Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Milliken Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 615 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 25, 2014

Definitely has a MAJOR BULLYING PROBLEM. The prinicipal Mr. Hruby is oblivious and shows no sign of correcting or even attempting to correcting the situation when it is brought to his attention! The school really needs peer intervention groups/conflict resolution. Completely disappointed with the priniciple and the school as a whole.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2013

WARNING, the is school apparently used to be a good school but with the current administration the bullying and abuse in the school has run rampant. The administration does nothing but attack the victims telling them that that is just the way it is and even going as far as to say the victims brought the bullying on themselves. The bullies get disciplinary action rarely and in most cases not at all. Thus creating a violent and physiologically damaging environment. If possible DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD THERE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

I have a child heading to middle school next year. If any current middle school parents read this, can you give a review. Looking for insight as we are new to the area. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2011

I have been pleased with this school. My child is ready to move on to high school and has had a wonderful experience. The principals / vice principals policies are fair, consistent, and firm which is exactly what middle school students need. The staff is very united and caring and goes out of their way to connect with students. I wish parents were more active and supportive in their children's education rather than expecting the school to take full responsibility of their child's holistic growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

I am absolutly gonna love MMS!!! 6th grade here i come!!!! I love all 6th grade teachers!


Posted March 23, 2010

My kids and I love this school! We are new to the area and this school far exceeds thier old one in soo many areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

I have had several conversations with Principal and staff. I rarely if ever hear positive feedback about our child. My spouse and I are very involved with our child and the schoolwork. We never hear of positive reinforcement or encouragement. I think this school is overrun with complacent employees. I've yet to find and visit with the teacher that is excited,motivated and driven to be and do the best. I can only hope that my childs time in this school goes fast. It is heartbreaking to see my child in such a funk ( almost depression ) because of this school. my child has had many success' in other schools, not here. My spouse and I are considering relocating due to this problem. My child shares with me stories of other students with butterfly knives. My child is not the staight 'a' student but is honest and has a kind heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2009

I love that the teachers are so nice to me and I appreciate the excelent staff!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 9, 2009

I feel this school great electives and extracurricular activites. The student teach ratio is excellent, and my son has excelled here, so much better than his old school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2009

Love the ease of using k12 planet to keep tabs on grades, and contacting my daughters teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

I feel that the safety and discipline of this school are well below average. I have a student there and my child does not enjoy going to school. My child is active in sports and has a excellent GPA, however my child feels threated and has stopped trying to make new friends because of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

Mr. Long, the principal has done a fabulous job @ MMS. He is enthusiastic, fair, firm with discipline issues, and easy to work with. Test scores have improved and the academic curriculem is also improving as several changes have been implemented. The staff is committed and caring, but parental involvement could be improved. Many extracurricular activites, my child has done well and is very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

awsome school, very creative
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2007

This school district needs to catch up with modern times.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 1, 2006

I think the teachers are good and care about the students. I also think that Principal Mr. Long is good an is trying to make improvements in test scores as well as discipline. However there are racial issues especially with the girls that is not completely under control yet. I think they are aware of some issues, but do not completely have a handle on it yet. The quality of academic programs is improving but still has a ways to go and the level of parent involvement needs to improve especially the parents of some of the troubled kids. The bottom line is that the school is getting better, but I think it is going to take a couple more years yet to see significant improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2004

I go to this school and I am well-educated. Also I am in all advanced classes!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female56%
Male53%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligible47%
Reduced lunch eligible42%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant55%

Reading

All Students75%
Female81%
Male69%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligible62%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)23%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Writing

All Students56%
Female66%
Male45%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligible40%
Reduced lunch eligible54%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
Female51%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligible28%
Reduced lunch eligible42%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Reading

All Students69%
Female73%
Male64%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligible54%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Writing

All Students61%
Female65%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligible37%
Reduced lunch eligible42%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
Female49%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Free lunch eligible43%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch54%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities52%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English51%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%

Reading

All Students70%
Female71%
Male69%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligible53%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%

Science

All Students51%
Female43%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Free lunch eligible29%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities52%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant51%

Writing

All Students52%
Female56%
Male49%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligible31%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English55%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 56%
Hispanic 34% 32%
Black 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

66 Irene Ave
Milliken, CO 80543
Phone: (970) 587-4341

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


University Schools
Greeley, CO






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT