Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lucile Erwin Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 12, 2013

I feel like all if the teachers here have prepared me accordingly to enter high school this year and truly cared about myself and other students. One of the best things about this school is the art in my opinion. The art teacher there is absolutely amazing and the activities we do in class are a ton of fun. Having spent 3 years at Erwin I have improved my art skills, become fluent in another language, and used their IB program to become more knowledgeable, principled, and open minded about the world around us. I would HIGHLY recommend this school to students and parents every where.


Posted April 30, 2011

There are a lot of positives at Erwin, but as my child leaves for high school next year I do have some reservations about some aspects of the education provided at LEMS. There seems to be a greater focus on quantity of work versus high expectations regarding the level of work. It seems like half of the school is made up of straight A students. The positives at this school are the arts programs, the GT coordinator who understands what GT is, and dedicated staff. The drawbacks are teachers who will pass kids through even accelerated classes with high marks when the work they are doing is not advanced, bullying, and the typical middle school problems with drugs and promiscuity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2010

We have been at three different middle schools (Kinard, Preston, and Erwin) since we have moved three times in northern Colorado (we remodel homes and sell them). I have noticed that other schools score higher than Erwin on CSAP, but those schools just drill test prep. Erwin focuses on creativity and relevant problem solving. You can tell by the projects that kids do and the level of thinking they are required to communicate about the concepts they are learning. I don't mind if they skipped out on 70 worksheets on semi-colons, so they can score well on CSAP...I would rather have my children at Erwin where they are HAPPY and CHALLENGED in the areas they need to have as an adult not just a test prep school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

I go to Lucile Erwim Middle School (LEMS) I like the teachers and staff. They are nice, and helpful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2009

Its a great school with many activities for students and up-to-date tools and equipment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2009

This school is amazing! I have never been in a school with such dedicated staff, and high expectations for every student. With the new principal, anything is possible at Erwin! The IB program is in full swing, and if parents would just do their part, and demanding that their own children be responsible for themselves and their schoolwork, this school could focus on even more amazing things!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2009

I would not advise sending your children to this school. There is a very uncaring attitude on behalf of several of the teachers. Once a behavior issue begins they go out of their way to make it worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2008

Erwin is an ok school, but if you get one bad grade, everybody treats you way different.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2008

I think that this is a pretty good school but there are a few teachers that could be a little bit nicer! THANKS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2008

My daughter had a wonderful experience at Erwin Middle School. Their IB programme is underway and the staff and new principal are working very hard to create a wonderful middle school experience. I think it is the best middle school in Loveland/Thompson School District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

I think Erwin is a great school. The teachers take time to explain what they are teaching if you don't understand it, and you can talk to them about your grades if they are low. If they are low teachers take time to help you out and may or may not give you extra credit to help them improve depending on what time of the year it is. Erwin is a great school and i look forward to attending it for three strate years and graduating from it. I really enjoy all the activities the yallow kids to do and the only thing they can improve on is monitering the halways because i have seen kids sneek there way out of class.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2008

Best School Ever. Teachers are nice and relly help the kids that need it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2008

I hate this school. The teachers choose favorites and do not really like or pay attention to the kids that do need help. I am happy to be leaving next year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2008

Lucille Erwin has meet and exceeded my expectations! I was pleased with all of my sons teachers. The GT teacher expects a lot and in turn the children produce. Her feedback and comments on their work is very uplifting and positive even while she is making corrections and teaching. The music teacher is tops! She received excellents with her solo and ensamble groups! She puts 200% into her students and truly cares about them. His health teacher was excellent in her approach to teaching about the bodies changes through puberty. His social studies teacher made her class fun and exciting! The band teachers encourage their students through positive feedback. He loved his math class! Science had interesting labs. The 6th grade teachers all work together, creating a great learning environment! We loved his team of teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

I believe parents with struggling children would not be pleased with this school because of the lower expetations. But parents with overacheiving students will be happier. teachers show way more respect for [overachievers]. Plus, [they] have more opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2007

Very disappointed with Erwin. So, disappointed I will be homeschooling both my kids, 6th and 7th graders next year. This school is unable, unwilling, untrained, to follow his state-mandated IEP. I have no other choice but to find another route to giving him the best possible education. This is just one issue I have with this school, the list could go on!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2007

my daughter is in the seventh grade and is an amazing student on the honor roll. But recently her grades have dramatical slipped and the teachers have no idea on how to fix it. Plus, the athletics can be run very stupidly. I think just because it is a new school, it is not the best and needs to greatly improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2007

Erwin is a great school for kids that excel (like my 7th grade GT child) but lacks concern toward the child that struggles (like my 8th grade failing child). They have great GT, and advanced programs like Junior National Honors Society, and advanced classes, but very little help (short time between meetings after school) for kids that are struggling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2005

Erwin has been a great place for me and I will continue going there until I finish 8th grade.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2005

Lucille is one of the newest schools out of the other schools in loveland. the teachers are great, the kids come first and it's a really great school anybody looking to put their child in school erwin would be the first place to look
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

308 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female63%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligible62%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%

Reading

All Students78%
Female81%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligible66%
Reduced lunch eligible69%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)38%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%

Writing

All Students59%
Female62%
Male55%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligible42%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female55%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligible67%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%

Reading

All Students75%
Female79%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligible74%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Writing

All Students57%
Female63%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligible52%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female51%
Male60%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligible32%
Reduced lunch eligible53%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%

Reading

All Students77%
Female79%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligible71%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%

Science

All Students58%
Female54%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligible41%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%

Writing

All Students59%
Female62%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligible35%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 56%
Hispanic 20% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4700 Lucerne Ave
Loveland, CO 80538
Phone: (970) 613-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Thompson Online
Loveland, CO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT