Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Colorado Virtual Academy

Charter | K-12 | 4100 students

Best known for our individualized learning plans and award winning curriculum.
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 18, 2013

This is an amazing school because the teachers really do care, they are always striving to keep students involved and keep parents involved, they have various clubs and school activities aside from school work itself. No school is easy, so I'm not sure why one person is bickering on the work load. This school is amazing because students are entitled to a flexible schedule that works personally for them, while even if they miss out on class meetings they can still view recordings of them. Teachers and staff here work very hard to help students become the best they can be whether that be through k-mails or phone calls, they really do genuinely want the students to succeed.


Posted January 16, 2013

My children have been enrolled at COVA for 9 years. The curriculum is rigorous and challenging and will give your child an excellent education - but it takes hard work on the part of the child and the parents. In the last two or three years and now that my kids are in high school, the staff has tried to be much more hands on and group participation is required. This is not our style so we will be looking for something else next year. If you put some effort in and are willing to work within the rules - your child will get a superior education at COVA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2013

COVA is by far the best choice when reviewing virtual schools in Colorado. Do not be confused or fooled by the statistics reference above, as a majority of kids (like mine) choose to attend COVA when they have tried making it work their regular school. What these websites should post is the number of times my son was bullied, beat up, or came home from school in tears last year compared to this year now enrolled in COVA. I can tell you, you'd be reading a very different overview of what this school continues to do for families like mine. My son is not afraid anymore. He enjoys interracting with his classmates. You should be ashamed of yourselves if you support the requset to deny a supporting charter, as you are denying the 4600 students who came to COVA for situaions like my son's. In addtion, I'd totally agree with those who state "you get what you put in". For High School students who are used to easier open book multiple choice exams, this isn't comparable. The curriculum is rigorous, and challenges both my son and I on a daily basis - in a good way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2013

After doing this school with 2 of my sons, one in middle school and one in high school, I can tell you it is NOT going to provide them an education. It will give your student an excessive workload, and basically prevent them from getting an A in anything because of faulty test questions that you have to complain to the teacher about to get the grade corrected (if you get lucky enough to have a teacher who will take the time and has the cognitive ability to review the question for correctness - good luck with that). Did this happen once? Yes at least once on EVERY quiz and test. This school is not for anybody.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2013

This is my first year with COVA, and so far, it has been a major disappointment and an overall headache. I am a junior in the program and I can honestly say that this is one of the worst schooling programs that I have ever been involved with. I have been to private schools and public schools, as well as being homeschooled, and COVA is at the bottom of the heap. All throughout high school, I was an A student. I was in honors classes, I was excelling, and I genuinely loved school. This all changed when I started COVA. The teachers are not helpful, let alone friendly, and the majority of them seem to not even know what they're teaching. Many of the "computer scored" tests are faulty and the Spanish language program is an absolute joke. This curriculum has caused more grief between my parents and me than anything else in my life. I went from straight A's (and one B) to mostly B's. The workload is stifling. This is especially bad because this is my junior year and this is the year that colleges are looking at. I pray that this all works out. Please go with some other program, I beg you. I would NOT recommend COVA to anyone. This is absolutely my final year.


Posted January 8, 2013

I am a Junior at COVA, and I would like to share my experience with you. I have always been a top student (graduating my freshman and sophomore years with a 4.0 in other online schools), and I have always enjoyed school. COVA has changed all that. I start school at 7:30, and work until around 4-4:30. I submit quality work, but I have found that it is almost impossible to get constantly good grades. I study, and work very hard, but it all seems for not. The workload is ridiculous. Countless times I've looked up from a project and thought "Why am I doing this? This isn't benefiting me". COVA is a freight train. If you fall behind, or miss a day, you're lost. And it's almost impossible to make up what you've missed, and even if you do, you get heavily penalized for being late. The social events aren't good. I have no COVA friends. And worse of all, at the end of the day, there's no time for your non-school related passions. And if there is, you're too depressed or worried about school to enjoy doing it. Find a Co-op near you, or do Sonlight. This is really not good. And you can't leave COVA without an "F" on your transcript, no questions asked. Please think about something else!!


Posted December 11, 2012

I agree with the parents who say that you get what you put into it. We are very happy with COVA & my daughter says she is learning more now than when she went to regular public school. We end our school day way earlier than regular public school & have more time for family time & fun activities. It also allows for her to get ahead in subjects she excels in & spend some quality time working through the subjects she needs extra help in. The teacher is there for contact if you need help, though we haven't needed much. Love it. Love it. Love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2012

As a student I hate this school a lot, it's nice that you don't have to go anywhere/get up really early, but the teachers seem like they love getting you into trouble. I don't think I've ever gotten into anymore trouble at any other school more than COVA, because I've always been a decent student/person. I also find it is making me a little depressed that I am missing out on making new friends, getting very little socialization with anyone but the teachers. I haven't even had my first relationship with anyone yet, which makes me a little worried seeing as all my other friends have. The learning is there, but it's not as good as traditional school.


Posted September 18, 2012

After four weeks of school, my son did not have the laptop they promised at enrollment--or even a teacher. Additionally, we weren't called and emailed when we were told we would, and when we did receive communication it was largely inaccurate. COVA blamed K12 and K12 blamed COVA, but no one wanted to help solve any of the problems. As a parent, I'm terribly disappointed. As a taxpayer, I'm outraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2012

Is there a way to give zero stars? They should make that option for COVA. The only thing we liked was the organized way the lessons are planned, but we never got a teacher to help us when there were questions or problems...and boy were there questions and problems! I would say they were mistaken about a lot of things, but when it happens that often, it feels like they're just downright lying. I think they're only in it for the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2012

Awesome! You get out of it what you put into it, just like life. If you do the work, it is hard not to excel. Teachers always willing to help. Just like every school, I'm sure there are going to be a few bad apples.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2012

We love this school! We have tons of help from the teacher and she is always available. I have been able to talk to the administration about several issues and they have been super responsive. We will be attending next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

This school is horrible!!!!!!! No support at all they throw you in and it's sink or swim. If your child falls behind they don't offer you any help. There are way better schools out there. If you enroll your child here you will regret it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

This school is a nightmare they are disorganized. When you ask the teachers for help they act like it is a difficult task. Heaven forbid you child need special ed. No matter how much work my child does his % never go up. When I asked why haven't they offered us any resources they replied " I don't know what kind of resources you are asking for?" Hello shouldn't a school administrator know when a child is falling behind due to a learning disability. This school make me SICK they should be shut down.


Posted December 6, 2011

We have been in COVA nearly four years. It is much deteriorated the past year. It has been an ongoing nightmare of 1) teachers violating COVA handbook grading policies to penalize students. Both of my students had teachers doing this, there is no accountability for teachers and retaliation for students requesting the handbook be followed, uncaring teachers, incompetent and narcissistic principal who bumbled the CSAP testing in 2010 which made them null and void (By the way the CSAP taken in March 2010 the results have still not been sent out) Young incompetent guidance counselors for high school, pass the buck attittude of teachers and principals, workload is overwhelming. Kids will definitely be made to feel uncared about, Both of my kids were honors and advanced students when they entered COVA. Now, both are behind and hate school.definitely not good for gifted students.School makes parents do all documentation of gifted-talented. COVA will not even send for records form previous school. You will have to fight, fight, fight. It was a good elementary school option but bad for middle and high school. Foreign language program is a joke. Parent involvement is greatly discouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2011

