Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Peter Catholic School

Private | PK-6 | 7 students

We are best known for Christ-centered environment.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Monument

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $335,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 22, 2014

Love everything about this school. Our daughter is thriving here. She is safe at school, is being challenged appropriately and is learning more about our faith. We are so happy here. As a military family we will move again in 2 yrs and I am not sure any school will ever be as good of a fit as St Peters is for us. Worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

We truly love our school! As a military family and former homeschooling family, we could not ask for a better environment for our children. We followed the Core Knowledge Curriculum and Seton Catholic Homeschooling Curriculum and are so pleased with how well both areas are incorporated at St Peter's. We specifically chose this school for the small class sizes of 10-15. The entire staff is dedicated to the students. Parents are always welcome and are involved in numerous volunteer activities. The Catholic education received here is worth every penny and allows our children to live their faith daily. We currently have a 4th grader, 2nd grader and preschooler enrolled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2011

Both my children attend St. Peter's and we are thrilled with the education. I am a former elementary school teacher, who taught in public schools. We chose St. Peter's because of the small class size, academics, the religious education and the community feel. Our children love their school. The current Principal and staff are outstanding. We feel blessed to have found this wonderful school and to feel apart of a tremendous community of like-minded parents, who want to raise caring, smart and happy children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2010

I have to disagree with the previous poster about the school's scores. While the school is getting better by adopting a new curriculum this year, their scores do NOT out score all other schools in the district. The small class size can be a plus but the bullying and other issues that goes along with a small school isn't so great. The new leadership is a step up from the former leadership and the school is getting better but it will take time for it to really be a "great" school. The school has been thought a lot with in the last few years and is finally starting to bounce back. If you like the Catholic education and the small class size then this is the school for you, just know that like with every school, there will be issues. For now, we are happy with the way our children are learning and are planning to attend next year as long as things continue to go smoothly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2010

Both my children have attended St Peter Catholic School in Monument, CO. They have received outstanding educations, not only in academics, where St Peter's has the highest parochial test scores in the state (much higher than the very best public schools), but also in the education of the whole person, where character and faith are integrated into every subject. The small class sizes (typically 10-12 students) lead to long term deep friendships within the school community. All students are welcome in all activities, unlike huge public schools where students have to already excel just to make the team or the choir. The teachers are dedicated, well trained, and excellent. The principal is showing great leadership, which will result in the school finishing its expansion through 8th grade. The cost is very modest for private education, with financial aid available for those who cannot afford it. A truly excellent choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2010

This school is very expensive with the child getting an average education at best. We were not impressed with the administration or our child's teacher this year. We have chosen not to return next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

My daughter loves second grade at St Peter Catholic School! Its fun and faith filled environment has allowed her to truly blossom here since pre-school. There are small classes (average of 10 kids) and great teachers through 6th grade, adding one grade per year. It has great academics, including music, art, Spanish, and gym. Best of all, every day starts with a prayer and the pledge. This school is a gift you can give your child or grandchild for a lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2010

My son attends preschool here and I'm very happy with his education. It is a structured environment, but there is also time for free play. After half a year, he can write his name, spell, rhyme, count, do basic math and has even started to read some words. I also love that he has been learning some wonderful worship songs and has made great friends in his class - due in part to the smaller class size.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2007

The growth my son achieved in this environment was phenomenal. He grew in faith and knowledge together. Nothing he was taught contradicted what he learned at home. This all happened in a safe and disciplined environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2006

My 4 year old loves this school. He's in preschool (along with 3 year olds) and I like the small class and school which gives each student the attention that they need. It's easy to talk to the principal and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2005

The St. Peter s Catholic School in Monument CO offers preschool through elementary classes in the great tradition of Catholic education, approved by the diocese and the state. It has small classes, averaging 12 and limited to 15. It has high academics. Every student (so far) can read by the end of kindergarten. Course work includes reading, writing, spelling, arithmetic, religion, Spanish, and core knowledge, all in a Christian environment. There is always at least one parent helping in the class, sometimes two, leading to an effective teacher/learner ratio of 6:1. The growth my son achieved in this environment was phenomenal. He grew in faith and knowledge together. Nothing he was taught contradicted what he learned at home. This all happened in a safe and disciplined environment. For $3300 per year, this is the best choice in the Northern El Paso County / Tri-Lakes area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 56%
Hispanic 12% 32%
Two or more races 10% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30
School end time
  • 3:00
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Kimberly Schindler
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (719) 955-0509

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Colorado Springs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • We have a huge number of parents and community members that volunteer in our school on a daily basis! we are so proud to have great parental support!
More from this school
  • St. Peter Catholic School is so honored to have parents that chose our school for not only the quality of the education that their children receive but for the faith that they believe in!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

124 1st Street
Monument, CO 80132
Website: Click here
Phone: (719) 481-1855

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Discovery Canyon Campus School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT