Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Monarch High School

Public | 9-12 | 1522 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 1, 2014

So far I am not impressed with this school. They appear to have a dearth of character. The football program is full of favoritism and the coaches bully the students, string them along, and don't care if they get hurt. I would not recommend it. It's no wonder the school continues to decrease in rankings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2014

I love this school! It's a great fit for me, and it has a wide variety of programs to make it a great fit for others as well. I feel very welcomed, and the community and teachers are definitely helping me excel.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2011

I graduated from Monarch this year and I think that it is a very good school. All of the math, science and history teachers are phenomenal, the students are friendly, and there are plenty of challenging classes offered. I only have two complaints about Monarch. One is that the language arts department is severely lacking. My senior year I took an L.A class in which you were supposed to work on writing college essays for the majority of the fall (at least that's what they told us when describing the class) but we only spent one day on that. The rest of the time we did whatever the unstable teacher (who cried about 15 times in class over the course of the year) felt like doing that day, which was usually watching a movie that we would never finish or having her tell a personal story that did not relate to the class at all. My other L.A classes were not much better and I don't feel like my writing has improved significantly since 8th grade. My second complaint is that there is not a lot of communication between the school and the students. We were usually informed of in-service days through rumors and many people came to school when there was no school or didn't when there was.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2010

Monarch is a great academic school offering something for everyone through their many programs including AP, CU Succeed, High School of Business (the only one in Colorado), Da Vinci program, award winning robotics, Speical Ed and so much more. Last week they adopted the motto or tag line "Creating bright futures, one student at a time." MHS is committed to meeting each individual student's needs, no matter what they are; academic, theatrical, athletic, musical, high tech, alternative. It's all there for the taking. Teaching staff is committed, outstanding and award winning. Students that choose advanced classes are doing well with 80% scoring 3-5 on their 2009 AP exams. $5.8 million were offered in scholarships to the class of 2009. The only place that I would suggest improvement would be in the counseling department. Being sure that the couselors get to know the kids and the parents sooner than senior year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

Our family is having a wonderful experience at Monarch High School. Our kids are academic high achievers and they have plenty of challenge and engagement from the AP and CU Succeed classes--it's amazing what the kids are learning. The science teachers are particularly inspiring, and the language arts department is up there, too. Our kids have ALSO found it easy and fun to get involved in music and sports, where even though the top performance level is really high, everyone is welcome to join and give it a try. As parents, we have both gotten involved as volunteers and we feel part of a real community that includes the school leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2010

Great school with bright and engaging students, and a great faculty.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

Any High School is what YOU make it. If you want to get involved there is plenty of clubs/activities to join. If you want to take drugs, you will find a way to do that no matter what high shool you go to--even Boulder schools. I've already sent two students through this school and I plan to send a third next year. Neither were athletes, but they were involved in the excellent music program and other activities. They would tell you, if asked, that they very much enjoyed their years at MO-HI and had a lot of great friends--who like themselves were not involved in drugs. They did not experience any bullying either. The academics are right up there with Boulder(both my kids were admitted to their first choice colleges). As a matter of fact, I even volunteered in the Post-Grad center for a number of years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Monarch is an awful school. There is a pervasive culture of bullying that flows through both the teacher and student population. I have been very disappointed by the response of the administration and faculty time after time. If you are considering Monarch as a school, look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2009

I have two children who graduated from Monarch High School, an both are excelling in college (highly rated universities). Both received scholarships from several great schools, and both are well-adjusted, well-prepared, and happy in their college experiences. You can find kids who drink, smoke pot, swear, screw around, etc. However, my kids had friends who were respectful, insanely intelligent, well-grounded, highly engaged in many activities and accomplished with many awards. Most importantly, they were happy, motivated and felt a part of the student body. Schools are not four walls-they are what you make them to be. There are always good teachers and less-capable teachers. Every school has them. However, the poor teachers my older child had at Monarch (one I can think of), were no longer there when my younger child began school. I strongly recommend this school to any family who wants a strong academic and well-rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2009

My kid loves this school and the people who work there are the best. Programs are top-notch including academics, drama, music, and athletics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

Monarch High School offers a nice and friendly environment, interesting and inspiring teachers, and fun students with different interests. I was not involved with sports but got into yearbook and other extra curriculars, and I'd have to strongly disagree that sports take center stage at Monarch. They are a part of student life, as they are at any school, but the athletic program is not overbearing and students are not as preoccupied with jocks and cheerleaders as they are at any other school I've ever seen. At Monarch, I had some of the most interesting, inspiring teachers who taught students to be free-thinking individuals. And as a student who now attends a University in the deep south, I can attest to the fact that these qualities are not found in a lot of high schools schools in our country.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2008