The one thing I have noticed is that COVA is having to be very reactionary to the State of Colorado's scrutiny and position towards charter schools. This has resulted in a mix of issues, some positive and some negative. . Its easy to get caught up in the humdrum and negative when change is occurring, but sometimes it takes a step back perspective to appreciate the system versus alternatives, even with its faults. Things to consider: This is hands on by the Parent - as a learning coach there is a significant time commitment The curriculum is easily 1 year ahead of our local brick & mortar. It will be difficult. You will find great teachers and okay teachers, its up to you to develop those relationships and make sure your getting the most of the education COVA is an alternative, it gives kids who are being held back a chance to excel and for special needs it helps invoke an environment that provides fundamentals and a positive learning experience. COVA is not a babysitter, it requires lots of parental interaction COVA is not perfect, K12 is a great curriculum but there are aspects that we groan over. As a parent I can extend teachings and *have* a say in what they are learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2011

High school--bad teachers, worse curriculum. Ambiguous test questions on computer graded tests. On quizzes, your student can see the computer mistakes and you can request the teacher correct the grading. But you cannot see unit test questions, so you don't get to find out what was graded inaccurately, nor challenge bad questions/computer grading. "Teacher graded questions" on the unit tests are also a nightmare, especially Biology where you can never find out what you were graded wrong on from the teacher. Too much homework, not enough real education, very low-level Freshman algebra--equivalent to middle-school pre-algebra of the 1980s. I have found pro-global warming, pro-communist ideology taught (i.e., Geography class teaches command economies are more equal and fair than free market economies). In the mandatory "Reaching Your Academic Potential" class for freshman an exercise lets you click on certain academic choices for an example student, so you may direct his academic choices and see the results. When he dropped out of college to play in a band he became a rock star. When he pursued sports in college, he was injured and only became a low-paid high school sports coach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2011

I fully agree with everything that was posted by the parent who has been doing k12 for the past 5 years with COVA and CAVA. This is my 4th year with COVA and the change between this year and the past three years is like night and day. They are completely disorganized. The k12 curriculum on its own is quite challenging, which is why I enjoy it. My kids are both in the Barton Reading Program for Dyslexia, however, and our support staff has been completely taken away. We have enjoyed wonderful support the past 3 years, and this year due to "restructuring" they are unable to provide the one teacher we had to support that program. Very unhappy this year with COVA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2011

I have been doing K12 for 5 years now, 2 with COVA and 3 with CAVA. I have in the past greatly enjoyed both schools. This year, however, they are extremely disorganized, teachers keep changing on us, books have not been shipped on time, they made us change our daughter's math class telling us it was no longer a supported class, and there are a lot of class connects, face to face meetings, and study island requirements. As a mother of 3 it is very difficult to keep up with the children, their different schedules and all the demands being placed on them this year. I still love the K12 cirriculum and would recommend it, I just am having trouble with the demands upon the Learning Coach and the students this year by COVA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

We had our son go through 6th thru 9th grades.When it came to the ninth grade things changed. My son did all the lessons every day an passed the daily quizes, the same as he did the previous 3 years, but for unknown reasons the teachers failed him in most of the classes an he got a C in History an a D in Physcial Science. He made up the classes he didn't pass in summer school at Aurora Central High an was admitted for the next year for 10th grade every year he had a 4.0 grade average he graduates this Monday the 16th of May because Cova failed him he was just 1.7 fro m getting the high honors awards.We constantly were telling the teacher at Cova that he is doing the work an passing the Art, Math,an English classes it was like talking to a brick wall.We are so glad we had him go to a regular school. Cova was a grave mistake.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

256 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

416 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

451 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

451 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

451 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
25%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

451 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
15%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students57%
Female57%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Free lunch eligible37%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%

Reading

All Students64%
Female70%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)28%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%

Writing

All Students30%
Female33%
Male28%
Black (not Hispanic)12%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)29%
Free lunch eligible19%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch34%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities34%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English30%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Female56%
Male49%
Black (not Hispanic)31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligible31%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)27%
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English53%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant52%

Reading

All Students56%
Female68%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligible42%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%

Writing

All Students32%
Female44%
Male22%
Black (not Hispanic)13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)35%
Free lunch eligible15%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch38%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities35%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English32%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students44%
Female46%
Male42%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Free lunch eligible34%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch47%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
Students without disabilities48%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English45%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant45%

Reading

All Students56%
Female63%
Male49%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Free lunch eligible46%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%

Science

All Students36%
Female44%
Male29%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)39%
Free lunch eligible32%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch38%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities40%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English37%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant37%

Writing

All Students37%
Female50%
Male25%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)38%
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch41%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities42%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English38%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students45%
Female47%
Male43%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic13%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch51%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities51%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English46%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant45%

Reading

All Students64%
Female72%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligible57%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%

Writing

All Students45%
Female56%
Male35%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch49%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities51%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English45%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students30%
Female31%
Male29%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)32%
Free lunch eligible11%
Reduced lunch eligible17%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch37%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
Students without disabilities33%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English30%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant30%

Reading

All Students60%
Female68%
Male53%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligible44%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)19%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%

Writing

All Students46%
Female54%
Male38%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)48%
Free lunch eligible28%
Reduced lunch eligible26%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English46%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students25%
Female22%
Male28%
Black (not Hispanic)20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)27%
Free lunch eligible14%
Reduced lunch eligible25%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch29%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities28%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English25%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant25%

Reading

All Students53%
Female57%
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Free lunch eligible40%
Reduced lunch eligible56%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Science

All Students30%
Female26%
Male34%
Black (not Hispanic)16%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)32%
Free lunch eligible18%
Reduced lunch eligible19%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch34%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities33%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English30%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant30%

Writing

All Students35%
Female42%
Male28%
Black (not Hispanic)20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)38%
Free lunch eligible20%
Reduced lunch eligible25%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch41%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities40%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English36%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students17%
Female17%
Male17%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)18%
Free lunch eligible8%
Reduced lunch eligible18%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch20%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities18%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English17%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant17%

Reading

All Students61%
Female66%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligible59%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)19%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%

Writing

All Students44%
Female49%
Male38%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)49%
Free lunch eligible25%
Reduced lunch eligible41%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch51%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities47%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students16%
Female12%
Male19%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic7%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)18%
Free lunch eligible7%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch19%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities17%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English16%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant16%

Reading

All Students72%
Female79%
Male64%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligible55%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)43%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Science

All Students36%
Female34%
Male37%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)39%
Free lunch eligible18%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch40%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities39%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English37%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant36%

Writing

All Students45%
Female57%
Male34%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)48%
Free lunch eligible18%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities48%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English44%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 56%
Hispanic 12% 32%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A41%
Male 50%N/A51%
Female 50%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Brick and Mortar Public School
Homeschool
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 20% (2012)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 35% (2012)
Percentage of students going to the military 5% (2012)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 10% (2012)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 30% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Colorado University
Colorado State University
University of NorthernColorado
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • AdvancED Accreditation (2010)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
  • Engineering

Arts & music

Music
  • Theory
Clubs
  • Anime club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Clubs
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • CU Succeed Program
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Heidi Heineke-Magri
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Part-time study
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (303) 255-7044

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • K12 curriculum, mastery based
  • Standards-based
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Business management
  • Computer programming
  • Engineering
  • Pre-law

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • CU Succeed Program
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Local school teams
Girls sports
  • Local school teams

Arts & music

Music
  • Theory

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anime club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • History club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • National Honor Society
  • Over 100 online clubs
  • Student council/government
  • Writing Club
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
More from this school
  • We have a very strong family support system; with many in-person events throughout the state each month.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Brick and Mortar Public School
Homeschool

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Colorado University
Colorado State University
University of NorthernColorado
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
CU Succeed Program
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
2 year college - 20%
4 year college - 35%
Military - 5%
Vocational - 10%
Workforce - 30%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11990 Grant Street, Suite 402
#402
Northglenn, CO 80233
Website: Click here
Phone: (877) 900-5602

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Community Christian
Northglenn, CO



Stem School
Northglenn, CO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT