Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Frontier Valley Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
We have had 6 children go thru Frontier Valley all had great experiences. The administration and teachers make you feel like family. They have helped walk us thru difficult decisions concerning our children's education. So fortunate to be part of the FVE community.

Frontier Valley Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
Depends on the teacher I've noticed with most teachers it's an acceptable amount but some do give a little too much.


Frontier Valley Elementary School 3

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
We transferred from Southeast Christian across town and have been very disappointed by the disparity in staff and curriculum. From speaking to other parents, Pioneer (the next nearest public elementary) is even worse. Not sure if the root cause is the new principal or the district BoE. We will likely summer school back at SEC to catch up to their level and transfer back for the next regular school year despite the commute. Children will be happy as they hate this school while were excited to go to SEC.

Frontier Valley Elementary School 3

Posted July 23, 2015
- a parent
We've been at this FVE for 5 years. We had a great principal, but he left for CCSD last year. We still have some great teachers, but they're getting frustrated. The problem isn't the school, it's the district. The BOE hired a superintendent that is systematically destroying public education in favor of privatizing education. It's such a shame because the schools were really good before Elizabeth Fagen was hired. Please don't take my word for it, do the research yourself. And don't move to Douglas County with school-aged children until the BOE and Elizabeth Fagen is replaced. Move into the Cherry Creek school district.

Frontier Valley Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 23, 2015
- a parent
We've been at FVE for 5 years. We had the greatest principal, but he left for CCSD last year. We still have some good teachers, but they are getting frustrated. The problem isn't the school, it's the district. The BOE has hired and overpaid a superintendent that is systematically destroying public education in the county in favor of privatizing education. Don't take my word for it, do the research. Don't move to DCSD unless they oust the BOE.


Frontier Valley Elementary School 4

Posted April 09, 2015
- a parent
My kids loved Frontier Valley and the great teachers and staff of this school. It's also in a great neighborhood.

Frontier Valley Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2013
- a parent
We are very happy with Frontier Valley. My child comes home very happy and excited about something that was learned that day. The teachers we have had have all been great. The academic curriculum seems very good. Also, my child comes home with great art projects and very excited about different experiments they did in science. We would highly recommend this school.

Frontier Valley Elementary School 2

Posted June 20, 2011
- a parent
I am very disappointed at the lack of communication by both the administration as well as the teachers. The web site is not kept up to date and there appears to be no standards for content on the site. As far as academics go I'm very concerned that my child is not getting the appropriate curriculum for his grade and that if we switch schools he would be behind other students. I am seriously considering other educational options.


Frontier Valley Elementary School 3

Posted February 17, 2011
- a parent
While we are only through the first half of my daughter's kindergarten year I am less than impressed with the ability of the curriculum to keep her challenged. At this point in the year the books brought home are less challenging than what she reads by herself at home and she performs simple arithmetic at home while only counting in class. It is frustrating to see her so bored in one of the strongest school districts in the state and at one of the stronger schools in that district. For first grade, we are strongly considering moving her to a different school with a more advanced curriculum and integrated foreign languages. I truly believe that the teachers and staff care for the students. I appreciate that her teacher has made an effort to keep her, and a couple other children, engaged by providing more difficult material than what is given to the rest of the class. I have other problems with the district and the number of teacher in-service or professional development days which happen at least once a month.

Frontier Valley Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
We recently moved from another school to Frontier Valley Elementary. We have 6 Elementary aged children that attend FVE, and we couldn't be happier with the climate and standard of excellence we are seeing at our new school. Every one of my childrens teachers has taken the time to make them feel welcome and loved from the start we could feel a fabulous difference at FVE! We have been surprised at the personal attention, high standard of education and individual care each of our children have recieved from FVE's amazing teachers, staff and it's great principal Mr Muma. We feel that we have been treated so well that we are sure our school deserves to be named 'America's Favorite'!!!

Nearby schools

Frontier Valley Elementary School
23919 Canterberry Trail, Parker, CO  80138
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (303) 387-8475
Last modified Frontier Valley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top