I have two kids at Monarch and both have been very happy. i believe most of the teachers are above average and the school is lead by a very good principal and administative staff. Sports are important but so is band, robotics, and other academic clubs. There is a strict no tolerance with drugs so those who claim it is rampant may want to visit the other high schools in the area. Most importantly, my kids are happy and are doing well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2007

Monarch is a good school. It's not the best, but it is a good environment for the most part. I personally haven't experienced any severe bullying, but I do know the kids at this school, and yes some can be a real pain. Like most high schools, you just can't let your peers [or your child's peers] have such a strong hold on everything. Think for yourself and you will be fine, there are good teachers there, and they have clubs that range from GSA to Bible Group. I have gone to another high school and can honestly say, I really like Monarch much better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 4, 2007

As an '04 graduate of Monarch I would have to agree that sports do take center stage, but my involvement in sports along with my coaches and administrations dedication to excellence I have been afforded opportunities that I may have not gotten at other schools. I also found to be challenged academically.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2007

Sports take center stage, and all else, including academics, are secondary. Neither of my kids are athletes, and have had quite a few bullying issues. Drugs are rampant, and over privileged kids rule through fear and intimidation. Last year, I spoke with the administration about some of these issues and was told that Monarch is for a particular type of student ie: not my kid. Needless to say, we moved on, and have had a better experience with Fairview.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2007

Yes, the 2007 school year is more of the same. As for parent involvement, yes, there a are lot of people involed but they gloss over the problems, drugs (#1), low test scores compared to other Boulder schools (#2). My kids both go there both are doing well, 4.0 et al., but its like a litle Columbine. All for athletics those who don't fit in have no place to turn. Cell phones should be banned from the teachers in the school, let alone the kids. What a mess.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2007

Grad 04. Ah, MoHI, where teachers range from phenomenal to absurdly terrible. Music, arts, and sports all are very good, yet very separate. State champion football teams celebrate with mandatory full-school pep rallys. While the state champion drumline gets an announcement on the intercom...Oh wait,we didn't even get that. So, if your student plays sports, is white, wears abercrombe, and just plain wants to fit in(or blend in), come to Monarch. If they want to be in a stimulating, diverse environment, and want their own personality...then for God's sake, find someplace else.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 2, 2006

Small classes, outstanding facilities, competitive sports teams with incredible parent involment. Highly recommend. There is open enrollment in Boulder Valley school district and would highly recommend not depending on living anywhere but move into the school area to insure a spot at Monarch. BVSD looking at leveling open enrollment to insure broader diversity within schools. Ask about the CU classes offered at school if your student is so inclined. Heard of through word of mouth but open to all who select. Principals have changed from not well liked by community to widely popular who rumor has it 'didn't get along with the faculty' back to the retired one and on to a new one. Community awareness and visibility very high--Discipline goes with what you think about Boulder--not much
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2005

The academic programs have a great variety of advanced and basic classes. Their is an extensive music program with a quality marching band, multiple jazz bands, and many orchestras. Many of the sports are ranked in high positions like football which is undefeated. Their are man ways for parents to get involved including the Booster Club, information nights. Overall Monarch is a great High School!
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted September 16, 2005

My son went to Monarch for a year and a half. He is an average student that needs average attention. I was very disappointed to find that the class sizes were quite large and even an average amount of attention was hard to come by. Most of the teachers seemed overwhelmed even if they would have liked to help. The academics were not spectacular. Great Photo teacher in 2004-2005. There are a lot of extrcurricular activities. Many of the students participate in school activities. Their sports teams are usually quite competative and do well in their league. There are not a lot of parents who are involved, but there are a few. Thoe ferw are good at organizing special events and fund raisers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

420 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

420 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

420 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

345 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

345 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

345 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

345 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
Female55%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian71%
Hispanic29%
Multiracial73%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Free lunch eligible26%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)22%
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%

Reading

All Students80%
Female82%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian92%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial95%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligible61%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)44%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%

Writing

All Students71%
Female79%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian88%
Hispanic44%
Multiracial95%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligible47%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)31%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students46%
Female41%
Male49%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Free lunch eligible14%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English46%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant46%

Reading

All Students73%
Female79%
Male69%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)20%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%

Science

All Students60%
Female60%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Free lunch eligible24%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%

Writing

All Students56%
Female66%
Male48%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

97%

Average ACT score

24

Graduation rate

95%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 56%
Hispanic 8% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

329 Campus Dr
Louisville, CO 80027
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 561-4200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bolder Pathway School
Broomfield, CO


Centaurus High School
Lafayette, CO


Front Range Academy
Broomfield, CO


Catalyst High School
Lafayette, CO


Broomfield High School
Broomfield, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT