Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Shepherd Valley Waldorf School

Private | PK-8 | 7 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Niwot

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $286,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2014

My daughter has attended Shepherd Valley since kindergarten and is now in the fourth grade. She has been challenged and broadened socially and academically, and has been inspired and delighted by the beauty of the curriculum and the excellence and devotion of the faculty. Anyone who wants to help their child meet the challenges of this fast-paced, technology-driven society and solve the urgent global problems of humanity should begin by looking for a school that nurtures not only the intellect, but the heart and the imagination. Shepherd Valley is a hidden gem in Boulder County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2014

A wonderful school on a beautiful 38 acres that the students get to explore every day. My 5th grader is well versed, balanced and growing in the areas of math, science, German, Chinese, music, painting, building, making, etc... His classroom has a very supportive and non-competitive feeling to it, with students often helping each other learn. The teachers are extraordinary, with an amazing understanding of child development, and age appropriate learning. My child is thriving not only academically, but creatively and socially as well -- this education is as much about growing students/scholars as it is about growing thoughtful, well-adjusted humans. I can say emphatically: I LOVE my child's school, and we are thrilled that we have made attending Shepherd Valley a priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2014

We came into this school during our children's pre-school years and learned about Waldorf education gradually. We were unsure of our plans post early childhood years, but when it came time to go mainstream or stay with the Waldorf tradition at this gem of a school, we realized we just HAD to stay. Shepherd Valley focuses on the whole child through multi-sensory learning. It's a different approach. Even though I am a clinical psychologist with a good understanding of child development and the importance of a well rounded education, it took me a little time to to adjust and fully understand the amazing benefits of a Waldorf education. Since we started in the grades, I have been incredibly impressed with my children's education at this school. I have interacted with students in all grade levels and am struck by how articulate, confidant and emotionally aware they are. I see my children developing into well rounded, critical thinkers who can have intelligent conversations with adults. I feel that sending my children to SVWS is one of the best gift I can give them, and it is easy for me to see why Waldorf education is the fastest growing educational system in the world!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2014

Our experience is that this school has been great for our child's self-esteem! The teachers really care and are there to help each child develop their full capacities. We really wanted to avoid the academic pressure cooker that mainstream schools have become these days. For example, a friend of ours told us that their daughter was all stressed out about a big test coming up--in Kindergarten!! Our child was really shy in Kindergarten, and this kind of pressure would have been really bad for him. The Shepherd Valley Waldorf environment allows youngest children to discover the joy of learning, without the stress. Testing comes later. And yes, we have a different schedule for certain subjects than mainstream schools, so the youngest children get a much fuller development of their imagination, which later becomes a foundation for academic learning, creative problem-solving, critical thinking skills, etc. In addition, this school has a resource that very few schools in the country have: 38 acres of land! We already have a CSA farm and there are more exciting plans in the works. We are SO glad our child has this opportunity to connect with nature and the outdoors!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2013

This is a great school! Teachers are dedicated and staff is committed. Be ready to learn a lot about child development and community work. Parents are asked to be highly invovled and to make a real commitment to the education and their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

Well-intentioned staff, but underfunded school and lack of resources hinders their ability to provide a great education. If planning to have your child attend Waldorf to high school, Shining Mountain provides a much more robust education for not a lot more cost. If considering switching to public school when your child is in elementary, it is highly likely that your child will be behind grade level expectations and their self-esteem could suffer in the transition to public school. Proceed with caution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

Great school for children who love the outdoors and who want to be engaged by a rich and truly interesting curriculum. A dynamic education, outstanding teachers and a fun place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2010

A hidden treasure of a school, Shepherd Valley has such heart and soul and all the students benefit from the incredible cadre of teachers. Students are taught to think so deeply and to consider their studies carefully. It's so worth the visit. One family said, we considered other Waldorf schools, but at Shepherd Valley, every single person we met was warm and welcoming and we just know our kids will get the most incredible education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Shepherd Valley is a grass roots school, founded on the principle that children deserve respect and deserve their childhood. We earn theirs by giving them ours. We do this in many different ways. The school strives to cultivate their imaginations, honoring their individualities, and see them as unique individuals who have come here to fulfill destinies. The teachers and parents work together to strengthen our community and our support of the growing children. We may not have much in the way of money, but we've got a lot of spirit and have pulled together to keep our school alive in the toughest of times. Our faculty is as cohesive as they come and we all love and respect each other, even if we disagree. We work out of consensus and work long and hard for the children that come to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 56%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Hispanic 5% 32%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AWSNA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Waldorf
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6500 West Dry Creek Parkway
Niwot, CO 80503
Phone: (303) 652-0130

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT