Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

The Studio School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 17 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

After being at the Studio schools for years I am at the breaking point and thrilled that we won't be returning next year. Don't expect help for your child unless they are at least 2 YEARS behind their grade level. We have been through some serious situations in this school that were handled so poorly I still can't believe it. The end of the year can't come soon enough. I truly worry about my children switching to a regular school and being really far behind due to the focus on the arts. We love the arts, but there needs to be balance. The school scores have dropped tremendously while we have been here. The staff is nice, but trying to get help for your child is ridiculous and a battle you will lose, the system is setting them up for failure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2012

This is our first year at the Studio School and we love it! It has such a strong community feel to it and you always feel welcome. My daughter has fun while learning and that is important to us that she is supported in being a life-long learner. The teachers are friendly and happy to be teaching here. Learning through the arts offers the children another way of expressing themselves while learning the academics of their grade level and that is what we have noticed with our child, that she can still do what she loves (art and music) while learning. The school relies on parent involvement and you want to participate as much as you can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

The Studio School offers a wonderful arts integrated education! I can not praise them enough for all of the effort that they take to ensure that all of the children become engaged, involved, and accelerate in all subjects. For parents who have children who can benefit from a "hands-on" approach to education or have children who think three dimensionally then this is the school for them. Kudos! Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

We love the Studio School! We have a Kindergartener and 1st grader and the academic programs are impressive to us. We love all the opportunitues for arts integration, and watching our young kids perform several times a year. The staff is very creative and the kids love going to school there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2012

My child attended Studio School its first year. What I liked about it was that all children of all socio-economic backgrounds were treated equally and with respect. What the kids wore wasn't important and bullying is nipped in the bud immediately. Kids have a creative freedom here and there are some really nice, down to earth kids and parents at this school. There isn't PE at this school, instead it is dance and performing arts. The fine arts program is amazing. This school is not a good fit if your child likes to be "the star". The performances are magical but it's a community effort, no one person is "better" than the rest. They tend to cater more to boys since they are the minority. Very few parents volunteered when my child attended and some parents really lacked manners. If your child is gifted and needs acceleration, this is NOT the right school. My child had to repeat an entire year of math because they could not accomodate her. This school will add a grade every year until it is K-8, so although it says K-5 now, next year there will be a 6th and so on. Parking and speeding in the school zone were a terrible problem daily. The BASE program was a little too military.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

Such a great school! They nurture every student's creativity and make it fun to learn.


Posted February 7, 2012

The Studio School touches the hearts and minds of the children that attend there. I see it when I go to the performances. It is very apparent that the children are in an environment that encourages them to grow, learn, be creative, and express themselves. The Studio School has touched my heart as well and I believe this school is a great example of everything a school should and could be. I am grateful that my nephew is a student at this school. I only wish he could continue his education here beyond the fifth grade. THANK YOU STUDIO SCHOOL!


Posted January 25, 2012

As a public school teacher, I am so happy that I chose Studio School for own children to attend. Other public schools are so focused on standardized tests that other ways of learning besides paper and pencil tasks are not considered anymore. I love that my children are given the opportunity to express themselves via the arts in their homeroom while learning the basics skills and content as well. We don't know what the world will be like in 20 years, but we will need citizens who are critical thinkers and innovative to be leaders. The Studio School's approach certainly promotes creativity and critical thinking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2012

This is my son's first year (2nd grade) at The Studio School and he has learned more here than the past 2 years at his previous school. The lesson plans are interactive and incorporate different ways of learning. The teachers and administration really care about the kids and want to help in any way they can. I highly recommend The Studio School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2012

If there ever was a school that was built for my daughters it is The Studio School. This school is a wonderful place for students to foster their creative side through song, dance, and performance. The abilities these elementary children demonstrate through the arts is equal to that of any student in middle or high school. The productions The Studio School puts on are of the same quality of a high school production and even more impressive due to the fact that these are kindergarten through 5th graders. The Studio School is also exceptional in teaching the classroom curriculums. The teachers of the school are dedicated and skilled in all of the core subjects. One of the most special aspects of The Studio School is how it structures the classrooms in such a way that the classroom teachers and the Arts teachers are able to combine the arts and the curriculm together to create a well rounded experience for the students. Whatever subject is being studied, the arts are brought right into the classroom. It is an experience that is exceptional for all students who attend there. The Studio School is truly a place where the Arts meet the Classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

My daughter loves Studio and is doing so well! The teachers are kind, fun, and she's learning so much! Plus the arts emphasis nurtures her whole person and lets her explore her creativity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

What a wonderful school for children to learn and thrive in. We feel so forunate that our child attends The Studio School. I wish every child had the opportunity to attend such a terrific school. I only wish it were K-12.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2012

I can't say enough good things about this school! We feel like our children are getting a private school education for free. All of the teachers are wonderful; they are intelligent and extremely dedicated to their students and passionate about teaching. There is not a single teacher that I wouldn't want my children to have, which is rare in most public schools. The principal at this school is equally amazing - passionate, dedicated, and highly motivated to make this school the best it can be. The Studio School offers unique experiences in all academic areas through their arts-integration curriculum. The student performances are confidence-boosting, enriching experiences for the children. All of the teachers have very high expectations academically and creatively, and they excel at meeting each students' needs to help them meet expectations. They simply do not allow anyone to fall through the cracks at this school. It is amazing to see so many children thriving in this supportive, creative environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2012

We are so happy to have found this school for our daughter. She is engaged in her work, enthusiastic about school and she loves her teachers who go above and beyond what they are expected to help our students succeed (thanks Miss Natalie!). The principal is a great advocate for the school and we feel fortunate to have a tuition free option for an arts integrated school when so many other schools are having their arts programs cut out of their curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2012

We could not have found a better school for our daughter. She is excelling academically, but also has opportunities to explore creative outlets that she would not have at a traditional public school. She gets excited to go to school every day. The teachers and support staff are great and truly care about the students well being and success. With all of the budget cuts and arts programs being removed from public schools I am so glad that we found this school and decided to enroll her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

My son went to a private kindergarten and flourished, then fell through the cracks in first grade at his home school. We couldn't believe it when we found the Studio School. It was an absolute perfect for him. The school is amazing and the teachers are the most passionate teachers I've ever seen. They love what they do so much and it shows through their students. My son is finally engaged in what he is learning and prospering. I highly recommend the Studio School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

Amazing, Beautiful staff and teachers. When your child loves going to school everyday that is what it is all about!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

Great school.........definitely check it out........stop by for a visit so you can see what it's all about!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

My daughter has thrived in this school! The teachers are amazing, the curriculum is awesome. The Arts integrated program is the best I've seen. I noticed a review that thought academics were lacking, but our kids test in the top of the district. My son (now 23) went to the Challenge School in the Cherry Creek School district and I see the same type of academic requirements at the Studio School as at that top rated G/T school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

ITs a arts integrated school
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
32%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female76%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Reading

All Students66%
Female77%
Male47%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligible37%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant66%

Writing

All Students34%
Female38%
Male26%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)31%
Free lunch eligible21%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities37%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English33%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female82%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Reading

All Students71%
Female68%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%

Writing

All Students52%
Female56%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Female59%
Male39%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)48%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch54%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English47%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant52%

Reading

All Students74%
Female81%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%

Science

All Students44%
Female50%
Male33%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)45%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch49%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities46%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English44%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant44%

Writing

All Students48%
Female56%
Male33%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)45%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch51%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English47%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 56%
Hispanic 23% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10604 Grant Dr
Northglenn, CO 80233
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 972-3620

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Vantage Point
Northglenn, CO



Global Village Academy
Northglenn, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT