Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St John The Evangelist Catholic School 1

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
This school was a complete disaster for my kids. My son scored in the gifted range on the Wechsler Intelligence test and is a straight A student. He was repeatedly abused by the teachers and principal there. In second grade, his teacher "forced" him to eat his carrots at lunch. In the fourth grade, the teacher had a scornful attitude towards him from the get-go and regularly humiliated him in front of the entire class by saying things like "I know you think you know a lot but you really don't." She also sent him to the principal's office for questioning her grading. The principal did nothing to help other than recommend that my son be on medications. When I tried to meet with the priest, he conveniently avoided me. Be the judge yourself: is this an appropriate way to treat an extremely intelligent, extremely sensitive little boy who has no behavioral issues whatsoever? Is this the way that supposedly God-loving Catholics should act? If you are considering this school, learn from our bad experiences and run! Run quickly!

St John The Evangelist Catholic School 5

Posted September 28, 2012
- a parent
I have to laugh at the one star review. Hopefully the school they have chosen teaches their children to spell better than they do. Also talk about elitist...the faculty may not all be "Catholic" but they are good Christians that teach our Catholic values. Perhaps some people need to learn about tolerance and love before they write nasty reviews. No school is perfect, but St. John's is a very loving place with wonderful academics. I wouldn't dream of sending my children anywhere else.


St John The Evangelist Catholic School 5

Posted January 10, 2012
- a parent
SJE is a wonderful school for our children. Our 3 children's education is very important to us. We are not a family of lots of money, but we continue to send our children to the school because of the low teacher/student ratio, the religion studies, the community feel, all the specials offered (art, P.E., music, spanish), the sports, band, and the overall caring of the faculty. The teachers challenge the students to their fullest ability.

St John The Evangelist Catholic School 5

Posted May 15, 2011
- a parent
We are so happy with St. John's. After several disappointing years at the local charter school we switched to St. John's in the hopes of getting a great education for our child--I wish we had started with St. John's from the beginning. The teachers and staff are wonderful. My child is finally getting the challenge she needs and she now absolutely loves school. Her ITBS scores, as well as those of her classmates and school mates, are exceptional, proving that the teachers are doing a great job educating our children. I'm so glad to have such a wonderful school in Loveland. I cannot recommend them enough.

St John The Evangelist Catholic School 2

Posted March 18, 2011
- a parent
Although we were happy having our 3 children at SJ the price has gone up considerably ($10,000 for our 3 kids not including uniforms). The church support has gone down and scholarships are not available. The only people that can afford to send their kids here either work for the school or make a very large salary.


St John The Evangelist Catholic School 4

Posted November 13, 2009
- a parent
St johns is an amazing school-the test scores are far above average,and the people are really nice and caring.

St John The Evangelist Catholic School 0
no rating

Posted October 11, 2009
- a parent
This is the best school in Northern Colorado! We are both university instructors - and we expect excellence in our child's school. We have found it in St. John's. Rigorous academics, focus on the family, emphasis on community service...it's simply the best!

St John The Evangelist Catholic School 1

Posted July 15, 2009
- a parent
This school is largely an elitist school without the academic rigor that one would expect with the price tag. We have chosen to have our children attend Ridgeview Classical Schools because it has what used to be considered a great Catholic Education. When Saint John's retruns to that same rigor we may consider sending our children to this school. Saint John's is a Catholic School with non catholics on the faculty.


St John The Evangelist Catholic School 5

Posted February 15, 2009
- a parent
SJE is such a loving school. I love that the school emphasizes community service and respect for others. We love it!

St John The Evangelist Catholic School 5

Posted July 13, 2008
- a parent
a Christ- centered duationm from, caring teachers that alwayshave the children score ABOVE the National and Colorado testing!!!! Truely NO CHILD LEFT BWEHIND HERE!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St John The Evangelist Catholic School
1730 West 12th Street, Loveland, CO  80537
(970) 635-5830
Last modified St John The Evangelist Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St John The Evangelist Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews.