%

Writing

All Students75%
Female85%
Male62%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female76%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Reading

All Students94%
Female97%
Male91%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant94%

Writing

All Students78%
Female87%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female76%
Male87%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Reading

All Students95%
Female97%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant95%

Writing

All Students90%
Female94%
Male87%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female82%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Reading

All Students94%
Female95%
Male92%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant94%

Science

All Students82%
Female87%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Writing

All Students84%
Female92%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 56%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Hispanic 6% 32%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A41%
Male 50%N/A51%
Female 50%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2040 Miller Dr.
Longmont, CO 80501
Phone: (303) 651-7900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT