Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Legend High School

Public | 9-12 | 1786 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2013

This is such a great school! I moved to Legend last year after doing horrible in Kentucky and I noticed a big difference between the two. Legend has a huge caring family environment. The staff is always talking and communicating with students and if they see a student who feels left out, they go and talk to them and then hook them up with a couple of people. The students are so caring and they show a lot of pride. The staff come from all over Eastern Colorado and they can't stop talking about how great this school is. For only being 5 years old to this day, many schools in not only Douglas County, but in Colorado is looking up to us. They want to see what Legend High School is doing. The teachers are one of the best teaching staffs in the State of Colorado. If you are a music lover, this is the high school for you. We have theater, band, orchestra, choir, and unlike other schools, you can also create your own club that you can lead. The opportunities are endless when you walk into the doors of Legend. I've only been there for a year, but I can tell you this: this school will change your life, whether it be a teacher, a staff member, or another student. You will love Legend HS!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2013

Legend is a wonderful school. I like that we are so united and supportive of one another and that really helps out in all areas. For the most part the teachers are great and helpful but there are a few that are no the best. There are high standards that keep the envoirnment really positive and happy. It is a really great school, I enjoy going to school there and would never want to change schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 21, 2012

Legend is the best thing that has ever happened to me. The leadership displayed by both the outstanding staff and upperclassmen inspires me everyday to be my best. Legend provides a variety of classes to fit the needs of individual students. I'm challenged to reach my potential in a postive manner.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2012

I retired from So Dak and moved to Co. Started driving school bus to Legend 2 years ago. All my contact with the principal, teachers, and security guards have been very positive. They are caring, kind, and professional. I am impressed with the Legend High students. They are great young adults giving me great confidence in the future. This school has earned the highest ratings.


Posted May 5, 2012

Teachers and administrative staff are sensational, knowledgable, and really work with individual students to achieve goals. Classes are fit for students to provide challenging curriculum for all levels. School environment is outstanding, with amazing respect among everyone. The activities, from athletics to the performing arts, are ideal and there is something for every student. Legend is an amazing school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2011

This is by far the worst high school ever. All I have to say about this school is negative things the atmosphere of this school is not good. I used to go to this high school and recently switched because I'd had enough of a lot of the staff. this is a new school and still has many flaws in their system
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2011

My oldest kid graduated from PHS in 2008 with honors. My middle daughter transfered from PHS to Chaparral at the start of her senior year and graduated 2010. My youngest daughter transfered to Legend from PHS at the beginning of her sophomore year. My daughter LOVES LHS! My biggest objection to PHS is a lack of rules and passion. They make it easy for the kids to sneak out of class and off campus. If the teachers and administration don't care why should the students. Legend offers open campus to second quarter sophmores and upper classmen. All student must earn open campus. Everyone at Legend really cares and it shows. I would also like to add that Chaparral is a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

LHS is a great school. It has a great atmosphere. Most of the teachers I have had have been good. The standards are high, but they don't feel that they are so high only a few can acheive them. I am in the inaugural class, and sometimes I wish I was in a HS with older kids, but it is nice being the oldest and just a 10th grader.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2010

I am so impressed with the curriculum and philosophy. I have so many great things to say about this school. It's an all around great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2009

Best HS ever. Newer school but I'm sure this school will continue on a great path as long as they stick with the administration staff and the teachers. Time will tell in the next 5 years if this school is for real.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2009

We went through high school in San Jose, CA, with our two older kids, and we are so amazed and thankful for Legend High School, where our two youngest kids attend. Our high school in SJ was the best rated in the city for public school. It was challenging academically, but there were unbelievable problems with teachers, drugs, attitudes, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

529 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

529 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

529 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

474 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

474 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

473 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

474 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female48%
Male62%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracial56%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Free lunch eligible30%
Reduced lunch eligible30%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant55%

Reading

All Students83%
Female87%
Male79%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracial95%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligible75%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)14%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Writing

All Students70%
Female77%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracial78%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligible70%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female44%
Male53%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracial52%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligible31%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)3%
Students without disabilities52%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English49%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant49%

Reading

All Students89%
Female94%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
Multiracial81%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)37%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Science

All Students72%
Female72%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracial62%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)27%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Writing

All Students70%
Female81%
Male60%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracial52%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligible47%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

94%

Average ACT score

21

Graduation rate

96%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 56%
Hispanic 10% 32%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Swimming
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Surfing
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

22219 Hilltop Rd
Parker, CO 80134
Phone: (303) 387-0708

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT