Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Rocky Mountain Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 300 students

Our school is best known for high-quality, classical and Christian education.
 
 

 
 

Living in Niwot

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $286,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2014

Our children have attended RMCA for over 8 years, starting at 2 years old. We love RMCA and could not be more pleased with our children's development and academics. We highly recommend RMCA. Our children look forward to going to school everyday and enjoy their teachers. Parents and the PTO are very involved and supportive--the community share many good times together at fundraisers and school events--the teachers really care and we appreciate the leadership. One of the best parts that we are looking forward to is the middle school. There our children will enjoy having Music, P.E., Art and Spanish. They don't have to choose just one for an elective, they get them all for the entire year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2014

If you're interested in a preschool that chooses to discipline a (just turned) three year old by multiple trips to the principal's office and scorning time-outs for not napping and 'disrupting the class', this is your school. This is not a school that I would recommend for preschool based on their disciplinary approach. We are a conservative family with more traditional values and thought this school would be a good fit. Not the case. I found their disciplinary actions (based on the fact that nap time was a big transition from nap time at home) to be extremely age-inappropriate and a great way to bring down a young person's self-esteem. We opted to leave the school after a 2-month attempt. As I mentioned, we are a conservative, Catholic family. My husband and I both attended Catholic schools growing up and this is a much different experience than we could have imagined.I believe in building children's self-image during these formative years....not bringing their self-esteem down. If there's an issue, work with it. Figure it out in a positive manner. Be creative in the disciplinary approach with a three year old. This was not RMCA's philosophy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2013

Our children attended RMCA for the past decade. We could not be more pleased with their development, and we highly recommend the school. Parents are very involved and supportive--the community is tight--the teachers really care and we really appreciated the leadership. The classical model is very effective.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

Three of my children went all the way through Rocky Mountain Christian Academy, and received an outstanding academic education, developed a solid spiritual foundation, and established relationships that have lasted far beyond their school years. This is a place that nurtures children as individuals while challenging them to achieve. My children had VERY different needs and abilities, and the teachers were responsive and supportive to each of them. It was a wonderful community for our whole family. I highly recommend it to other families looking for a high-quality Christian school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2013

An academic upgrade for my son. He has been challenged with courses like Logic, not offered at his previous school. He is thrilled with extracurricular activities such as Jazz Band. We are thrilled with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2013

My child attended This school for two years and did well academically. However, I would never trust this school with my children. I found out that my child was being bullied. When we talked to the principal about it we were told that this would be taken care of. I also want to note the fact that the principal knew about this four months before she ever notified me. Well, we were notified again by the teachers that the situation was still going on. When we confronted the principal again, she knew nothing about it. Do you really want your child at a school that the principal is not aware of things going on?? We had to remove our child because we felt that he was no longer safe here and we could no longer trust the principal to take responsibility for what had happened.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

Great school have gone here since preschool. I'm in 7th grade now. Homework is hard but I still enjoy school. Band is awesome.


Posted May 9, 2012

My three children have grown up at RMCA over the last decade. I can't think of a better gift to have given them.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 20, 2009

I have three children enrolled at RMCA and could not be more pleased. Excellent value. Christian education, character development and high academic standards set it apart.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 62%
Hispanic 6% 29%
Asian 2% N/A
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Sylvia Robinson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Direct instruction
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • participate in local programs
Girls sports
  • participate in local programs

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Drama club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Many
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9447 Niwot Rd
Niwot, CO 80503
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 652-9162

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT