Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Winona Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted June 11, 2016
- a community member
Thanks to the staff that have been at Winona for a long time! You are amazing and we love you.

Winona Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 11, 2016
- a community member
Some teachers are amazing but the new ones, yuck! They have no idea what they are doing.


Winona Elementary School 1

Posted June 11, 2016
- a community member
This used to be a great school. With this new principal and the new teachers it has gone south! The new teachers have no idea how to teach and the new principal has no idea what she is doing! Take your kids elsewhere!

Winona Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2014
- a parent
We have had a wonderful experience at Winona. Looking at test scores, parents may have doubts of sending their children to this school, but there are many children thriving and growing each year on both ends of the learning spectrum. It is heartbreaking that so many families choice out of Winona without even working with the principal and teachers to learn about the school or address any concerns. I challenge anyone to find a more caring and dedicated principal than Larry Shores, who is so accepting of every child whether they have challenges learning or if they require services far ahead of grade level. Winona has a fabulous Gifted and Talented program, and teachers dedicated to meet the needs of EVERY student. As more and more parents choice out of Winona, teachers and staff are dealing with an increasing percentage of students from at-risk backgrounds, and losing the community support that is vital for a healthy school. The burden of supporting the children in our community with limited support at home should not be entirely placed on teachers and a principal. Please do not give up on your neighborhood school, they are ready to work with you and your student!!

Winona Elementary School 4

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
I know there are some horrible reviews on this site about winona elementary but there is lot of hearsay. we have kids going through winona today, we do spend time with them at home and also we volunteer a lot at school, we have never found any finger pointing among teachers, no teacher or principal has verbally abused any kids while we were in school. All our kids have excelled in their grades. Agreed the population at winona is not the best mix, there are many kids who are english second language and many kids are on free lunch program but that does not make them any less entitled to the public education. there may be some parents who had bad experience but best way to resolve such things is by being at school and involving your self in the kids education. I hope people do not use one experience and "I heard" comments to go away from making your neighborhood school better instead of leaving it. Please also share your good experiences and not only bad.


Winona Elementary School 1

Posted November 21, 2013
- a parent
My daughter was reading at a fourth grade level when she entered this school in 2nd grade. When we took her out after 4th grade she was reading at a 4th grade level. My son went there for two years. The teachers ignored my concerns about his struggles and I was told he wasn't able to keep up with the other kids. We moved both kids to a better school and they are both now thriving and above grade level. Winona was a horrible school for both of my children. If it is your neighborhood school take the waiver they give you because they are not meeting state standards. Run as fast and as far away as you can.

Winona Elementary School 5

Posted March 17, 2013
- a parent
This school has excellent teachers and an excellent principal. They have programs to help gifted children as well as struggling, average and special education. GREAT school!!!

Winona Elementary School 1

Posted January 05, 2012
- a parent
This school started out alright, but quickly went downhill. They cut out all social studies and science because the CSAP grades were low in the 2nd and 3rd grades, and my son's self esteem in his school work completely dropped. He would tell me constantly how he just was "bad at reading and writing". It was painful to watch in my son. We moved him to a new school this year, and he is excelling beyond anything I ever dreamed possible, and clearly was not achievable at Winona. While some teachers individually were clearly devoted to the students, it clearly wasn't enough, as kids were simply being left behind. Do everything possible to not send your child there.


Winona Elementary School 1

Posted January 14, 2011
- a parent
Oh, and did I mention that they have had 3 principals in under 5 years. Not a good sign.

Winona Elementary School 4

Posted July 29, 2009
- a parent
My son has been this school for 4years.Teachers are Great-!!!We love it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Winona Elementary School
201 South Boise Avenue, Loveland, CO  80537
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (970) 613-7100
Last modified Winona Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top