Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
104 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 161 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Flagstaff Charter Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
Second grade teacher Mr. Hamilton made a huge difference this year in increasing our child's confidence, academics (across the board), and love of learning. He is a real treasure.

Flagstaff Charter Academy 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Fabulous caring teachers; fantastic communications with teachers, daily if needed; strong emphasis on developing social skills and emotional intelligence; an environment where kids can feel safe if they make a mistake; strong after school program with lots of supervision; lots of fun activities.


Flagstaff Charter Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
3rd grade teacher, Jennifer Gianetti, is a kind and warm-hearted teacher. She is welcoming and patient with the children and parents

Flagstaff Charter Academy 1

Posted May 02, 2016
- a parent
To misquote Star Wars, "This is not the school you're looking for". Years we have spent here and the promised education we have been supporting has not materialized. All my volunteer hours, money, physical donations and time has been spent trying to make this a better place and the board has laughed in my face. Appointing a principal and head school (what's Mr. Graingers title again?) with no education degrees, and in one case, no experience. The school refuses to admit that the lower test scores might not be because of curriculum but because of a constant stream of sweet but inexperienced teachers. When I received the email this week that a group of teachers AND parents reviewed a new reading curriculum, That was the final straw. What do parents have to say about a school curriculum?!?! We should defer to the professionals but unfortunately there is no education leader here and the one they FINALLY hired will be too late for my kids. Adios Flagstaff. The $500 inactivity fees I used to pay will go for Kumon this summer to get my kids caught up for public school (oh and thanks for excluding my kids to the field trip also, it made their decision to leave much easier). Also notice the school has not received the "John Irwin Award" since 2012 (and award given to schools that demonstrate excellent academic achievement). Oh, and you will hear the term "very vocal" when referring to parents who criticize the problems with the school. I heard it over and over and it is mainly used by members of the administration to down play the issues. Ask yourself this, why don't other schools have other similarly "vocal" parents? Where are those reviews on those school sites? They are non - existent. Don't take my word for it, read the reviews of other local schools. Update: My kids are thriving in their new schools. They are challenged in math (finally!!) and EVERYONE goes on the school field trips, no exclusions. Oh, and I didn't have to pay a large fee to start the school year...two thumbs up for local, public schools! Update 2: My oldest son just emailed me to let me know that although he started middle school significantly behind in Math, he just tested (after 8 months in public school) and is now TWO grades ahead of where he needs to be in Math. Thank you St. Vrain public schools for giving my son the Math curriculum and experienced teachers that he needs.

Flagstaff Charter Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted May 02, 2016
- a parent
The administration does not allow for the teachers to be effective. The curriculum (esp math) is constantly found to insufficient and changes year after year. The students suffer.


Flagstaff Charter Academy 1

Posted May 02, 2016
- a parent
We came to Flagstaff Academy years ago with excitement. We are leaving disappointed and worried about our kids future. In a nutshell, Flagstaff is a charter school and pays the teachers lower than surrounding public school. The teacher turnover here is overwhelming (2/4 of the fourth grade teachers left within the first month of school during the 2014-1015 year alone). My kids are on their third music teacher, second science lab teacher, second PE teacher and all of them have had too many first year teachers. When looking at other elementary schools to move to, I found out that Flagstaff Academy students who have left are behind in writing and math. The math program here is sadly behind most other elementary schools in Longmont. They employ a system that is neither scientifically sound or logical. They are making it up as they go along and our kids suffer. They also enacted a system this year where only certain kids are invited to go on field trips. Remember your "activity fees" go to pay for field trips, so if your student isn't selected your money goes to pay for others...no refunds. My suggestion, work within your neighborhood school don't waste your time here.

Flagstaff Charter Academy
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted December 14, 2015
- a parent
The cliquish administration seems to treat people somewhat rudely- to the "NO RUNNING" when they get out of school and are excited; to the crossing guard who doesn't think adults are capable of crossing without his supervision

Flagstaff Charter Academy
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted December 14, 2015
- a parent
I think that some students get away with behavior problems especially if they are labeled with a problem- all the kids should be subjected to the same expectations


Flagstaff Charter Academy 5

Posted December 14, 2015
- a parent
Raising tomorrow's successful leaders. I'm proud to have my daughter in a school I can be involved in. This administration needs someone objective to run the school, instead of the clique that is in there now. Front staff that have been there awhile are comfortable being rude and getting away with it. The teachers are doing great, despite the constraints of the ridiculous core curriculum that America realizes is a disaster

Flagstaff Charter Academy 1

Posted December 06, 2015
- a parent
There are a close group of administrators, board members, and parents that promote each other and cover up unethical behaviors. They have driven every last respectable teacher and two principals away. Those remaining, including the new principal, don't know anything about educating children.

Nearby schools

Flagstaff Charter Academy
2040 Miller Drive, Longmont, CO  80501
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 161 reviews. (303) 651-7900
Last modified Flagstaff Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top