Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sarah Milner Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 312 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2013

This is an aweful school. It is extremely unorganized, With the exception of one, the teachers probably belong more in the preschool level than in elementary education. In the 3 years my son has attended this school, 2 of his teachers have left mid year due to pregnancy. I don't blame those teachers for this, however they were not good teachers in the first place. They were then replaced with substitutes that I wouldn't even allow my son to go to for after school care. My son is a TAG student that somehow seems to be allowed to fail with no concern from the teachers or administrative staff. I worked in education myself for many years and I have never seen such disorganization, blatent religious teachings, and no actual concern for how well the students are doing. When we are forced to leave our kids in the care of others for 6 hours a day, you would expect that they are getting something out of it. They are not at this school. We are pulling our student out of Sarah Milner Elementary for his final year of elementary school because we feel the school is failing him. The only reason I have given this school 2 stars is because of the one 3rd grade teacher that is worthy of an award.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2013

The teachers at Sarah Milner are enthusiastic, caring and compassionate. My children are excited to go to school every day and are showing great progress. The teachers work hard to challenge my children and encourage them to do their best. I am proud of my neighborhood school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2012

Overall Sarah Milner is a great school with caring loving teachers. I wasn't a big fan of one of the 5th grade teachers and didn't feel he did a very good job teaching math, but he wasn't the worst teacher either. A couple of years back when my oldest was going there we had an issue with a 4th grade teacher doing a very poor job of teaching math or keeping her word of sending home more information on their math program. Refused to work with us so that we could ensure that our son learned basic math, but was a rotten math teacher herself. We ended up having to teach him math at home. Since then however I have been very pleased with the school and teachers, but if any of my kids were to be assigned this 4th grade teacher I would have them taken out immediately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2012

The teachers try hard and the school is kept in decent condition. It would be a great school if the principal were to leave. He is unfriendly, (and sometimes downrigh rude!) doesn't listen to parent ideas, and seems to struggle in managing students without losing his temper. In a time of school budget cuts, and negative publicity about education, we can't afford principals like this to remain in charge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

Sarah Milner is an AWESOME school! Keep up the great work! I am proud to be part of such a great school!


Posted April 6, 2011

We had two children with the misfortune of attending this school. Thankfully, both are attending other schools, now. The last teacher my child had here, obviously does not like kids. The principal has no clue how to handle bullies, but is running a very nice training ground for the thugs moving on to WCMS. I would suggest you get your child out of this school, if at all possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2011

We are new third grade parents to the school this year, and we have a teacher who is also new to the school. We are so pleased with how welcome she made our daughter feel. We were worried about her transition, but it has been great. The focus on testing seems a little much, but I guess that is the directions schools are moving in. This is a good choice for quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

This is an amazing school with great opportunities for getting involved as a parent. The teachers are caring, supportive and dedicated! Thanks, SMES! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2008

I have a son that has high functioning autism. I wouldn't recommend this school. The teachers and staff don't seem to encourage parent helping, and the special education team is extremely slow to respond to any concerns or changes to the IEP. They also don't communicate well with each other and it takes months to make an appointment. The school is very over populated and it really shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

Overall we have had a lot of luck with this school. We have only encountered one teacher who while nice had some very low standards and was extremely undependable. However every other teacher has been super! It is obvious that the teachers and principal do this for the love of the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2007

I would just like to say that I attended this school as a child, and I know drive my child across town so he too can have such a wonderful elementary school experience! This school is all about getting the parents involved in their child's education...and I love that!! Not only do they have a great curriculum, but they thrive on making school a fun place to be...Keep up the great work!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Sarah Milner is a great school and it was very good with treating all others with respect. ~Becca~
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
31%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female89%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Reading

All Students88%
Female86%
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Writing

All Students64%
Female63%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligible61%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female72%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligible57%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Reading

All Students67%
Female80%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%

Writing

All Students52%
Female68%
Male35%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Free lunch eligible57%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English55%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female69%
Male74%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligible57%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%

Reading

All Students64%
Female62%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English64%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%

Science

All Students55%
Female45%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant55%

Writing

All Students45%
Female41%
Male48%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Free lunch eligible30%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English45%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 57%
Hispanic 25% 32%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

743 Jocelyn Dr
Loveland, CO 80537
Phone: (970) 613-6700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT