Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sierra Middle School

Public | 7-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 10, 2011

I have had two students at Sierra and am debating whether to send our third there, also. They use "fuzzy math" (CPM series) in their gifted & talented ("Discovery") classes, which kills the kids when they hit high school. The Discovery English classes don't spend enough time on composition- also a killer when kids hit AP classes. But the music and science programs are second to none. No school is perfect, but this one is pretty good. The principal is as tech-savvy as a snail, however, and needs to crawl out from under her rock. These kids have no choice but to live in a high-tech world, yet the classrooms look like a throwback to 1972. Weird.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

I used to think Sierra was a good school, but it has changed. The teacher quality has declined, and the feel of the school has become cold and impersonal. I have been very disappointed this year, and I look forward to saying good bye to Sierra.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

This is a wonderful school. I have no complaints in any areas. Both my children were in the Gifted/Talented program here. The teachers are fantastic, no matter what level your kids are in (GT or non- GT). I have had great rapport with all the staff at all levels. We have never had any issues in this school, it's one of the best I know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

So far my experience is poor. They are not good at helping new kids acclamate to a new 7 period environment when coming from one classroom and one teacher. I've spoken with the counselor assigned and with some of the teachers, so far, I'm very disappointed. There's limited help for those kids who are sharp, but need a little guidance and instruction on proper study habits and organization.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

This school is soooooo great I love it.It has the best teachers and the best behaved kids I have ever seen this is a fantastic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2005

Sierra is a great school for kids that are gifted and talented like me. I love their discovery program and I have tons of friends.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2005

This school was great I hade a fun time being involved with this school and the teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2005

Cool school! I give it a ten out of 5! im a gt student( gifted and talented), and Sierra has a team (group of classes) fitting for me! It's called Discovery, and I'm going into it next year. I feel very safe here, and i have great teachers, who really care about more than my grades and how good I make them look. If you have a gifted child, this is the best school for them. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2005

I am a foster parent in the Sierra MS area. We have had many foster student attending Sierra over the years. Sierra MS designs curricula around the special needs of Our fosters. The ammout of support for parents and students is outstanding. Administrators, Counselors and teachers work together to provide a safe a effective educational experience for each individual. They are always ready to go the extra mile for my foster family! John Edwards
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2004

My daughter came from out of state and was a gifted student who received abysmal services at this school. They have no idea how to teach children with special needs, whether they are above or below the curve.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

533 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

533 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

533 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

490 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

490 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

490 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

490 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female63%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Free lunch eligible47%
Reduced lunch eligible59%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English62%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%

Reading

All Students74%
Female82%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracial76%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligible59%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)24%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%

Writing

All Students67%
Female78%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracial76%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligible59%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students57%
Female62%
Male53%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracial48%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Free lunch eligible35%
Reduced lunch eligible41%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%

Reading

All Students72%
Female79%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracial76%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligible47%
Reduced lunch eligible70%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Science

All Students54%
Female54%
Male53%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracial62%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligible48%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Writing

All Students65%
Female76%
Male54%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracial62%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligible43%
Reduced lunch eligible59%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 56%
Hispanic 14% 32%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6651 Pine Ln Ave
Parker, CO 80138
Phone: (303) 387-3800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT