Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
71 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 91 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Loveland Classical School 4

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
My son has been attending LCS since it's opening year and is currently a fifth grader, my daughter in second. My son has enjoyed most of his teachers and enjoys learning. The curriculum is exceptional and staff work hard to bring enjoyment of their subjects into the classroom. Fifth grade has been a bit more difficult for him as the CC (Classroom coordinator) was new to the school this year and had difficulty keeping structure in the classroom., for this reason, I took off a star. However, we know that LCS has had huge success having CCs in the room (departmentalization) and so our hope is that those new CCs will have a better understanding of their roles as CCs for the next school year. LCS offers many after school opportunities for kids 5th and above. I would say that the Great Schools score is incorrect "5/10" since the school provides many after school activities and sports. As a parent that continually wants to encourage my children in all they do, to persevere when things become challenging, and to be a person of virtue and great character, I am pleased with the focus LCS has on character education. We are happy to be a part of the LCS family! If I could ask anything to be worked on, it would be to bring back the quality structure classrooms had in it's first 2-3 years of operation. Thank you to the outstanding staff that care deeply or our children!

Loveland Classical School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
A SPECIAL 'THANK YOU' TO ALL THE STAFF AND TEACHERS FOR MAKING LCS AN AMAZING SCHOOL !!!


Loveland Classical School 5

Posted May 13, 2016
- a parent
Our son is completing his first year at the Loveland Classical Schools high school campus. It has been a WONDERFUL year for him. There is an atmosphere of respect and acceptance at LCS that is refreshing. The teachers are passionate about teaching while engaging and encouraging each student to reach their best potential. The administrative and teaching staff have been so supportive and encouraging. The student body has been very welcoming and inclusive. We’ve appreciated the built in study halls and after school academic support. Not only is there an emphasis on high academic standards, but developing the whole child and moral character development is a major focus as well. The twelve Core Virtues of Responsibility, Honesty, Generosity, Service, Perseverance, Loyalty, Forgiveness, Integrity, Courage, Humility, Prudence, and Temperance are taught, demonstrated and incorporated into the curriculum of academic excellence. We are grateful for LCS, the dedicated staff and the opportunity for our son to be a part of this student community. Gerry and Allyson Hernblom

Loveland Classical School 5

Posted February 10, 2016
- a community member
Amazing staff, amazing curriculum! We are proud to be an LCS family. We especially love the classical curriculum and departmentalized education.

Loveland Classical School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
My students are learning to think critically and incorporate other views and process multiple streams of information to form complex thoughts instead of simply regurgitating second-hand opinions.


Loveland Classical School 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
Best school in Loveland, CO!!! The teachers care deeply for each student. The parents rally together when there is a need for volunteers, supplies, fundraising, student activities. It's a family! PLUS they are the only school in Loveland that is NOT COMMON CORE!! We teach Singapore Math making it an easier transition into higher math concepts. We use Riggs (phonics) to teach children how to read. This helps with unfamiliar words as they grow. We teach critical thinking through the use of seminars (group discussion) and everything centers on using source documents! My 5th grader can still recite the Preamble to the Constitution that he learned in 2nd grade! Now he is learning the Gettysburg Address. The Civil War Reenactment and Ball are yearly highlights, too! Our kids are thriving, we love the structure and the culture of respect. Come check them out if you are seeking a new home for your student! They have monthly open houses that really give you a flavor of our school.

Loveland Classical School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2015
- a parent
LCS teaches Core Virtues. Generosity, Honesty, Responsibility, and Service in the elementary grades; Perseverance, Loyalty, Forgiveness, and Integrity in middle school; Courage, Humility, Prudence, and Temperance in high school. I have also been so impressed with the quality of character displayed by the upper class students whenever I have had the chance to observe around the school.

Loveland Classical School 5

Posted May 10, 2015
- a parent
I love this school! My daughter has been attending LCS since kindergarten and I'm continuously impressed by the commitment of the teachers and the level of enthusiasm my daughter has about learning.


Loveland Classical School 5

Posted February 09, 2015
- a parent
The school and the teachers truly care about the kids in their care. They care about what they teach and they care that each student is getting the best education and attention from them. We love the school and how involved we as parents get to be.

Loveland Classical School 5

Posted January 28, 2015
- a parent
Loveland Classical School is a one of a kind educational experience!! My oldest son is in first grade and has always been a very voracious learner. As parents we have always been a little worried about him becoming bored or not challenged in a way that would nurture his amazing mind. LCS has been the best choice! He is excited every day! Departmentalization allows for fresh energy with each subject, exposure to a variety of approaches from teachers and in-depth knowledge in each subject. LCS sets up their students to be exceptional community stewards through the practice and implementation of core virtues. The teachers ask children to think and be active in their learning. The family-like community in this school is also another huge plus. Many of the teachers here go above and beyond their call of duty and provide many amazing experiences for their students on their "own time". These are things like civil war reenactments, classical nights, salsa dancing, madrigal dinners, socials and much, much more!! The teachers also participate in professional development on their own time, and unpaid! We are forever grateful that we have found LCS!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Loveland Classical School
3835 14th Street SW, Loveland, CO  80537
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 91 reviews.
Last modified Loveland Classical School is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top