Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-9
Private
Parker, CO
Students enrolled: 490
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 46 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


48 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ave Maria Catholic School 5

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
As a long time parent and teacher at this school, I choose to invest my children's education and my professional career into this community. Our administrative staff has provided changes that transformed our school into a professional, assessment-based, instructionally proficient, warm, and inviting community. Changes under new admin include new facilities (gym, field, offices), Core Knowledge curriculum, professional development in differentiated instruction, use of CBM and ITBS assessments, hiring of excellent teachers, Reading Counts, Rachel's Challenge, enhanced security/emergency protocols & equipment the list goes on. Along with this, enrollment is nearly at max cap. That is very telling considering the number of free charter/public schools in the vicinity. People choose to be here. It is an exceptional community. Our leadership fosters a professional culture that is collaborative, engaged, and driven to meet the needs of diverse learners. I ve witnessed the ferocity in which our staff strives to meet the needs of all students. All students experience project-based and highly differentiated learning and assessment. The formative experience is beyond compare.

Ave Maria Catholic School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a teacher
Ave Maria Catholic School is truly a special place. All staff members are caring and get personal with each student. They make an academic connection with children to differentiate each child's needs. The curriculum challenges all to be the best they can be. The staff goes above and beyond to make academic successes everyday. Children are happy. Teachers are happy. It is a great place.


Ave Maria Catholic School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
My children attend ave maria catholic school and I know personally that ave is the best of the best. The standards are high which should be the expectation at a private school but the teachers work to differentiate instruction so that all students can achieve. One can look at assessment results alone to measure the success of this school but ave believes in educating the whole child. Not only are itbs results at least one grade level higher than the grade level students are in but the specials classes are top notch. The student service team has grown to include a school counselor and reading specialist and strong morals and values are taught and modeled with a loving top notch staff. I could not imagine Sending children any where else. I feel truly blessed to have kids in such a nurturing environment whee I know they are growing intellectually, emotionally, and spiritually. Thank you ave maria!!!!

Ave Maria Catholic School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Ave Maria Catholic School offers the highest quality of education to all students. The administration and teachers are all so welcoming and kind! Thank you for being a wonderful school for my children to attend!

Ave Maria Catholic School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
My child attended another high Catholic school in the Denver area. She was always a high achiever in all academic areas. When she moved over to Ave Maria she found herself playing catch-up. The teachers there were more than happy to work with her until she was not only caught up but challenged to go even fruther. They have very high standards and are willing to help every student succeed in all areas. I have read some reviews and see that the negative reviews are probably from parents who have had a run in with the administration because they wouldn't meet their hidden agenda demands. The administration stands strong to the mission of the school for all. Those parents who want the school to meet their hidden agenda items need not apply, not do those parents who think they can "buy" their way through school. The administration is top notch!!! I am so glad my child finished off her years at Ave Maria. She is now a strong student in high school and I owe it all to Ave Maria.


Ave Maria Catholic School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
I have two children who have attended Ave Maria. One graduated four years ago and has been very well prepared for high school and looking at the future of college next year. My second child started in the junior kindergarten and is currently in sixth grade. I feel that Ave Maria has an incredible academic experience for children. They are able to adapt and challenge to where a student is academically. The curriculum ensures that your child is ready for their future. The faculty and staff are caring and show that as they support the children impeach and every day. You couldn't pick a better school!

Ave Maria Catholic School 1

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
As a long time school and parish member, I feel this school needs to change from the top/down. The administrator now controls 100% or the preschool, school and HSA. The school has been voted "best workplace" again because the administrator caters to teachers and fails to recognize that KIDS are her #1 priority. Teachers are allowed to take week long (yes, week long) vacations during the regular school year with their families. Substitutes are weak. Test scores are high because the kids and parents that attend are smart. I have to correct teaching all the time. Administrator just runs interference between parents and teachers. Nothing happens. She keeps around teachers that aren't very smart, but she can control. I have witnessed teacher's disrespecting students, nothing happens when brought to attention of administrator. Some teachers have begun to act entitled. Core knowledge dumbs down traditional curriculum and Spanish program is weak. The administrator puts up a good "holy act" and then ignores and bullies parents. We stay with the hope of a good traditional Catholic education. I hope that the parish priest will step in and help out for the sake of his disheartened flock.

Ave Maria Catholic School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a community member
Ave Maria Catholic School is an exceptional school in many ways! Ave Maria is a school with strong academics, but it also fosters an environment that encourages students, staff, and families utilize their God given talents to create a caring, compassionate, and thriving community. Students participate in service activities, Friends of Rachel, prayer and worship. Learning includes differentiated instruction to challenge each child to grow academically strong and feel successful. The school strives to have open communication between students, staff, and parents further supporting the success of the school and community. Ave Maria Catholic school is a true gift that prepares students for academic and personal success, as well as students who are striving to live good and virtuous lives.


Ave Maria Catholic School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a teacher
Ave Maria is a great school to work for and my children have benefited from everything Ave Maria has to offer-I feel doubly blessed to be part of this community both as a parent and a teacher!

Ave Maria Catholic School 1

Posted February 10, 2014
- a parent
Why pay for what you can get free at a public school or charter school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ave Maria Catholic School
9056 East Parker Road, Parker, CO  80138
(720) 842-5400
Last modified Ave Maria Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-9
Ave Maria Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. Top