Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Parker, CO

4 stars
Based on 52 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


54 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


North Star Academy 5

Posted October 16, 2014
- a community member
I just spent a week hosting a book fair at North Star. Once again I was impressed with the students and staff, Lori Wood the Librarian, and the incredible parental support they had throughout the week. Students are well-behaved and courteous, and parental involvement makes for a very caring and fun atmosphere. I look forward to returning to help them with their next fair!

North Star Academy 2

Posted September 27, 2014
- a parent
Unfortunately NSA's strict policies take away from their curriculum. If you don't fit the soldier mold, you'll be pushed out. Middle school rules are even more drastic. If your child forgets to wear a belt, automatic detention. Definitely a political atmosphere, regulations/disapline depends on each child, not across the board. NSA focuses on scores/awards, than on the students. Admin hands changed NSA without any real explanation. Bullying is a huge issue & not handled properly. Spanish, science & technology are very much lacking. High turnover with Spanish teachers & they don't really absorb it in the time given. No science labs for middle school. Tech is a bit behind, when comparing local schools. No lockers, therefore dragging their backpacks with them. Even with a backpack on wheels, they still have to get it in/out of carpool on their own. Child with disabilities, allergies or any extra needs will be a fight & staff considers it to be "getting more privileges than rest of the students". We've since moved on to greener pastures to another charter school in Parker, we feel our child's needs are met & spirits not broken. Only wish we would've found our current school sooner.


North Star Academy 5

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
We are starting our 4th year at North Star Academy and have 2 daughters at the school. I am super thankful that I took the time to learn about the charter schools in the area because North Star has been an incredible fit for our family. The core curriculum at North Star raises the bar beginning in Kindergarten and it's amazing to see these kids rise to the occasion...with kids reading and learning math at least a whole grade level ahead. I have had the pleasure of being time in the classroom for the past 3 years and the teachers are challenging yet show incredible care towards all the children in the classroom, a perfect balance in my book and new computer equipment in the classrooms this year is awesome. I'm excited about the current administration with an engaged principal who has been apart of the school since day one. And with the movement of a middle school teacher to the Assistant Principal position (who will see 4 of his children attend NSA), I feel the administration is perfectly poised to continue to make NSA a school of choice. One of my favorite opportunities that NSA provides is a Character Education program of life skills that will benefit them for years to come!

North Star Academy 5

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
This is our 4th year now at North Star and we absolutely love it. The teachers are fantastic and the education they are receiving is phenomenal! I love the character education they receive and the fact they have Spanish class every day. My kids are thriving and are very happy here.

North Star Academy 5

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
Excited for another year, this will be our 6th. There is no replacing founding principal Ms. Haws, but the passion and commitment from the founding assistant principal Mrs. Hossfield fills the halls with a contagious electricity we haven't seen in a couple years. We are excited to have Mrs. Hossfield at the helm steering our students to academic excellence, and more importantly exemplifying outstanding character and citizenship. NSA proud!


North Star Academy 5

Posted September 06, 2014
- a parent
North Star Academy is an excellent 'niche' school! Our family has been so happy here. We truly feel our children are receiving an excellent education in a nurturing, respectful, disciplined-oriented environment. It's a special place and we are blessed to be here!

North Star Academy 5

Posted August 16, 2014
- a parent
Both of my kids go to NSA and so far we couldn't be happier! We love the teachers, staff and parents. We feel like we finally found a home here with NSA.

North Star Academy 4

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
We have two children that attend North Star Academy and we're extremely pleased with our experience thus far. Highlights for us are the character education, caring-responsive-invested staff and teachers. Additionally, there are high, but realistic, expectations for the students in a rigorous curriculum and a top notch Spanish program. Naturally, there have been bumps along the way with NSA, but we set realistic expectations going in and we believe that our children are genuinely benefitting from NSA.


North Star Academy 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
Our son has been attending North Star Academy for several years and we are exceptionally happy with the school, the teachers, and the curriculum. We like that there are small class sizes, and the teachers work closely with the kids. The school utilizes ability grouping, which ensures that children are taught at the appropriate level for their needs. There is a great emphasis on character education and foreign language development, as well as a fair disciplinary policy in place. Our son has really blossomed since starting school at North Star, and we feel like we made a great choice.

North Star Academy 1

Posted January 14, 2014
- a community member
This school is not what it was. The focus and culture have greatly changed. It is difficult to know what the Board is doing because minutes from the meetings are months behind in posting. Parents complain that the principal is rarely visible. While the test scores are good, the school ranking has slipped. Someone should start minding the store as many families have left and more say they are leaving!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Star Academy
16700 Keystone Blvd, Parker, CO  80134
(303) 471-6677
Last modified North Star Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
North Star Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. Top