Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Parker, CO
Students enrolled: 675
Before care: No
After care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


North Star Academy 5

Posted August 20, 2015
- a parent
I have had children at NSA since its inception in 2006. I wouldn't want my kids anywhere else. Yes, NSA is a structured environment and yes, children are expected to behave in such a manner and there are consequences if they don't. Is that a bad thing? Absolutely not! Not only is the curriculum amazing, the staff members are too. I always feel welcome in the halls at NSA. I believe both my children have grown significantly and will benefit later in life because of what they have learned at North Star Academy both academically and personally. As we all know, every child is different and one school may or may not be right for them so please check out any school for yourself before relying on reviews you may read!

North Star Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
Love, love, love some of the teachers that our kids have had!! They answer emails promptly, have weekly folders, include us in any concerns that have come up.


North Star Academy 5

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
From the minute you walk in the door and are greeted by the receptionist with a friendly smile and helpful attitude till you leave after your mission is accomplished, this school stands out!

North Star Academy 5

Posted July 26, 2015
- a parent
Our children have experienced tremendous academic and emotional growth at NSA!! This school fosters a very nurturing and structured environment by focusing on character development and service projects. The staff is exceptional and the leadership is approachable and inspiring.

North Star Academy 5

Posted July 24, 2015
- a parent
We have been at NSA for 6 years now and it has been a great experience. The staff is great and it is a very warm and welcoming environment. I love the academics and the strong character education program!


North Star Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 24, 2015
- a parent
The administration has worked hard to find a "just right" balance. Parents are surveyed each year on this topic, and the majority agree.

North Star Academy
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted July 24, 2015
- a parent
These are results of the award-winning character education program that has been woven throughout the school and curriculum since the school began.

North Star Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 24, 2015
- a parent
They truly care about their students, and have their best interests in mind. Students can sense this and are eager to learn in a classroom where they feel accepted.


North Star Academy 1

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
As a parent with a special needs child, I would not recommend this school to any family that has a child who needs extra support. The school is extremely ill equipt to accommodate for anything except reading groups. In addition to a huge lack in services for special needs, bullying is a huge problem and starts at the top and goes all the way down to the parents and children.

North Star Academy 5

Posted October 16, 2014
- a community member
I just spent a week hosting a book fair at North Star. Once again I was impressed with the students and staff, Lori Wood the Librarian, and the incredible parental support they had throughout the week. Students are well-behaved and courteous, and parental involvement makes for a very caring and fun atmosphere. I look forward to returning to help them with their next fair!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Star Academy
16700 Keystone Blvd, Parker, CO  80134
(720) 851-7827
Last modified North Star Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
North Star Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 92 reviews. Top