Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Conrad Ball Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

52 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

This school is great. They have help all three of my children and go above and beyond every day. We could use more homework, but I agree that sometimes kids just need to be kids. The ratings on here are not accurate at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted today

I am impressed with the staff and school. They are trying something new and willing to do whatever is best for kids. Thank you to the dedicated staff at CBMS and for making my child love school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted today

I'm reading these reviews for the first time and I'm shocked. Conrad Ball is not full of bullies and mean teachers. I have a college student who went to ConBall, and I currently have an 8th and a 6th grader at the school. I'm very involved at all of the schools my kids attend/have attended, K-12, in the classrooms and in parent volunteer groups/organizations. I've seen ConBall through a couple of principals (some I was glad to see go!), and I can honestly say that the students are blessed to be under the guidance of the current administration. Conrad Ball has recently won some prestigious awards, including the most recent Innovation Grant, an honor bestowed on only 7 schools in the country. Do some real research when deciding on where to send your children to learn. Visit the school, talk to the parents who are truly involved. Schools are schools and they all have some problems, but Conrad Ball is a safe, innovative school, and it's the only place I'd send my kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2013

Worst school I have ever gone to. I am trying to get out! Open enrollment is open now.


Posted November 20, 2013

This school is full of bullies including the teachers! It is dog eat dog in this school seems anything bad goes and no one cares... worst school ever!


Posted November 20, 2013

I agree :( worst school ever, I have been bullied to the point of serious depression. I am trying to get out and go some where else.


Posted October 28, 2013

I don't really like this school because I get picked on and no one cares to does anything about it


Posted October 10, 2013

I dont think the teachers, counslors, nor principals really care. When a child is struggling with their grades, pick up the phone with your concerns. I did as a parent, but we still don't feel that teachers, counselors, nor the principals care enough to make that initiative call or conference a meeting. This school also uses a lot of student (interns) teachers. A LOT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2013

This is a horrible school never send your children here. Although some teachers are very polite, most are unprofessional and rude. They never do anything about bullying. There "motto" is no place for hate, well my daughter is a hispanic and even teachers dont like her because of that. there is also many fight that happen there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2013

My daughter started her 8th Grade after moving from several schools and states. Her experience with the students at Conrad Ball has been very negative and my interactions with the staff have been unprofessional and distant. She has only attended 4 months and we are glad that she will only spent a year here. We have a plan to remove her if she is met with more bullying. She is a very sociable and bright child that is now not enjoying school for the first time. The kids are mean and bullying is tolerated and bad behavior is accepted. My daughter has had a few very positive experiences based solely on a couple of exceptional teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2012

Excellent school, doing fantastic work with Technology! Great friendly staff, I highly recommend checking them out, getting a tour, talking to CURRENT parents before you count them out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

even though this school has great club opportunities, I have to say my child wasn't challenged. My opinion is Conrad Ball is behind in curriculum. I feel this year was a wash.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2012

Staff and faculty need constant reminders of medical conditions ( even serious ones) and educational needs. They say they read I.E.P but, fail to meet even the basic reqirements on it. You have to always stay on top of things in this school or your child will fall through the cracks. You are treated like a bother for making sure your childs I.E.P is met.They will never admit to any wrong doing and turn it onto the parent. This school by far has been the worst school for my child who has unique learning needs and also has medical issues. I have talked to other parents and I am not the only parent who has gone through this. Children should have to struggle this bad in a learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2012

although the teachers have been helpful and understanding. the kids are pure mean and nothing get s done about it. same kids same prob and no one cares. DONT SEND your kid here if its a girl. to much drama, I know all schools have some but the rumers spread here are verry hurtful..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2012

All interactions I have had with Conrad Ball have turned out positive. Things will not always be 100% excellent, however I do know the staff and administration at this school go above and beyond what is expected of them. If there is an issue to be dealt with- large or small- there will always be someone there to help find a solution. Staff are prompt to reply and very open to helping ALL students no matter the situation. I would have no qualms in sending a child to this school- I know they would be fed (even if they didn't have lunch money), cared for (even if they were having an "off day"), and acquired new knowledge of some kind throughout the day. With everything that goes on in a student's life, the staff at Con Ball do an amazing job of meeting the student where they are and working up. Keep up the superb work T-Birds!


Posted September 14, 2011

I have a 6th grader and an 8th grader at Conrad Ball, and we have been continually impressed by the staff at this school. Yesterday, for example, I emailed the principal with a question, and by the end of the day, two of my son's teachers had personally contacted me to be certain my son had everything he needed to succeed in their classes. We have observed this level of dedication from every teacher and staff member with whom we have interacted at CBMS. In addition to academics, CBMS offers a full roster of extra-curricular activities, clubs, and sports, and the teachers who facilitate these groups are nothing short of outstanding. Further, Mr. Elias, who took the job as principal last year, has done a phenomenal job of ascertaining student needs are met by making changes to the bell schedule, grade-level teams, etc. He isn't afraid to challenge the status quo and continually makes improvements to best address the needs of the students. I cannot say enough about how pleased we are with CBMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2011

Conrad ball has excellent teachers and staff. The teachers go out of their way to help students during and after school. They recently received a grant for IPads to help aid with textbooks and also to keep up to date on new information.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2011

My sons have thrived at Conrad Ball Middle School. The teachers are very responsive to e-mails, phone calls and visits when there were any concerns. My oldest, now in high school, in 8th grade found his own motivation and talents through the team of teachers that worked with him. He came home with an "F" on his first science lab, but with the support of the teachers and communication with us, he was able to work very hard and "find his own talents" and by end his 8th grade year with 1 B and the rest A's! He is now in the Gifted and Talented Program and enjoying the Pre-AP classes he is now in. We don't think he would have been identified as Gifted and in Pre-AP WITHOUT the teachers and administration at Conrad Ball Middle School! Wonderful School without any doubts!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

Conrad Ball is a wonderful school with caring teachers and staff. My child was very shy and after sharing that with his teachers, they went out of their way to encourage him and he became an outgoing young man who carried that through high school and into college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

I'd like to share how deeply I appreciate the staff at Conrad Ball Middle School. I've been so impressed by the level of professionalism and compassion that I've witnessed and experienced, and my child feels truly cared for. They go above and beyond what their job requires. ConBall is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
Female58%
Male54%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligible65%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%

Reading

All Students71%
Female80%
Male64%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligible85%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)20%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%

Writing

All Students48%
Female61%
Male38%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Free lunch eligible35%
Reduced lunch eligible40%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English50%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
Female55%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligible50%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English55%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Reading

All Students57%
Female60%
Male54%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligible39%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%

Writing

All Students50%
Female59%
Male42%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Free lunch eligible36%
Reduced lunch eligible42%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English53%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
Female40%
Male36%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Free lunch eligible26%
Reduced lunch eligible33%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities44%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English41%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant38%

Reading

All Students57%
Female66%
Male49%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Free lunch eligible42%
Reduced lunch eligible60%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%

Science

All Students39%
Female39%
Male39%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Free lunch eligible20%
Reduced lunch eligible43%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities45%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English42%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant40%

Writing

All Students43%
Female53%
Male34%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)49%
Free lunch eligible24%
Reduced lunch eligible57%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities49%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English45%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 56%
Hispanic 26% 32%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2660 North Monroe Ave
Loveland, CO 80538
Website: Click here
Phone: (970) 613-7300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Thompson Online
Loveland, CO







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT