Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ponderosa High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 14 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 13, 2008

A typical 'old school' mentality at Ponderosa High School. The school administrators and counselors are clueless how to deal with kids that are anywhere outside the 'traditional box!' They are a very old fashioned, uptight school with old fashioned ideas, favoring athletes over artists, etc, etc. Most of the parents are all right wing Republicans and don't want to hear any dissenting opinions. They need to update from the top down -- not a contemporary school for today's kids at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

I currently attend Ponderosa High School, and the classes provided are astounding. There is also a wide variety of people, thus no one is left behind. The principal takes his leadership role very well, and even greets his students every morning at the front door. I feel as if the academics are very well balanced with the athletics department. This school is amazing!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 26, 2008

This is a fantastic high school! Both my children currently attend Ponderosa, and are in accelerated classes. Some classes will allow them to obtain college credits in High School. I do not feel athletics are emphasized unduly. I do feel that hard work in the classroom is rewarded. The atmosphere is wholesome, and extracurricular activities are exceptional. We love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

I am currently attending ponderosa high school and to me it has been very unfair just by who you hang out with and how you dress. There are very few good techears and the ones that are good are great. ponderosa highly favors there athletes over other students
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2007

When I went there it was a top notch school. Academics were decent but I will give an extra plus to the Math department..>I went to a private college and was well ahead of my peers. I played football and baseball and excelled tremendously...the environment for sports used to be one of the best in the state but I have heard a lot of things have changed. There was definitely a lot of pride in the school when i went there....it was second to none.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2007

I have a child with a IEP since 3rd grade. Ponderosa has the worst IEP program I have come across in 4 schools. As a parent I have not recieved any support or help in trying to improve my childs grades. It has gotten so bad I am worried he is giving up hope of succeding,or continuing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2007

This is an excellent school. I have three children who went there and from my viewpoint the school is a great place for kids to learn and do all the extra after school activities that High School kids should be involved in. The Theater department is unbelievably talented and skilled with how they put on plays. The choral department is lead by a teacher who is excellent. All the athletics are top notch. As far as academics I suggest that you check out the ratings of the school that is given by the CSAP testing and you will see that PHS ranks one of the highest in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2006

This year(2006) Ponderosa is under the leadership of a new Principal, this is resulting in greater security measures, academic founding, and parental involvement then the last principal could only fathom. The clubs are doing better, mostly, exept for clubs like the speech and debate club and team. From the perspective of an observent Sophmore, Things seem to be improving greatly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2006

The school has moved in a very positive direction with a new administration staff. The moral in the school is great and it's a great environment. All schools have their fair share of problems, but this is an ideal high school environment, if your child takes advantage of it as I have!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2006

Terrible school. Many drug problems in halls/bathrooms. As a teacher who went to apply for a job, I actully caught two kids in a drug related incident. I have sent one kid here, and regret it. The extracurricular activies were very good, but have declined recently. Good teachers are getting few and far between.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2006

The school is pretty crappy. With only a few good teachers, who are growing fewer and fewer every year, your child will learn to hate the school. Its over the line rules push kids to rebel and cause more trouble than neccessary. It has come to a point that the students cant walk down the hallways without being yelled at for not having the correct bathroom pass. If you are on the second floor, you have a different pass than if you were on a the first, 'elliminating' the possibility to be were you arnt sopposed to. Unfortunatly, it doesnt matter what the kids think about this, and for that matter, what the teachers do, since they are not allowed to have there own bathroom passes according to this new rule.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 25, 2006

Thumbs Up! Great school with great teachers and students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 3, 2006

high level of academics and expectations, fabulous for sports, not as good for the average to below average student
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2005

My daughter is in her second year. Great sports programs and academics. Studentbody is growing fast which may lead to overcrowding in the future but for now it's fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2005

This school is so fun to attend! Ive had a blast andI hope you will too
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2005

I graduated from Ponderosa High School in 2003. I am currently of Junior level standing at the Colorado School of Mines. I feel that I was far better prepared for my intense academic course load then most of my peers. I also came into college more then a semester ahead. The AP level courses at Ponderosa are awesome. I personally took both AP English courses, AP BC Calculus and AP Physics. I personally feel the AP classes had the best teachers. The spanish department at PHS is also wonderful. Ponderosa has a strong after school activities program. Varsity sports are awesome at Ponderosa, and the coaches really care and put alot of time into their coaching and teaching. I am not a fan of the current principal (she was new my senior year), however, the assistant principals and teachers easily make up for where she is lacking.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 24, 2005

The academic experience I had at Ponderosa was simply inadequate. I have since moved from Colorado and the high school I currently attend is, on the surface, not as well-funded or fortunate as Ponderosa. But I have found my less wealthy, far more security-heightened inner city school's academic aspect much more engaging and quality than that of Ponderosa's. Two areas in particular I was extremely dissatisfied with: the Science and English depts. This school also places too much focus on sports. I am an AP student, in the top 5% of my class of 720+, but my year at Ponderosa was the year I suffered the most, and it still has a scar on my cumulative GPA and academic record. But I will end this on a good note and say that Ponderosa's Spanish dept. was excellent, with Mrs. Stanton being a wonderful teacher, and the band/choir was lovely as well.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 24, 2005

I am a former student. My major issue with this school is the low level of security. Anyone can walk into the building, and there is such a thing as too much freedom for the students. Past events have shown that even in a pretty, framed suburban town the trust can be taken advantage of. I'm not saying install metal detectors or anything, but keep track of the students better. Also, I have heard that the dress code has supposedly been better enforced since I've graduated and I think this is not right considering that in the real world one must present themselves as professional, mature adults, and a habit of dressing respectably should being while in high school at the very latest.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 26, 2004

I am a senior at PHS and I love school. The AP program has truly challenged me and I feel very welcomed by all the wonderful teachers we have. I've participated in the marching band program all four years of high school, and have loved every second of it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2004

My grandson graduated from Ponderosa in 2003. He received a scholorship from a Nebraska College. He played baseball for Ponderosa. I think Ponderosa places far to much emphasis on sports at the expense of better education. Academics seem to take a back seat.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female49%
Male49%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)51%
Free lunch eligible20%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch51%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant49%

Reading

All Students80%
Female87%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%

Writing

All Students69%
Female76%
Male62%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligible70%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
Female45%
Male48%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)51%
Free lunch eligible24%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch48%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English48%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant47%

Reading

All Students78%
Female83%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligible53%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)22%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%

Science

All Students58%
Female53%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Free lunch eligible35%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%

Writing

All Students55%
Female66%
Male45%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

97%

Average ACT score

22

Graduation rate

95%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 56%
Hispanic 10% 32%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7007 East Bayou Gulch Rd
Parker, CO 80134
Phone: (303) 387-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Castle View High School
Castle Rock, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT