Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
104 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 158 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Flagstaff Charter Academy
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted December 14, 2015
- a parent
The cliquish administration seems to treat people somewhat rudely- to the "NO RUNNING" when they get out of school and are excited; to the crossing guard who doesn't think adults are capable of crossing without his supervision

Flagstaff Charter Academy
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted December 14, 2015
- a parent
I think that some students get away with behavior problems especially if they are labeled with a problem- all the kids should be subjected to the same expectations


Flagstaff Charter Academy 5

Posted December 14, 2015
- a parent
Raising tomorrow's successful leaders. I'm proud to have my daughter in a school I can be involved in. This administration needs someone objective to run the school, instead of the clique that is in there now. Front staff that have been there awhile are comfortable being rude and getting away with it. The teachers are doing great, despite the constraints of the ridiculous core curriculum that America realizes is a disaster

Flagstaff Charter Academy 1

Posted December 06, 2015
- a parent
There are a close group of administrators, board members, and parents that promote each other and cover up unethical behaviors. They have driven every last respectable teacher and two principals away. Those remaining, including the new principal, don't know anything about educating children.

Flagstaff Charter Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
All brand new teachers with no experience. They hire this way on purpose so they can train them the FSA way. Not a good plan


Flagstaff Charter Academy
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
No they do not beleive in homework. Actually went to a seminar on why homework is a waste of time. I do not think it is a waste of time and want to keep track of what my child is doing in school. I do not trust this school to challenge my child.

Flagstaff Charter Academy
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
How could they? They only teach at grade level. When the children are not challenged they become bored and lack drive.

Flagstaff Charter Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
No, they favor the wealty families. They do not treat all chldren the same. Stay Away.


Flagstaff Charter Academy 5

Posted December 02, 2015
- a community member
I am so happy that we switched schools to Flagstaff Academy! My child comes home absolutely happy and excited every day. Charter schools in St.Vrain differ from public schools mainly in parent involvement, curriculum, and character education. Coming from someone who has first hand experience working in a competing charter school in the same district and has a background in education, I was weary at first because I had seen how too much parent involvement can become ugly. I do however love the Core Knowledge curriculum and decided to pay a visit to Flagstaff last school year. I was very impressed with what I had seen with my own eyes. My daughter never really had specific issues at her previous school but didn't seem excited. I took her also on a tour of Flagstaff and let her make the choice. She completed her school year at her previous school and ultimately chose to leave. She is learning so much at Flagstaff and is thriving. Her teacher has had great communication with myself as well as all classroom parents, keeping us very informed with weekly update emails. I recommend Flagstaff every chance I get and I always suggest a first-hand tour. It's not a smart choice to rely solely on hear-say!

Flagstaff Charter Academy 5

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
We've had a wonderful experience at Flagstaff. I have two kids and we've been at the school for 6 years. Love it. Can't recommend it more.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Flagstaff Charter Academy
1841 Lefthand Circle, Longmont, CO  80501
(303) 651-7900
Last modified Flagstaff Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Flagstaff Charter Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 158 reviews. Top