Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Frontier Valley Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 670 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2013

We are very happy with Frontier Valley. My child comes home very happy and excited about something that was learned that day. The teachers we have had have all been great. The academic curriculum seems very good. Also, my child comes home with great art projects and very excited about different experiments they did in science. We would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

Canterberry is a great neighborhood to live in, but if you are looking for a great elementary school, you may want to expand your search. With high teacher to student ratios (1:35) in many classes, sub-par curriculum, lack of character/morals training, and an overall lack of expecting excellence were issues that caused us to remove our children from this school. We even watched as kids are allowed to use calculators for math tests. Really? Walk the halls of this lovely school and you see a ton of art projects proudly displayed but very little proof that children are being taught how to write, form intelligent arguments, or stretch their intellect beyond the basics the state requires. It's a great place if you just want an all-day PK-5 government funded childcare service so you can go to work. The staff are all nice people and there certainly are exceptions, but overall you should expect your child will not be very challenged and will fall behind their peers are truly great schools. I hope this school will reverse course and work towards greatness. Every child deserves the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

I am very disappointed at the lack of communication by both the administration as well as the teachers. The web site is not kept up to date and there appears to be no standards for content on the site. As far as academics go I'm very concerned that my child is not getting the appropriate curriculum for his grade and that if we switch schools he would be behind other students. I am seriously considering other educational options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2011

While we are only through the first half of my daughter's kindergarten year I am less than impressed with the ability of the curriculum to keep her challenged. At this point in the year the books brought home are less challenging than what she reads by herself at home and she performs simple arithmetic at home while only counting in class. It is frustrating to see her so bored in one of the strongest school districts in the state and at one of the stronger schools in that district. For first grade, we are strongly considering moving her to a different school with a more advanced curriculum and integrated foreign languages. I truly believe that the teachers and staff care for the students. I appreciate that her teacher has made an effort to keep her, and a couple other children, engaged by providing more difficult material than what is given to the rest of the class. I have other problems with the district and the number of teacher in-service or professional development days which happen at least once a month.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

We recently moved from another school to Frontier Valley Elementary. We have 6 Elementary aged children that attend FVE, and we couldn't be happier with the climate and standard of excellence we are seeing at our new school. Every one of my childrens teachers has taken the time to make them feel welcome and loved from the start we could feel a fabulous difference at FVE! We have been surprised at the personal attention, high standard of education and individual care each of our children have recieved from FVE's amazing teachers, staff and it's great principal Mr Muma. We feel that we have been treated so well that we are sure our school deserves to be named 'America's Favorite'!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

We have the largest school in Douglas county, but yet our principle runs a great school and cares for each of our students. Mr. Muma has even come out to the carpool line and helped my children carry their bags in. Under many buget cuts our school continues to keep their spirits up and raise money for programs that our needed. We have twice as many students as an average elementary school and that alone causes our school to be creative when it comes to managing all of the students. For instance our principle sleep on the school roof in zero degree weather, the coldest night of the year. He lost a bet so on top of the roof is where he camped out, NOW that is a man who cares about his school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

One of our children was having severe anxiety and FVE and it's staff were amazing at working with us to help our son. The principal, vice principal and other key staff members all worked together with my husband and me. What a difference it made!!! I love the HERD program they have to make our kids better people at school and around the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

My daughter loves going to school everyday, and that makes life so much more fun!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

The school really helps teach kids not only academics but honesty and respect... the HERD program is something to be very proud of
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

We are very pleased with our son's teacher and very impressed with the HERD program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2008

Both my girls attend. Principal and teachers care about their progress and girls are flourishing can't ask for more. Love this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2008

I currently have three children attending this school and couldn't be happier with the education they are getting. We have a new principal this year and he is amazing. We may possbily be moving and I shutter at the thought of pulling my kids out of this school. Not only do I feel they do a great job academically, but socially this school rocks. It is a very family friendly school without all the fluff. My kids have loved their teachers and we have never had an issue. I just simply cannot express how much I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

Wow! We love Frontier Valley! We have the best teachers in the district with the very best administration. We have been at FVE for over 5 years. We love this community school its values and standards that teaches our children to learn and think and grow. This school is the heart of the community. Thanks FVE we would not be anywhere else!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2008

My kids have gone to school in 4 different states in the last 10 years and FVE has been by far the worst experience so far. The Principal is very poor, the teachers are unprepared and unprofessional, the school does not even offer many special programs offered at other local schools, ie foreign language, cursive writing at a young age, etc. I could go on and on, but I better stop. I would not recommend it to anyone and am pulling my child ASAP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2006

This is a great school. The teachers takes the effort to challenge a student at their level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2006

My child joined FVE 6 months ago and has excelled in this short time. At FVE children come first and each child is encouraged to do their personal best. The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. Thank you FVE for sincerely helping my child to fit in and giving him the encouragement and confidence he needed to adjust to his new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2006

Friendly school, good academics, am not so impressed with availability of P.E. classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2005

The school opened 3 years ago but the teachers aren't the same from one year to the next. The principal remains constant.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female81%
Male79%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)61%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%

Reading

All Students71%
Female73%
Male71%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)39%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%

Writing

All Students62%
Female77%
Male54%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)28%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English62%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female91%
Male84%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Reading

All Students84%
Female91%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Writing

All Students74%
Female83%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female79%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Reading

All Students79%
Female88%
Male69%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Science

All Students63%
Female61%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English64%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant63%

Writing

All Students72%
Female79%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 56%
Hispanic 11% 32%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23919 East Canterberry Trail
Parker, CO 80138
Phone: (303) 387-8475

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT