Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Silver State Christian School

Private | PK-8 | 80 students

We are best known for spirit-filled 5-star education.

 
 

Living in Morrison

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $237,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2014

We are very pleased with Silver State. The teachers pray for and genuinely care about each student. The academics are challenging, but with the small class size the students are able to meet the expectations and thrive while doing so. The kids come first at Silver State because the teachers want the same thing as the parents - they want the children to succeed. We are so thankful to have found this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2014

This school is the best the teachers and entire staff are so caring , they are highly qualified and are so involved with the students they truly care about each child . The education my children receive is unremarkable I'm so impressed by how smart both my children are. I drive 40 mins each way just so my daughter receives the best education and treatment possible. I have 3 daughters 1 who went to Silver State since kindergarten until 8th grade, who would still be there if there were a high school, a 1st grader who is excelling and loves to be in school, and an infant that will attend Silver State when she starts kindergarten. I made the mistake of trying different schools twice just for it being more convenient and I've regretted it both times. Silver State is home for my children , I'm so blessed to have such a wonderful place for my daughters to grow play and learn from a great Christian curriculum. It feels good to know when I drop my daughter off in the morning shes in the best hands and is safe. Mr.C the principal has done a fabulous job over the years. As a very over protective mother I couldn't ask for a better school with such wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2013

Silver State is one of the best private Christian Schools in Denver. As a parent, I've been involved with private schools since 2002 so we're familiar with other schools in Denver. The high standards of academic excellence and years of cumulative bible teaching at SSCS are just a couple strong attributes. Our daughter enjoys attending Silver State and has been taught solid study habits and individualized learning skills and her SAT scores have surpassed her academic age with improvement each year. We attribute this to the time, dedication and care of the teachers, the smaller class sizes & quality of the curriculum. Over the past 4 years, our daughter has also learned to play the piano through private lessons, sing in the school choir, play multiple instruments in Band and was thrilled to land a part in the school play production held each year. The fine arts have impacted her for life! We couldn't be more pleased with the school, the staff, the parent's Patriot Club, the programs and the administration. It is a truly remarkable and committed school that helps children achieve academic excellence with individual achievement. The middle school rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2013

I have 4 children that go to this school and we absolutely love it! The education they have received is top notch. I love that they are hearing about God every day in the classroom as well. My husband and I go hand in hand with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2013

I could not be happier with the teachers and the level of academic education my child is receiving. Finally a school that diligently focuses on reading, writing and arithmetic in a warm environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

I really cannot recommend this school enough. Both my daughter, 6 and Son, 7 go there and are in Kindergarten and 1st grade. The advances they have made have been incredible and they are doing things with little struggle that local public schoolchildren are doing 2 grades higher. The amount of time, attention, and detail that the teachers have with the kids in these small classes really pays off.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

Great school . The teachers are extremely caring. You can see they take interest in every single student and want them to succeed. We could not be happier with the quality of education our child is receiving at Silver State.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2012

Wonderful school! The teachers are warm and committed to the children. The classrooms are geared toward making learning fun and interesting. Silver State has provided our family everything we are looking for in a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2012

This is the best school. They start taking kids potty trained at 30 months. The achedemics are serious, and they are completely committed to caring for the child. I am so glad that both my kids have been able to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

We have been a part of this school for over 6 years. My boys have been taught a Christian based education that they have truly enjoyed. The teacher's involvement has been excellent. I would definitely recommend this school to anyone who wants their children to be taught that God is the center of their life. The only thing that would be a disappointment would be the lack of extra-curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

I love this school! I have been in this school since preschool. The best part is each teacher concentrates on each student to help them do the best they can!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2008

My daughter attended the 1/2 day K4 last year and is currently in Kindergarten. The faculty are great. They not only build knowledge in their students, but also help them learn great life lessons. We are thrilled with the academic achievement of our daughter. She is reading just about everything we put in front of her. Her language and math skills are impressive (she even corrects her parents when we dont say something right). The teachers do a great job in building a solid foundation for future learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2007

I gave 2 kids that attend this school. They are in Kindergarten and first grade. I have been very impressed with the level of education that they have been receiving. My 5 year old has already learned to read and has an interest in reading and learning that I wish I would have had at her age. My first grader shows similar interest with exceptional results. I highly recommend this school to anyone that wants to give their kid(s) a quality education in a Christian enviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2005

I was invited to attend a friend's K5 graduation at Silver State last year. After being completely blown away by the program the students put on (including a display of all subjects learned, most impressively their incredible reading skills at such a young age), I immediately decided I wanted my child in this school! My son is now in K4 this year, and I am daily amazed at what he is learning, not only academically, but also socially, behaviorally, and on and on I could go. I love his little friends, and the teachers are not only professional, but also love the students and it shows greatly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2005

This school has very little extra-curricular activites. There aren't clubs that a child could join. There is very little variety in sports. Many important life skills are not being taught at this school. CFS doenst even exist at Silver State. If one wanted thier child's horizons broadened, then i do not reccommend placing your child in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2005

Silver State is a private school with a Christ-centered basis for all areas of teaching. Most of the curriculum is taugh from a Biblical veiwpoint. The teachers are godly men and women who truly care for the children they are teaching. Available to the elementary students are classes such as physical education, library, music, choir, band, art and computer. Parents are welcome to participate in many areas of the students school day from lunch duty, library helpers, or playground supervision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2005

High college prep academics and music programs. All atendees/families have a very similar faith (Baptist). This is a non-demoninational school, but emphasis on relgious education is centered around Baptist belief system. Conservative dress code. High expectations on student behavior and self government. Low student/teacher ratios. Teachers try to build relationships with students, not just teach them. Limited classes outside of basic academics, but working on including more variety. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 56%
Hispanic 14% 32%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Melvin Cacayorin
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS
Fax number
  • (303) 922-4573

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14711 West Morrison Road
Morrison, CO 80465
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 922-8850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT