Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westgate Charter School

Charter | K-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 38 ratings
2013:
Based on 23 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

75 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

Westgate and their mission/vision sounds great on paper, but this school has been nothing but a disappoint from the moment my child set foot on that campus. As a parent with a twice exceptional student Westgate sounded great, because of how they integrate center types of accommodations school-wide. However, Westgate-and especially Chris the Director-- thinks she has all the answers, and creates an environment extremely difficult to work with in terms of IEP and 504. Bottom line is no outside therapies sought for my child were reinforced at school and his education and progress has suffered. I caution any parent to take any sort of in school testing with a grain of salt, as I did. While Westgate reported on grade level, when tested by a learning specialist outside of school he was two grade levels below. We are now spending almost all our time getting our child outside therapies and interventions, simply to undo what was not addressed at Westgate. Further, the communication between staff at all levels is a joke. Do not expect any progress reports or responses to emails. It should also be noted the turnover in families & staff is extremely high. Westgate should be ashamed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Tuesday, July 29, 2014

We are going into our 4th year at Westgate and could not be happier. Both of my gifted children thrive here. Westgate is different. It is not for everyone, But which school is? When checking into charter school, each offers something different, and Westgate is different in an amazing way. Each year, both my children have grown, academically, emotionally, and spiritually. This is the BEST place for my kids!! I have great communication with both teachers and administration, and have had my children's problems solved in a timely manner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2014

I agree with the review posted May 5th. Also, the teacher and student turnover rate is significant and not just after the school year ends but during the school year. If another Westgate family recommends Westgate, be aware that they are offering free student fees if you refer a family that stays until the student count (for funding by the district) is over in October. A lot of families have left. We were at this school for a long time but left due to its instability and poor communication. The leadership is very convincing and will win you over at the information nights but they disappear and avoid you once you enroll your student. They will tell you not everyone is a good fit for Westgate. This is true, especially is you like your school to be accountable and communicate in a timely manner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

I usually ignore the single star reviews, but I have to say this school really deserves one star, if any. We pulled our children out mid-year. They were playing at school, and not much else. When I tried to check on my son's progress in math, I found his folder empty. There's no homework and so I had no idea what he was supposed to be learning. There doesn't seem to be any kind of plan or sequence, and one teacher asked me to leave her classroom when I asked how he did on a test. I really wanted to give this school a chance. We have twice exceptional kids, and we were compelled, but you should be very careful when considering this school. There are a lot of very good reviews, but if you'll notice they all kind of come at the same time, like the school has its staff write a lot of positives to offset the negatives from real families. Also, good teachers are leaving due to tense director-down relationships. Turnover rate is extraordinary, and from what I hear there are fears of retaliation from the top down when a teacher wants to look for another job. This negative culture filters down to students and we felt it keenly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2014

Our sons, grades 1 & 5, are in their second year at Westgate and we couldn t be happier. As a college teacher, I hear constant complaints that students can t think critically. That's why my kids go to Westgate. The level of education is hugely better than at the other two schools my oldest attended. They do projects that challenge gifted kids to think outside the box and see applications for what they are learning. I have amazing conversations with my son at a level that I d be happy if my college students could attain. The teachers, especially the 5/6 team, are the best teachers ever. They re creative, caring, fun, and inventive. My son adores them. Other things I love: no homework, small class sizes, REAL individualized education, responsiveness to parents (both kids were moved up in math by our request), breaks and recess, workshop to teach kids responsibility for their own assignments, amazing communication from the teachers (I know exactly what my kids are working on each week in each subject and I can look up their grades any time), laptops for each kid, etc. This is our third school and we finally got it right. We commute 25 minutes each way because this school is worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2014

Our choice to send our children to WCS was the worst parenting decision we have ever made. In our defense, the parent information meeting and tour was misleading and not consistent with what is really happening once your children actually attend. They have a great sales pitch and act as though they care when you are in the process of enrolling, but once you are part of the community and express any concern you are chastised and made to feel disposable. When trying to have conversations about my children, their safety, their learning, I was ignored. It is chaos. My son's anxiety has become much more intense because of the debacle of a school due to the lack of structure and safety. There is no leadership. They may have a director, but she is not a leader. She does not know any of the kids in the primary grades or anything about them. She has made it evident that she does not care to. She doesn't try to get to know any of them and my kids didn't even know she was the "principal." I feel like such a fool for falling for the false advertisement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2014

My children enjoy Westgate with all of the freedom it allows and our family loves the philosophy of the school and wish they actually practiced what they preached. Unfortunately the safety concerns, lack of communication including not returning messages or emails, very untimely progress reporting (if at all), lack of cleanliness, not knowing where our money is spent or how the school is functioning, lack of staff considering that the school goes through high school now and the very high staff turnover rate, we have decided to quietly move elsewhere for next year. People's concerns on this site are valid. There are strengths as well, but be cautious entering this school. I've noticed a sudden influx of positive comments just as new families might be considering this school. Buyer beware. This school is a work in progress. My children will no longer carve the rugged path for the next generation, but will get what they need now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

I am a parent of a 3rd and 1st grader. One gifted, one never tested, neither twice exceptional, but they are wild ponies. They have both attended the school since Kindergarten. While the school has had its bumps along the road, it is a wonderful school. I am a regular and vocal volunteer. Here is why we love it, which is also why others don't (there are pros and cons to each of these things):modified year round schedule:my kids need the breaks and it makes for AMAZING times to take vacations. Recess before lunch:my kids would never eat if lunch was first. Computers for each child:every school should have this. Multiple recess/quiet time/soft start:although the day is longer, this is a wonderful benefit for my kids(some feel it is wasted time). Small class size:the con is that there is less $ for the school, but anyone who doesn't think small class size is important needs to volunteer more. No homework:we have tools like spelling city and IXL to do with the kids at home so we can keep an eye on how they are doing but it is on our own time.Gifted programming: I think my 3rd grader would hate school by now if he were in a traditional program. No playground:let them come up with ideas!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

Westgate is a school dedicated to providing an education for individual learning styles. They specialize in teaching to children that have unique learning styles and encourage imagination and individualism. They feel that it is important to nurture emotional as well as educational needs. This has been a fantastic place for both my children to grow and learn. My kid's love going to school and have thrived in this supportive and creative environment. Their out of the box approach to learning has improved my children's lives and educational experience. We love Westgate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

I love my school because my kids are both challenged and encouraged to be who they truly are. We tried the public schools, and she was so bored she was miserable. We had lots of temper tantrums and unrest. Now she has chances to expand, work for something and she's much happier and calm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

Westgate Community Charter is an AWESOME place! The director has an amazing vision that I hope is adopted by many other educational leaders. Her ideas about how to educate out young people and create envisioned adults makes sense. Moreover, it works! My kiddo LOVES to go to school and is thriving! She is learning in a way that doesn't try to make her be something/someone she isn't. Her innate ability and desire to learn and grow is fostered at Westgate. I adore this school and the woman who was courageous enough to take education to another level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

My kids have academically thrived at Westgate. The groupings for literacy and math have helped them be pushed to excel. They do many projects that teach about different subjects and incorporate curriculum across multiple subjects. I like that they are given lots of access to technology. I wish more parents would get involved so the community would have more participation in activities and events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

We have been at Westgate for several years and my child has had an outstanding experience. He is a gifted student who was an underachiever his other school and his scores on both the state assessments and MAP tests have improved every year. He is surrounded by students and teachers who care about him as a person and know who he is. From administration to the front office, the adults model kindness and compassion. I've spent many hours volunteering over the years and so I know what goes on inside the building. I have never met a more dedicated or hardworking staff. A few of the negative comments are specific enough to identify the authors; I know a few things about some of the situations and I wish the school, teachers, and administration could tell you their side of the story. Schools that do things differently are a blessing to their communities. We plan to be at Westgate for many years to come and know that no school is perfect. We still believe in the vision, we believe in the staff, and we watch our child receive the same support from the school. I wish the negatives (parents and staff alike) would be and let be. Talk to the happy people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

I was very disappointed with the application process. Once we received a seat offer the administration were very standoffish and unpleasant. I tried for over a month to visit the school, but the school visits were never scheduled on the site and the administration refused unscheduled visits. I tried to schedule a day visit for my child to shadow a student, frst they didn't allow visits above a certain grade, then they didn't allow visits below a certain grade. This was after my child was told that she could have a visit. I pressed the issue and the administrator finally set up a visit. Then I wanted to discuss my daughters medical situation with the teacher prior to the start of the school day. The administrator ushered me out of the building, was very short with me, and refused to listen to me talk about her medical needs. Then I received a very curt e-mail from the administrator scolding me for talking to a teacher during school hours. I was never told that this was a rule. Why don't they want me to visit the building? What are they hiding? Why are parents kept at the front door and never allowed past the front desk? My children will not be attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

We love this school! Our youngest has been here for 5 years, eldest joined the school 2 years ago. We knew that we wanted to find a place that would allow our youngest child to be able to learn to love school. He's a divergent learner and gifted. Perfect place for him and his older brother loves it as well. Older brother did seven years in another gifted school and decided that he wanted more diversity in the student body. Older child is a more traditional gifted child and says that this school has provided him a different way of learning that has rounded out the other more curriculum-based and rubric based style. Has taught him to think outside of the box and creative approaches to problem solving that weren't presented in his other gifted school. We love that encourages children to develop their own time management skills and gives them power over project management. Could be scary for parents who are used to a more linear and rubric based education. We feel this educational environment is definitely preparing our children for young adulthood more effectively than traditional schools, the bonus being that they are learning a lot and having fun along the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2014

My husband and I are huge supporters of Westgate. We have two gifted children enrolled. The teaching staff are truly the best at what they do. Our children come out to the car each day bursting to share what they did in their classes. It's wonderful to hear their excitement and see their love of learning grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2014

I love teaching at Westgate. It is my dream job. The kids are so smart. They amaze me every single day. My fellow teachers are dedicated and hard working. We get to be creative and plan together which never happened in the schools I used to teach in. It feeds our spirits to work cooperatively which makes for great learning in the classrooms. The administration is always there for us. Any time you have a question, they stop whatever they are doing and listen. I couldn't ask for more. Westgate is a happy place to be for teachers and students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 21, 2014

This is a great school that understands what creatively gifted kids need. Our child is allowed to investigate her passions and learn topics in a meaningful way. I have never noticed a dirty building - and I volunteer every week. All progress reports are available to us online and we had our 3rd round of conferences this week. We know exactly how our child is doing and we couldn't be more pleased with our child's growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2014

Our family has been at Westgate for 4 years and every year it gets better. Our oldest couldn't find his place in a big school. Westgate's small classes were perfect for him. Our middle child would have been fine anywhere and it's been a great match for her too. They both have great friends who think like they do. It's great to see them grow in a community of gifted peers. (And, the no homework policy is a blessing for our home - no arguing at the dinner table.) We can't wait for our little one to start kindergarten next year. We believe 100% in the mission of Westgate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2014

Our kids love school! Thank you Westgate! We transferred in after out 1st grader started to hate school and wanted to quit. There are no more tears after school. 2nd grade has been a new awakening for us. This is what a school should be for gifted kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female75%
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%

Reading

All Students73%
Female88%
Male64%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%

Writing

All Students36%
Female56%
Male25%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)33%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch37%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities43%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English38%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female74%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%

Reading

All Students73%
Female74%
Male71%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%

Writing

All Students45%
Female47%
Male43%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch46%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English46%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female69%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Reading

All Students79%
Female75%
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Science

All Students67%
Female56%
Male74%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%

Writing

All Students49%
Female63%
Male41%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch46%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities49%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English47%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female50%
Male89%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%

Reading

All Students6%
Female0%
Male11%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)7%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch6%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities7%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English6%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant6%

Writing

All Students0%
Female0%
Male0%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)0%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch0%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities0%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English0%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
Female50%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Reading

All Students84%
Female81%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Writing

All Students81%
Female75%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Femalen/a
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%

Reading

All Students92%
Femalen/a
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Science

All Students89%
Femalen/a
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Writing

All Students77%
Femalen/a
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 56%
Hispanic 12% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 4%N/A41%
Male 56%N/A51%
Female 44%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12500 Washington
Northglenn, CO 80233
Phone: (303) 425-0967

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Stem School
Northglenn, CO





Community Christian
Northglenn, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT